In a Glass, Darkly

Standard

The longing within, the yearning for something more.  Something different.  Many of us feel a void.

When we marry we imagine we will be completely known and understood.  We dream of the man or woman who will meet our every expectation, our every desire.  Life will be full once we’ve found that person and we live happily. ever. after.

People, please don’t misunderstand, I DO believe I have the most wonderful husband in the world.  I truly do.  But let me tell you, even WITH a great man, it’s NOT happily. ever. after.

Much of life sucks.  And coming to that realization, that it’s not going to be the fantasy you imagined, makes it much easier to deal when the hard times come.

And they will come.  Life is hard. 

Finances, sickness, in-laws, children, disabilities, addictions, unemployment, poverty, cancer, death . . .

The struggles will come.  The hole we hoped the other person would fill is still empty.  They weren’t meant to fill it anyway — we put our trust in a lie.  Yes, marriage is wonderful, but it’s not the answer to the perfect life.  And unless you’re both willing to work very hard, it could be the answer to why your life sucks.

But even with a wonderful marriage and many of the world’s blessings, life can still be a burden.  We live in a world that groans for completion.  We ALL have a need for completion that only God can fill . . . and even with Him in our lives, we’re still told we WILL have troubles.

But, we are not to be afraid.  Jesus has overcome the world. 

Hmmm . . .

Our hope is not in this world.  It’s not in our marriages or our children’s successes.  It’s not in our careers.  It’s not in this place at all.

Our hope is in the Lord and in the place He is preparing for all who love Him.

For now we see things in a glass, darkly; but then face to face:

Now my knowledge is in part; then it will be complete

~1 Corinthians 13:12

22 responses »

  1. This is sooo true. I know… that’s coming from a girl who is, and for all intents and purposes will always be, single. But even for a single girl the truth is the same… nothing of this world will ever fill me. But when I’m filled by that which is not of this world I can love better, receive love better and live with empathy I’d otherwise not know.

    I also loved the way you wrote this post… I liked your voice in it. Good job 🙂

  2. Thanks Michelle – once again I’ve found just what I needed for the day in your thoughts: “even WITH a great man, it’s NOT happily. ever. after.”

    I know that in my head – today I needed to know that in my heart, so your words are timely.

  3. I wasn’t tell I realized only God could fill my earthly desires, that I stopped putting the need for fullfilled desires on my wife. I realized she couid never meet my desires. Once I took the presure off her, I was able to focus on her needs as opposed to mine.

    God will fill the desires of our heart freeing us to look for the need in others.

    Peace and love sis.

  4. You are so ready for the book I’m sending you (the Book Study).

    There is a feeling in all of us; a sense that something is not right. Unfortunately it will never be completely right until we are made new in Heaven.

    Inside all of us
    a yearning, a groaning, pain
    a longing to be…

    (Ric – I can DO haiku. Iambic Pentameter is next!)

  5. I know that only Jesus can fill the void we all have. It sometimes requires asking lots for a new filling as life drains us and emptys us out.

    I love that when we see HIM face to face…

    I AM GOING TO BE SMART !! 😆 oh how I look forward to that! 🙄

  6. Thanks for writing this Mic. Very true. I’m glad you put it in these terms as well. I love Carl’s comment, too … this is challenging. Thanks.

  7. Good morning, ALL Y’ALL!

    Hey, Sara! “nothing of this world will ever fill me” I need to keep telling myself this. I tend to want to live in a fairytale. That type of delusional thinking only reaps desperation.

    Also, “I liked your voice in it”…I’m not a writer, what does that mean?

    Me too, Ric, when I get a swift kick of Truth, then I can make it through.

    Hey, Alan. Happily ever after is only in the fairytales…well, heaven will be even better…it will be perfection ever after!

    “Once I took the presure off her, I was able to focus on her needs as opposed to mine.”

    This is so key, Carl! I keep looking for temporary things to fill this eternal longing God has placed within my heart. It’s fruitless and defeating. Only God.

    Hey, Bad! I’m looking forward to receiving that book. The excerpt you sent was great! Love that haiku!

    All we need is Love —
    Holy, heavenly Love from
    God, filling us up!

    How’s that?! Been a while since I’ve tried a haiku. 🙄

    Oh, Darla!! To be SMART! Won’t that be amazing??? I’m so looking forward to actually “getting it”…to know, fully. WOW.

    You guys sure know how to make a person’s day. Thanks for all the connection — the community y’all bring to my life.

    Love it! Love Y’all! 😀

  8. Yeah, I sometimes wonder if Jesus is the answer why does my heart wander. You know what I mean? We were created for another time and another place, like that old Sandy Patti song. I am going to see if I can find it.

