A Proper Perspective

Standard

O LORD, what is man, that You take knowledge of him?
Or the son of man, that You think of him?
Man is like a mere breath;
His days are like a passing shadow.

Psalm 144:4

Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow.
You are just a vapor that appears for a little while
and then vanishes away.

James 4:14

If He should determine to do so,
If He should gather to Himself His spirit and His breath,
All flesh would perish together,
And man would return to dust.
Job 34:15

So humble yourselves before God.
Resist the Devil, and he will flee from you.
Draw close to God, and God will draw close to you.
Wash your hands, you sinners; purify your hearts, you hypocrites.
Let there be tears for the wrong things you have done.
Let there be sorrow and deep grief.
Let there be sadness instead of laughter, and gloom instead of joy.
When you bow down before the Lord
and admit your dependence on Him,
He will lift you up and give you honor.
James 4:10

This is a true saying:
If we die with Him, we will also live with Him.
If we endure hardship, we will reign with Him.
If we deny Him, He will deny us.
If we are unfaithful, He remains faithful,
For He cannot deny Himself.

2Timothy 2:13

The unfailing love of the LORD never ends!
By His mercies we have been kept from complete destruction.
Great is His faithfulness; His mercies begin afresh each day.

Lamentations 3:23

For Your unfailing love is higher than the heavens.
Your faithfulness reaches to the clouds.
Psalms 108:4

It is fitting to proclaim Your loyal love in the morning,
And Your faithfulness during the night.

Psalm 92:2

However, fear the Lord and serve Him faithfully with all your heart.
Just look at the great things He has done for you!

1 Samual 12:24

Let us draw near with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith,
Having our hearts sprinkled clean from an evil conscience
And our bodies washed with pure water.
Hebrews 10:22

I know, I know. I already posted this song in video form, but friends, this is my heart today. I am perplexed and in wonder of who He is. Even when I am unfaithful, He remains faithful.

Who am I, that the Lord of all the earth
Would care to know my name
Would care to feel my hurt
Who am I, that the Bright and Morning Star
Would choose to light the way
For my ever wandering heart

Not because of who I am
But because of what You’ve done
Not because of what I’ve done
But because of who You are

I am a flower quickly fading
Here today and gone tomorrow
A wave tossed in the ocean
A vapor in the wind
Still You hear me when I’m calling
Lord, You catch me when I’m falling
And You’ve told me who I am
I am Yours, I am Yours

Who am I, that the eyes that see my sin
Would look on me with love and watch me rise again
Who am I, that the voice that calmed the sea
Would call out through the rain
And calm the storm in me

Not because of who I am
But because of what You’ve done
Not because of what I’ve done
But because of who You are

I am a flower quickly fading
Here today and gone tomorrow
A wave tossed in the ocean
A vapor in the wind
Still You hear me when I’m calling
Lord, You catch me when I’m falling
And You’ve told me who I am
I am Yours

29 responses »

  1. Wow, Michelle, these verses are amazing! I hadn’t come across the one in Job about if God chooses, and if He gathers to Himself His Spirit and His breath, “man would return to dust.” It really does give the right perspective of Who our God is and who we are in relation to Him. So dependent, and so blessed to be His. This is great, love you, have a good day! xo

  2. Hey, Birg! Isn’t that amazing, the verse in Job? I remember it when studying the meaning of the most sacred of Names, YHWH — I AM THAT I AM. The Self-Existent One. All of life exists because He wills it and if He decided in an instant for it all to go away, He could. It’s in His hands. Yeah, brings it right down to what is most important.

    It’s all about Him.

    The day has started out well, thanks. Love you!

  3. Being Faithful is one of HIS attributes…HE knows our hearts..and we are swimming in Grace…we need to remember that HE is molding us in to something that looks like HIS son, and sometimes there are valleys and storms…we have to go that way..to learn and to grow…

    I know that I am unfaithful too , and then HE brings me back to see that HS faithfulness is something to jump up and down about!! HE does everything better than me…and still loves us!! Amazing!!!! I am crazy about HIM and today…I am applauding HIM, and dancing with HIM, and falling at HIS feet…there is none like HIM!!!

  4. Hey, Darla!

    “HE knows our hearts..and we are swimming in Grace…”

    This truth needs to move from my head to my heart. I believe it with my mind but I don’t always feel it in my innermost being. I’m reminding myself of His attributes so I can continue to stand firmly in His grace. Or swim in His grace if that’s the better picture?! 🙂

    Hope you’re getting all your cooking done for a marvelous Thanksgiving celebration! Love you.

