Give Thanks

Standard

Give thanks with a grateful heart.
Give thanks to the Holy One.
Give thanks because He’s given Jesus Christ, His Son.
And now let the weak say I am strong,
Let the poor say I am rich,
Because of what the Lord has done for us.
Give thanks.

It’s a simple chorus but it speaks of all that is important.  We have been given all we need for this life in Christ Jesus.  Though we may be weak in the world’s eyes, we are strong in heaven’s eyes.  Though we may be poor in the world’s eyes, we are rich in heaven’s eyes. 

I must remind myself daily: I can do this thing called life.  I have The Life in me.  I’m not living my own life.  I am to be living His.

I am The Way, The Truth, The Life.  No one comes to the Father except through Me.  ~John 14:16

For in Christ Jesus you are all sons of God through faith.  ~Galatians 3:26

But may it never be that I would boast, except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.  ~Galatians 6:14

Although the things of this world may not be mine, what have I lost?  I have real life — The Life — in me.  Jesus gives me strength to make it through the day.  He gives me riches beyond any earthly treasure.  I can rejoice in Him.  I can be thankful, in everything, because of Him.

Always be joyful.
Keep on praying.
No matter what happens
, always be thankful,
for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.

Be joyful.  Be thankful.  Always.  Did you catch how this happens?  The verse in the middle.  Keep on praying.

Be anxious for nothing,
but in everything
by prayer and supplication
with thanksgiving
Let your requests be made known to God

And the peace of God,
which surpasses all comprehension,
will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

As I keep on praying, bringing everything to Him, I will have peace that passes understanding. His peace will guard my heart and my mind, if I am in Him.

It takes discipline to live this life He has called us to live. He has given us everything we need that pertains to life and godliness, but we must remain diligent to apply these truths to our lives. It’s not magical. It doesn’t just happen. We are told to pray.

Pray always.

Pray always, about everything.

Pray always, about everything, with an attitude of thanksgiving.

Then peace will come.

I’ve been searching for peace recently.  My heart has been anxious.  My mind has been racing.  But, you know what?  I have not been diligent to apply these truths.  I know I am in Him.  But this life I am to live in Him, still requires diligent discipline.

I think it’s time I get to work.

How about you?

*****************************************************************************************************************

OH…and what am I thankful for this year?  Actually, many things, but most especially, my blog family.   You people have changed my world.  I’ve needed you and you’ve been there for me.  Thank you.

21 responses »

  1. You’ve changed my world too, Michelle. It’s wonderful … this medium. I truly am blessed to have a way to know so many wonderful, inspiring, and challenging people. I have a post about ‘pray without ceasing’ … a different angle. 😉 (It’s called ‘Talking.’) And yes, too often we ‘know’ what to do, but we still don’t do it … and wonder why it’s not working. 🙂 Good to know Paul identified with that, isn’t it? Love ya!

    PS: I found out my youngest brother is not in NC, but in San Antonio! (In my defense, he’s at the Air Force Academy, which I had thought was in CO, but then was told he was flying to NC … but he’s really in TX. Ah well. 🙂 So he’s kinda in your neck of the woods. 🙂

  2. You pose much to think about. It’s certainly not always easy to offer thanks, but it’s always the right thing to do. Isn’t it wonderful knowing when we offer thanks and praise to the Lord, He actually deserves it?

    We bring the sacrifice of praise, into the house of the Lord…

  3. Wow!! Awesome post good,good scriptures you used to encourage us all.Thanks enjoyed it very much.

    Love in Christ

  4. There is no mistake that the root word of Discipline is Disciple. Christ was disciplined to follow his Fathers will all the way to the Cross and Resurection. Discipleship is to be little Christs and be disciplined to follow God’s will in our life.

    Michelle thank you for allowing me to get to know you. Your simple and from the heart writing style has inspired me many times. It has been a blessing to get to know you.

    Peace and all the love of Christ Sister

  5. “…and what am I thankful for this year? Actually, many things, but most especially, my blog family. You people have changed my world. I’ve needed you and you’ve been there for me. Thank you.”