    Standby

  9. I’ve always heard there is a land
    Beyond the mortal dreams of man

    Where every tear will be left behind
    But it must be in another time

    There’ll be an everlasting light
    Shining a purest holy white

    And every fear will be erased
    But it must be in another place

    So, I’m waiting for another time and another place
    Where all my hopes and dreams will be captured
    With one look at Jesus’ face
    Oh, my heart’s been burnin’
    My soul keeps yearnin’
    Sometimes I can’t hardly wait
    For that sweet, sweet someday
    When I’ll be swept away
    To another time and another place

    I’ve grown so tired of earthly things
    They promise peace but furnish pain
    [male]
    All of life’s sweetest joys combined
    Could never match those in another time

    And though I’ve put my trust in Christ
    And felt His Spirit move in my life

    I know it’s truly just a taste
    Of His glory in another place

    So, I’m waiting for another time and another place
    Where all my hopes and dreams will be captured
    With one look at Jesus’ face
    Oh, my heart’s been burnin’
    My soul keeps yearnin’
    Sometimes I can’t hardly wait
    For that sweet, sweet someday
    When I’ll be swept away
    To another time and another place

    Another Time and Another Place : Sandi Patty & Wayne Watson

  10. Thanks for sharing that song, Selena. I don’t know how it’s possible I’ve never heard it before. I thought I knew every stinkin’ song she ever recorded.

    And though I’ve put my trust in Christ
    And felt His Spirit move in my life
    I know it’s truly just a taste
    Of His glory in another place

    Amen! Says it perfectly.

    Hope that Spam smell has gone now. 😉

  11. i have to remind myself daily where my significance lies. it is not in my husband, my children, my role in ministry, by how many people like me or not, or by how many people agree with me. it is only found in Him…true significance and Hope. somehow i see these two linking. i dunno why.

  12. Hey, Tam! I road along for a while thinking we could have it all in this life, if we only made the right choices. I also, somewhere inside, believed the lie that life is meant to be perfect. (It probably doesn’t help that I live where I do…have you ever read the statistics for plastic surgery in Dallas? I don’t know the numbers, but they did make a movie about it.)

    Perfection is not found in this life, in these lusts and boasts of the flesh. It really is all plastic. I think I need a new mantra to replace the old one, “Perfection in everything.” How about…”It’s not about now?”

  13. Oh yeah! It’s all about you, Darkly Niles! 😉

    Glad to see you here. Do you have any insights? I know there’s wisdom in that old mind of yours, care to share?

    Love you!

  14. Ya know…I doubt that anyone noticed–though it can be seen in my words–but I had writer’s block yesterday so I came here and actually seriously literally got UNblocked.

    Thanks, Michelle!!! 😀

  15. Agreed. Life does suck often. Marriage is not the answer to make life happy. But what I will say about marriage is that when two people have an understanding of what marriage really is it makes life more bareable. The parts that suck usually do not suck as much.

    I also think that there are too many people that make the primary goal in life to be happy which I do not think life was made to function like that. I think the purpose of life is to obey God. If I can be happy and obey God than that is a great. But if obeying God temporarily does not make me happy then so be it.

  16. Don’t even get me started on the rigors of marriage. I feel more sorry for my wife than I do myself. What a wild ride our 22 years have been. The next time I run into an old couple who’ve been married for, say, 50 years, I intend to shake their hands!

    😉

  17. Huh. I just thought we were on the same wavelength, Nor. I loved your post. 😉

    “I also think that there are too many people that make the primary goal in life to be happy which I do not think life was made to function like that.”

    Amen, DaRonn! I’m thinking since the Fall, the point is to desire the lost relationship with God, and that God will do whatever it takes to bring us to Him. And happiness is not at all the point. Hey, thanks for checkin’ out my posts, looks like you made the rounds. 🙂

    Hey, Tim! We celebrated my mom and dad’s 50th anniversary this past year. It’s a wonderful thing to have so many years together, when they’re good years. I think the key (we’ve been married 25 years) to marriage is God. With Him it’s hard, but without Him…man! I don’t know how people make it through those tough years without an eternal perspective. Always good to see you here! 😉

  18. Well said, Michelle! I agree with you. 100 percent. 🙂

    Sorry I haven’t been “doing my rounds” lately. Been busy. 😦

    I hope life’s treating you well. Do take care. Hugs.

    PS: I soooo love your avatar. You’re very beautiful.

  19. I like it when people agree 100%, Sherma! Doesn’t really happen that often. 😕

    You seem to be a very busy woman. And with all that creative writing you do, your mind must work overtime!

    I hope you’re well…hugs…and thanks about the avatar. 😳

    ♥ U!

Leave a Reply