  5. This song Always chokes me up a little each time i sing it. Dang, too many of these songs were written about me.

    Happy Thanksgiving and thanks for your wonderful insight…

    oh and LOVE your new avatar, yep, love it 🙂

  6. Thanks, Scott!

    The song chokes me up too. How ’bout recording it for all of us to hear? (hint hint nudge nudge!)

    Y’all have a blessed day tomorrow. Please give your wife a huge hug from me! Love you guys!

  7. Love these verses! Yes, I love the song and the verses as well. And that verse from Job … it is amazing. I have thought before that … the breath we breathe every day seems to be air … but in fact, I think it is the Spirit of God. “And God breathe the breath of life into his nostrils, and he became a living being.” Quite amazing to think about. “By Him all things are held together.” Amazing!

  8. While the Words of James 4:10 you quoted are certainly true, i feel it is sad that some of those who claim to have God in them can read into those words a very false sense of security, in that, when we only THINK we are doing what it takes to resist the Devil and what it takes for us to draw close to God there can remain inside of us – at deeper and deeper levels than out uppermost consciousness roots of evil and ungodliness that use those otherwise very good thoughts to pervert us, and our religion in the eyes of the world, who watch what we do with suspicion based upon past failures of others who only claimed to have God in them. 😦

    Still – as i said at the start – the words and advice are good. 🙂

    love you Sis – Happy Thanksgiving for you and yours.

    <B

  9. Isn’t it amazing, Annie? I love that passage in Job. We are so dependent on Him for everything and yet, most of the world doesn’t give Him a thought. I’m not sure what I think about the air being the actual Spirit of God, that could be considered pantheism, couldn’t it? But I do truly believe, we are completely dependent upon Him for life and He can call it quits at any moment. That thought alone causes me to bow down and worship. Amazing!

    I’m so glad to see you here, Love. I hope your walkabout was restorative. You were missed. I loved your poem, the tribute, although you called it an apology, to Robbie Burns. Beautiful.

    You know, I believe we can only do as He instructs: come before Him and repent, asking for His mercy. Then the work begins. The sanctifying process, the Refiner’s Fire, the work of the Holy Spirit in our day-to-day to learn more and more of Him and what it means to wallk with Him. I did introduce myself in a video recently with a discussion on the subject of sanctification. If you watch it, I think you’ll understand me more clearly. (If you can get past my accent!) Here’s the link:

    https://considerjesus.wordpress.com/2008/11/14/sanctify-them-in-truth/

    Love you, Love!!! 😉

  10. michelle, you said…

    “This truth needs to move from my head to my heart. I believe it with my mind but I don’t always feel it in my innermost being.”

    you know – i bet a lot of us can say the same thing…we just dont. and you have. i know i rarely feel worthy to swim in His grace…i know me tooooo well. yet – He offers it daily to me. to you. regardless of what we think. i will never, on this side of heaven, be able to wrap my head around that.

    i love you sis.

    Merry Thanksgiving! 😉

  11. Tam is right, we need a constant reminder of that Grace, and I will not ever grasp it completely til Heaven..I too know what I am capable of , and how many times I just fall down over something, and just say DOH! love you Princess…Happy Thanksgiving!!!

  12. “He offers it daily to me. to you. regardless of what we think. i will never, on this side of heaven, be able to wrap my head around that.”

    Yeah, Tam. His love and grace…overwhelming truth! I do believe we are closer to His heart, the more our sin causes us to weep. I want my heart to break with the things that break His heart. But, amen…His grace is always available. Love you, Tammy Jo!
    Have a Blessed Thanksgiving…oh sorry…a Merry Thanksgiving! 😕

    Hey, Darla! I’m here. Quite comfy…Phat just brought me an omelette for breakfast!!! Praising the Lord for such a loving husband. Happy Thanksgiving! Don’t wear yourself down too much with all your hostessing. Love you.

  13. This makes me think of the whole “don’t put God in a box” thing. No matter how big I think He is, I don’t know how I can’t put Him in a box because I can’t begin to comprehend with a human mind the magnitude of God, His works or His love. We are also so blessed.

    Happy Thanksgiving, friend!

  14. Oh, it’s good to see you here, Gitz! I’m so thankful to the Lord for restoring your body enough to visit blogs. Is that totally selfish of me? Probably, but I love your input.