    You’re welcome. 😉

  6. Well, Annie, I DO talk without ceasing. Many people can testify to that phenomenon. 😳 Seriously, I do know what you mean, I find myself talking in my mind (and sometimes out loud) all day long with Him. It’s where I need to return…that place where the communication is continual.

    Yes, San Antonio is only 5 hours from here! My uncle (Col. USAF, retired) was stationed there and my aunt was the principal of one of the elementary schools on base. Pretty cool.

    Hey, Mike! 🙂

    Yes, Preacher Pen, He is the One worthy of all praise! To realize He is the one responsible for every good and perfect gift…I’ve had quite a lot of good and perfect gifts given to me. Praise Him!

    Welcome, Pttyann. I’m thankful you were encouraged. Come again.

    Hey, Papa! I’ve made it a goal since my twenties to develop thankfulness. I was doing quite well until the frustrations of the past three years. But you know, I do think the years of focus helped me to get through the hardest times, knowing He is good. Somehow all of what we’ve endured will turn out for His glory. And for that, exactly that, I am thankful. Love you, Papa!

    Amen, Carl. Discipline is the crux of being a disciple. Thank you for allowing me to get to know you and getting the Blogged study off the ground. You are a blessing, Carl!

    Hey, Nor! My first blog buddy…love you! 😉

  7. I love the song you listed at the top..its one of my favorites. I have often wondered and prayed about “giving thanks in all circumstances” thats a hard one…but there for a reason. so recently I have been praying in those hard situations “change my heart, I know I am suppose to be thankful, but Lord I am not”… I figure HE knows my heart anyway, and in those times…I need me some supernatural changing. LOL

    Love you Lady!!!!! and my blog family has been just what I needed too, and GOD knew and provided, what a blessing they are!! You are a blessing too!

  8. Is Carls avatar of his son too cute?? oh my I catch myself just looking at him and wanting to play with him..hahaha adorable!

  9. Hey, Darla! I was better at it when the times weren’t so difficult, hard, but not devastating. I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy what we have had to endure in this season of life. So, honestly, the fact that I still do praise, gives me hope. I have much to learn but I know the quicker I submit to His ways, the quicker I’ll mature. I really want to mature!

    Oh yeah, Carl Paul is adorable!!! I have some little nieces and nephews who fill my life with joy and exhaustion!! 😆

  10. Hey, Sara! Well, some of those I love. Maybe someday we can have a Blogger’s Thanksgiving. But I think we should wait until you can get there, or…we could all show up at your place!?!?!? 😉

  11. I am better at it when its easier too….some how I am sure that is not what HE is talking about. I carry guilt at times because I do not have a thankful heart…and I am laying that at HIS feet…I just believe that only HE can change my heart, not of my own doing..just daily surrendering my heart..NO i am not there yet, and look forward to heaven when I will be completed.

    Love ya, Hope you are having a peaceful morning!

  12. And He is faithful through all generations!

    Hey, Brian. Thanks. 😉

    It’s been a nice morning, Darla. Thank you. Do these apply?

    Faithful is He who called you, and He also will bring it to pass.

    Work out your own salvation with fear and trembling,for it is God who is at work in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure.

    He’s told us to be thankful, it’s part of our calling in Him…so when we can’t seem to, He does the work…? Looking forward to heaven with you. ♥

  13. you have made such an impact on me, sis! thank you!

    what do i need to work on? discipline. always discipline. i am a fly by the seat of my pants kinda girl…which makes it so hard to practice discipline. i thought it would get easier as i got older – but it hasnt. the problem is – i should have worked in it earlier in life, old habits die hard, eh? 😉

  14. You and me both, TammyJo!
    I was just thinking last night about my false hope that it would get easier as I matured — numerically, not emotionally. 🙄

    Uh…no. I think He keeps giving us harder and harder lessons so we will get it…eventually.

    “After all…Tomorrow is another day!” ~Scarlett O’Hara 😳

    Love you, Tam!

Leave a Reply

