Congratulations and Prayers

Standard

I’ve made it a rule, for myself, to not discuss politics on my blog.  And I’m NOT breaking the rule (a bit of legalism still lingers).  I am sharing my perspective on the election of Barack Obama as OUR new president.  My perspective comes from the Scripture.

God is in control.

All the people of the earth are nothing compared to Him. He has the power to do as He pleases among the angels of heaven and with those who live on earth. No one can stop Him or challenge Him, saying, ‘What do you mean by doing these things?’  ~Daniel 4:35

We can trust in His plan.

Praise the name of God forever and ever, for He alone has all wisdom and power.  He determines the course of world events; He removes kings and sets others on the throne.  He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to the scholars.  He reveals deep and mysterious things and knows what lies hidden in darkness, though He Himself is surrounded by light.  ~Daniel 2:22

We are to obey the governing authorities for God has placed them in power.

Obey the government, for God is the one who put it there.  All governments have been placed in power by God.  So those who refuse to obey the laws of the land are refusing to obey God, and punishment will follow.  For the authorities do not frighten people who are doing right, but they frighten those who do wrong.  So do what they say, and you will get along well.  The authorities are sent by God to help you.  But if you are doing something wrong, of course you should be afraid, for you will be punished.  The authorities are established by God for that very purpose, to punish those who do wrong.  So you must obey the government for two reasons: to keep from being punished and to keep a clear conscience.  ~Romans 13:1-5

Pray for God’s will to be done.

Pray like this: Our Father in heaven, may Your name be honored.  May Your Kingdom come soon. May Your will be done here on earth, just as it is in heaven.  ~Matthew 6:9:10

 Congratulations, Barack Obama!

My prayers are for you and your family, for your leadership and your safety.

May God bless you and May God bless America.

24 responses »

  1. I will be praying for the President, and I am hoping the fervor in the hearts of people lives on. I hope we don’t all sit back now and wait for the President to make the world a new place; I hope we all donate, volunteer, become a mentor, help our neighbor. Something to remind ourselves that WE are the nation. Today can be a great start if we all just stand up and act.

  2. Well scripture does tell us to support our leaders who ever they are. So from that stand point we need to support the elected president. let’s pray for improvement in the economy.

  3. amen.

    yes, scripture says to pray for our leaders…something i havent done enough. something i have been convicted on. i am hopeful for our country right now. i would definitely like to see change. i just pray its the kind of change that brings about unity.

  4. Obama — today’s symbol of Change.

    I hope he’ll be able to turn things around and be the vehicle of change the world badly needs.

    😉

  5. Good morning, ALL Y’ALL!

    I’m hopeful for change, but I must say, my hope rests in God and His plan for the world.

    I will be praying for President-elect Obama and for our nation to follow the ways of the Lord in ALL matters.

    Blessings to Y’ALL! 😉

  6. I can only find two directions in scripture regarding our interaction with government:

    1. pay taxes
    2. pray for the leaders.

    I’m starting to see evangelical righters citing OT Scripture about the people wanting a King. It’s interesting that now is the time they choose to cite this scripture.

    I do not believe for a second that Obama alone will change anything, but I do believe he is capable of being a catalyst for changing this country.

    Believers should not expect the country to change to their liking – God has a bigger agenda.

    Pat Robertson was interviewed last night by Larry King and said that he thinks Obama is capable of being one of THE great presidents of our country. I haven’t heard Pat Robertson speak in years – where did that come from?

  7. Hey, Bad!

    “I’m starting to see evangelical righters citing OT Scripture about the people wanting a King.”

    I’m not sure what you’re referring to. I WANT and HOPE for Christ’s physical return to earth. Yes, I do. He is the King I’m looking forward to ruling.

    I believe it is prophesied, but have no delusions that it will happen because I want it. God has a plan set forth from the foundation of the world that He will bring to fruition in. His. time. That’s what I know, through the whole of scripture, to be true.

    I will pray for Obama and will honor him as president. I think the potential is definitely there for something great.

    I don’t know about Pat Robertson, I rarely listen to him. I do remember my psychology prof in college saying we should never assume what someone said yesterday is what they believe today. People change. Thank the Lord.

    It’s good to see you here, Bad! 😉

  8. Michelle, in the OT the hebrew people demanded a King, although God did not want them to have one (that is a very sketchy paraphrase). here is one example I’ve seen:

    “I am still amazed that any Christian could vote for Obama. It happened, I know it did. And now that this nation has elected an advocate for death, an enemy of the unborn and a man proud of his “pro-choice” record, we are stuck with him. Reminds me of a time in the Old Testament:

    You said to me, ‘No, we want a king to rule over us’-even though the LORD your God was your king. Now here is the king you have chosen, the one you asked for; see, the LORD has set a king over you. (1 Sam. 12:12-13)
    You will realize what an evil thing you did in the eyes of the LORD when you asked for a king. (1 Sam 13:17b)

    The people asked for someone that did not honor God as their leader. They gave their loyalty to someone other than God. And for that, they paid a price. The threat of death loomed over them. They had angered the Lord. The people turned to Samuel and asked him to pray to God for their lives.”

  9. OK, I see what you’re saying, Bad. This popped out at me:

    “They gave their loyalty to someone other than God.”

    That’s always scary, be it Republican or Democrat. Our hope is in the Lord alone. We are to pray for our rulers (aka leaders) that they will follow a path of righeousness and justice, and that God will be merciful upon us. I only know of One Ruler who fulfills those requirements perfectly.

    This is getting too close to a political discussion for my liking. 🙄 I will NOT break my rule. 😉

  10. Thank you for being humble and obedient to God’s Will which is to pray for our leaders, regardless of how we feel. That’s what God is always about though right? Overriding feelings for truth? I love you and love your transparency and your willingness to give people the benefit of the doubt. I am excited about Obama’s presidency for many reasons but mostly because there are millions in this country who have never had the hope of feeling like it was possible for them to be “someone” regardless of their skin color and I believe that it is time that they had some of that hope in the natural while they continue to hope in God in the spiritual realm for complete healing, deliverance, and salvation.

  11. “And now that this nation has elected an advocate for death”

    (I promise this won’t get political Michelle!)

    Like b4d, I’ve seen things like that around various blogs, and I can understand where people are coming from. But I have a sense that Obama is a good man. So let’s pray HARD for him, that where he has done God’s will he will continue to do God’s will – and where he hasn’t, that he will see that, and turn back to God.

    (And that’s not to claim that I know how, when or where he’s gone wrong. I’d pray that prayer for anyone. Just seems especially important for the President of the United States!!)

  12. I can understand your excitement, Gch. It is thrilling to see our country moving away from its racist past. I do hope and pray that is what this election has done. Everyone in America needs to be able to stand. Love you, sweetie. 😉

    Hello, Alan. I hope all is well with you and yours, still praying.

    “So let’s pray HARD for him, that where he has done God’s will he will continue to do God’s will – and where he hasn’t, that he will see that, and turn back to God.”

    Amen. Let’s pray hard for him, and us, the very same prayer! We all need to stay within the will of God. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