    Understanding the magnitude of God in my puny mind?!?!? Not gonna happen. If my mind could comprehend, then it certainly would not be Him I understood.

    Hope you’ve had a Happy Thanksgiving! 😉

  15. Mic – I suppose it could … although I’m not thinking of it in that way. It could just be a metaphor like all His creation … or something else we haven’t considered yet. 🙂 But anyway. I know He is all in all. ♥ U!

  16. I wish I understood metaphors better. Honestly, I had someone once tells me, “You really don’t get metaphors at all, do you?” I was quite insulted by his question, and of course, it didn’t help one bit that he was considered a genius. I’m really not sure what I was doing wrong, probably mixing them up? (I hear that can be a problem. *shrugs*) But, I must admit, I am a literalist, so it truly is something I have a hard time seeing.

    So when you say “He is all in all”…I go to the scripture to see where that phrase is used. Then look contextually and realize it is speaking of the body. He is in all of us who are His. I ask is He Father of all, or Father of those who are His children? He is over all of us. He works through all of us. What exactly is the “all” referring to? See what I mean? Literalist.

    I love that passage in Ephesians 4:

    There is one body and one Spirit, just as you too were called to the one hope of your calling, one Lord, one faith, one baptism, one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all.

    Yes, there are other passages which speak to Him being Ruler over all and He certainly works through all as He deems best. He is the Creator and can miraculously use His creation in any way He pleases. So again, see what I mean? I get extremely analytical. I do NOT want to make the scripture say something it doesn’t say. And I also want to let it say ALL it is saying.

    Digging deep can be so hard. I love it, but do you ever find it leading to unfathomable depths?

    Could just be time for bed. 🙄
    Maybe I’ve had too much turkey. 😯

    So, tell me what you think.
    ♥ U!

  17. Unfathomable depths … ah yes, all the time. And I love it. It blows my mind, but makes me giddy that I my own over-analytical brain can dive again and again and again and again into the fathoms of Him and still never run out of things to find, discover, and make me want to dive deeper still.

    And I am rather literal as well (my husband will claim I am entirely literal … but he is very subjective. I think in some ways I am quite literal, but in many ways I see things like metaphors quite easily.

    I did use that phrase “all in all” quite casually. I didn’t quote or reference … as I wasn’t trying to make a Scriptural point exactly.

    Did you read any of my posts … hmmm, when did I meet you … about seeing God through creation? That was earlier this year, and I think just before I met you. If you’re interested and have time … start in April of this year:
    Recent Thoughts
    Imagining
    … then in May …
    all creation declares …
    … June …
    the mirror has two faces
    the other night
    … July …
    avocados
    the monarch butterfly (which you actually commented on, so you don’t have to read that one again. 🙂 )

    I’m not putting in links because it gets sent to spam if I do. That journey started with God showing me that everything created came out of Him. He is the substance of creation. I could talk awhile on it, but … read at least the first two posts there. In essence, it showed me that every created thing is a metaphor for something about Him or His nature. This is backed up with Scripture (which I shared). So … if seeing metaphors is difficult for you … perhaps these posts will help.

    As far as air … it all depends, really on if air is a created thing or not. I mean, it’s a part of this earth … so it probably is a created thing … except God didn’t directly mention creating it like He did everything else. And I suppose God didn’t say “God breathed into him the breath of air and he became a living being.” It says, “God breathed into him the breath of life and he became a living being.” Which are easily two different things. Goes back to air being created or not. If air is not created, than I suppose it would have to be God Himself. Which … does seem a stretch. If air is a created thing … then it is a metaphor for God Himself. Hmmm… Good chewing. Thanks for making me think. Those quotes were from memory by the way, so they may not be exact … but I don’t think they’re too far off. And it’s late. 🙂 And I trust you. 🙂 haha. I like having trusting friends. 🙂 You bless me.

    Have a great night’s sleep!! I’m going to *try* to wake up early and go shopping. :] I’ve got birthday money to spend, and I want to make the most of it. 😉 ♥ ya!

  18. I’ll read your posts. Just finished the book, Blue Like Jazz, so I need something to read. 🙂 And I can certainly use the lessons on metaphors! 😳

    ” I suppose God didn’t say “God breathed into him the breath of air and he became a living being.” It says, “God breathed into him the breath of life and he became a living being.” Which are easily two different things.”

    I’ve often wondered if this was the moment the image of God was placed within man…the Life of the Spirit was given to him? Have you ever noticed the beginning of Genesis 5:

    When God created humankind, He made them in the likeness of God. He created them male and female; when they were created, he blessed them and named them “humankind.”
    When Adam had lived 130 years he fathered a son in his own likeness, according to his image, and he named him Seth.

    I’ve been wondering if, after the fall, the “image of God” in man, died. Our soul didn’t leave but it wasn’t pure, holy, infused with His Spirit. And we became “in the image of Adam”…spiritually dead. Then the only way we become spiritually alive again is in Christ, the new man, the second Adam.

    Here’s a couple of footnotes from the NET Bible I found fascinating:
    The Hebrew word נְשָׁמָה (nÿshamah, “breath”) is used for God and for the life imparted to humans, not animals (see T. C. Mitchell, “The Old Testament Usage of Nÿshama,” VT 11 [1961]: 177-87). Its usage in the Bible conveys more than a breathing living organism (נֶפֶשׁ חַיַּה, nefesh khayyah). Whatever is given this breath of life becomes animated with the life from God, has spiritual understanding (Job 32:8), and has a functioning conscience (Prov 20:27).

    Human life is described here as consisting of a body (made from soil from the ground) and breath (given by God). Both animals and humans are called “a living being” (נֶפֶשׁ חַיַּה) but humankind became that in a different and more significant way.

    Not that we lost all that He breathed into us. But that we definitely lost the life-giving Spirit, the goodness we were created to be…

    What do you think?

    We’re getting way off the original topic, but I think it all applies. Loving this, Sparkle!!! But know, you can stop the discussion at any point. It can certainly get too involved and time consuming.

    Have fun shopping! Hope you find some great deals. 😉

    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

  19. I’ll try to be quick (have to go to work) but if I can’t … I’ll finish later. 😉

    I got GREAT deals!!!!!!! I am a very happy woman right now. It’s really the first year I’ve taken advantage of sales, and … it was awesome. I save my birthday money to spend today so I could make it go as far as possible. It was worth it! I got so much awesome stuff for WAY less. 😀 And I LOVE everything I got. Which is a stipulation for me when shopping. 🙂

    ok.

    There are a few (three I think) Hebrew words that are translated as ‘spirit.’ One is n’shama, another is ruach (by far the more common word), and the third is nephesh (which is one you brought up). The differences between the first two are … hard to delineate. As I understand it, n’shama has a sense of high activity; power; forcefulness. Or something like that. “Ruach” is what is usually used when the Bible is referring to spirit or Spirit. When referring to the Spirit of God, it … well, I’m going to say always, even though I haven’t checked every reference … always is ‘Ruach.’ Hmm.. I just looked it up and it says He breathed the nishma’ of life into him. The ‘living this which had the spirit of life’ is nephesh. Nephesh … I can say a little about that. IT means more literally ‘soul’ or ’emotions.’ So … in a sense the Bible is saying that people as well as animals have souls – consisting at least of emotions. That’s interesting from the animal arena. N’shama … unfortunately I don’t know enough about that yet.

    I think your idea of man losing the image of God …. I’m not sure that follows. Because I think it says in more than one place that we are in the image of God … even after the fall. That we definitely did lose the life of the Spirit … I absolutely agree with that. “For as in the first Adam all died, so in the last Adam all are given life again.” Or something like that. I don’t have time to reference. (! Doing it again!) But I do think that the ‘image of God’ goes far beyond the Spirit. I think it applies to all parts of us: spirit, soul, and body, and then in communication, personality, interaction, covenant, etc. Not that He is in our image (meaning that you can’t take it to the nth degree and say that everything we are is like Him … because we are not only created beings and very inferior to Him, but also have a blatant sin nature that is NOT like Him). So … no I don’t really think we lost the ‘image of God’ entirely when Adam fell.

    K, gotta run! I’ll come back tonight. ♥ ya!

  20. I LOVE a good deal! 😉

    “That we definitely did lose the life of the Spirit … I absolutely agree with that.”

    “I’ve been wondering if, after the fall, the “image of God” in man, died. Our soul didn’t leave but it wasn’t pure, holy, infused with His Spirit. And we became “in the image of Adam”…spiritually dead.”

    I do believe we retained His image in many ways, but I think the distinction that now we are in the image of man, means the depravity from the fall is now the natural state of man. Yes, we create because He creates. We have emotions because He has emotions. But we were meant to be good, yet we lost that goodness through Adam.

    Are we saying the same thing? I’ve been trying to track this down for a while now. It’s one of those depths I can’t seem to plunge. 🙄

    Hope work wasn’t too hectic on this Black Friday. ♥ U!

  21. I kind of always thought that Adam and Eve were created innocent, but that they gained the knowledge of good and evil after eating that darn fruit.

    So…people are good. And we are evil. But since we were never meant to have that knowledge–and we were deceived in our innocence–we will never master that knowledge. Which is to say that our good will never be good enough for Him. And our evil…well, that really doesn’t need an explanation, does it?

    Anyway. That’s what I was thinking.

    Nigh night! 😉

  22. Hey, Nor! Glad you joined the discussion. The point that man is good, which is what many say today, I can’t find in scripture. Yes, as you say, we have the knowledge of good and evil…but are we intrinsically good? Please, consider:

    ~Jesus said no one is good but God.
    ~The human mind is more deceitful than anything else. It is incurably bad. Who can understand it? (NET) or…
    ~The heart is more deceitful than all else and is desperately sick; who can understand it? (NASB) Jeremiah 17:9

    I think we can do good things, but I see that as different than being good within. I think we must have a heart change…our hearts of stone become hearts of flesh in the New Cov’t…the circumcision of the heart (Galatians?)…I don’t think we get any “goodness” outside of God. Does that make sense? I’m not sure I’m saying it well.

    Hey, Annie! I know you’ll be tired when you come in from work and may not want to get to this ’til later (or at all, I’ll understand). But reading through what you wrote, I think this bit from notes on http://www.net.bible.org says what you were saying:

    The Hebrew word נְשָׁמָה (nÿshamah, “breath”) is used for God and for the life imparted to humans, not animals (see T. C. Mitchell, “The Old Testament Usage of Nÿshama,” VT 11 [1961]: 177-87).

    Its usage in the Bible conveys more than a breathing living organism (נֶפֶשׁ חַיַּה, nefesh khayyah).

    Whatever is given this breath of life [n’shama] becomes animated with the life from God, has spiritual understanding (Job 32:8), and has a functioning conscience (Prov 20:27).

    Human life is described here as consisting of a body (made from soil from the ground) and breath (given by God).

    Both animals and humans are called “a living being” (נֶפֶשׁ חַיַּה) [nefesh] but humankind became that in a different and more significant way.

    Are you saying the same thing? The Hebrew is all new to me!

    I crave this stuff!!! 😆 Thank you both for the challenge. 😉

  23. Well it is late … but I can’t resist. 🙂

    I’m on my husband’s computer (where my Quick Verse is) … and I’m looking up n’shama.

    K, I’m getting very tired. But this is amazing.

    H5397
    נְשָׁמָה
    neshâmâh
    BDB Definition:
    1) breath, spirit
    1a) breath (of God)
    1b) breath (of man)
    1c) every breathing thing
    1d) spirit (of man)
    Part of Speech: noun feminine
    A Related Word by BDB/Strong’s Number: from H5395
    Same Word by TWOT Number: 1433a
    Total KJV Occurrences: 24
    breath, 12
    Gen 2:7, Gen 7:22, 1 Kin 17:17, Job 33:3-4 (2), Job 34:14, Job 37:10, Ps 150:6, Isa 2:22, Isa 30:33, Isa 42:5, Dan 10:17
    blast, 3
    2 Sam 22:16, Job 4:9, Ps 18:15
    breathe, 2
    Josh 11:11, Josh 11:14
    breathed, 2
    Josh 10:40, 1 Kin 15:29
    spirit, 2
    Job 26:4, Prov 20:27
    breatheth, 1
    Deut 20:16
    inspiration, 1
    Job 32:8
    souls, 1
    Isa 57:16

    Those are a lot of interesting passages. The passage you quoted is in there, “14If He should set His heart on it, If He should gather to Himself His Spirit and His breath, 15All flesh would perish together, And man would return to dust.” “breath” is n’shama. Also I find it interesting that the n’shama (breath) of God “gives ice and freezes water” in Job 37, and it’s “like a stream of brimstone” in Isaiah 30. Interesting, huh?

    Also, in Ps 18 (same as 2 Sam 22) it says, “15 Then the channels of the sea were seen, The foundations of the world were uncovered At Your rebuke, O Lord, At the blast of the breath of Your nostrils. 16 He sent from above, He took me …
    n’shama is not ‘breath’ in that verse … it’s ‘blast.’ And the word for ‘breath?’ Ruach. The foundations of the world were laid bare at the nishama of ruach of Your nostrils. Wow, huh? Job 4 says almost the same thing, “9By the blast of God they perish, And by the breath of His anger they are consumed.” “Blast” is n’shama, and “breath” is ruach.

    In Job 26, Job says, “4To whom have you uttered words? And whose spirit came from you?” As near as I can figure from the context, it seems as if in Job’s mind anyway, there was more than one option for who’s n’phesh could be inside one. “You are children of your father, the devil” perhaps?

    I love Prov 20:27 … but can’t see to far right now unfortunately. The Job 32 reference is one of my favorite passages in the Bible.

    This one is interesting. Isaiah 57. “16 For I will not contend forever, Nor will I always be angry; For the spirit would fail before Me, And the souls which I have made.” “Spirit” is ruach, and “souls” is n’phesh (or niphshim). The way I’m reading it right now is possibly … that “the spirit” is His own (even though the translators didn’t capitalize it), and obviously the ‘souls which I have made’ are us. It sounds like the male/female thing again … and the intense sensitivity of the Holy Spirit. “Fail” is “to shroud, that is, clothe (whether transitively or reflexively); hence (from the idea of darkness) to languish:—cover (over), fail, faint, feebler, hide self, be overwhelmed, swoon.” Interesting thought, huh?

    Lastly though … n’shama is taken from a root – H5395
    נָשַׁם
    nâsham
    BDB Definition:
    1) to pant
    1a) (Qal) to pant
    1a1) of a woman in travail or labour
    Part of Speech: verb
    A Related Word by BDB/Strong’s Number: a primitive root
    Same Word by TWOT Number: 1433
    Total KJV Occurrences: 1
    destroy, 1
    Isa 42:14 – “I have held My peace a long time,
    I have been still and restrained Myself.
    Now I will cry like a woman in labor,
    I will pant and gasp at once.” “nasham” is ‘destroy.’ Read that whole passage. (well, I’m sure you have before) It’s wonderful.

    Okay, well I really have to go. 🙂 Have fun! Luv ya!

    Ummm …. you asked questions I didn’t get to. I’m sorry. I really have to sleep. 🙂 Will chat later. 🙂

  24. “Yes, as you say, we have the knowledge of good and evil…but are we intrinsically good?”

    Ah ah ah! All I said was we have the knowledge of good and evil. “…but are we instrinsically good?”

    Nope. Like I said, “Our good will never be good enough for Him.”

    Hence, The Cross.

  25. Hey, Annie! WOW. That’s quite a response. I’ve not read all the references yet, but wanted you to know I saw it and will when my brain gets back in gear. It has a tendency to go into a fog from time to time. Hopefully, tomorrow I’ll be renewed! 😉

    Thanks, Nor. Just wanted to be sure we were on the same page. I find when I ask, instead of assuming, we usually are! 🙂

    Love you both!

  26. I just realized that that last passage that I quoted didn’t have ‘destroy’ in it …. I don’t know what I was looking at. It was ‘pant’ in that passage. Luv ya! Be blessed tonight!

  27. Hey, Sparkle! I’ve read through most of these passages, still not feeling much like studying. But the thought that occurred to me as I was reading about His breath causing the ice and also the brimstone, His breath bringing life and also capable of taking life away: His total sovereignty to do as He wishes.

    It’s almost like the name El Shaddai… the root “shad” being the almighty, a mountain that can consume; but also the idea of a mother’s breast that brings sustenance and life. The All-Sufficient One…everything we need for this life is found in Him. All breath, all souls, are dependent upon Him for everything.

    The Isaiah 57:16 verse you mentioned:
    For I will not contend forever, Nor will I always be angry; For the spirit would fail before Me, And the souls which I have made.

    I read it as the spirit of man, so I checked other versions:

    For I will not be hostile forever or perpetually angry, for then man’s spirit would grow faint before me, the life-giving breath I created. (NET)

    I will not accuse for ever, nor will I always be angry, for then the spirit of man would grow faint before me—the breath of man that I have created. (NIV)

    For I will not fight against you forever; I will not always show my anger. If I did, all people would pass away––all the souls I have made. (NLT)

    Well, that’s enough for me now…needing lots of rest these days.

    Naptime!

    Interesting reading, Annie. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

