How Deep the Father’s Love

Standard

Have this attitude in yourselves which was also in Christ Jesus,
who, although He existed in the form of God,
did not regard equality with God a thing to be grasped,
but emptied Himself,
taking the form of a bond-servant, and being made in the likeness of men.
Being found in appearance as a man,
He humbled Himself by becoming obedient to the point of death,
even death on a cross.
For this reason also, God highly exalted Him,
and bestowed on Him the name which is above every name,
so that at the name of Jesus EVERY KNEE WILL BOW,
of those who are in heaven and on earth and under the earth,
and that every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord,
to the glory of God the Father.

Philippians 2:5-11

16 responses »

  1. Hi Michelle! Those exact verses you listed here are the first verses I decided to memorize on my own initiative. I must have been about 13 at the time. After years of Sunday School teachers deciding what verses they thought I should know I wanted to take matters in my own hands. Since my parents were always getting on me about my attitude I wanted a verse that addressed attitude. I still think this and Philippians 4:8 are the best when you need what my mom used to call an “attitude check”.

    Hope you have a good weekend

  2. Yanno…That was a good Saturday song. πŸ˜‰

    And THANKS for including the captions! πŸ˜€

  3. Great verses, and like A
    @ng, Phil 4:8 helps me keep everything in check..Love the hymn..its one of my favorites, and also helps to guide me back to what this is all about.. “why should I gain from HIS reward?..I can not give an answer..” Amen and Amen.. Love ya sister

  4. I absolutely love these verses, Angie. Some scholars say it was an early church creed. And the attitude of complete humility…wow…will I ever get there? Constant death to self…man! Have y’all left for your vacation yet?

    I’m glad you like the song, Nor. It’s my favorite these days. It’s also on the CD you sent…thank you, again. πŸ˜‰

    Don’t you love it, Darla? I don’t know when it was written, but so many people say there are no good songs being written anymore. I do NOT agree. This is certainly a great hymn for the church. Love you sister!

  5. Yanno…I’m thinking I should have got myself that CD. πŸ˜•

    Or maybe I should just send a “thank-you” note to the girl who suggested it at the bookstore. πŸ˜‰

  6. “why should i gain fro His reward….”

    is the line that wrecks me every time!

    i can rarely get through singing this one in church…

    love you sis. so thankful that God let us all find each other here on the world wide web!

  7. Yanno, Nor…maybe you should have just kept the whole gift for yourself? 😯

    Naw. I’m glad you didn’t. Both have been food for my soul. Thank you, Nor. Love you. πŸ˜‰

    Good morning, Tam. I have a hard time with that line too. Isn’t He wonderful to allow us all to find eachother? Many days I don’t know what I would do if I didn’t have this connection. Love you, TammyJo.

    Hey Angie! YAY. Tonight’s getting closer every minute! Angie, I was wondering, are you and Mandy really cousins?

  8. Hey Michelle. I actually left that comment this morning so I actually leave Monday night… so clear up an y confusion. πŸ™‚ Oh, and Mandy and I are cyber-cousins. It is just a fun nick name we use with each other.

  9. It is great to know that you are so willing to share the gifts you have been given to produce a crop thirty, sixty, even a hundred times what was planted. πŸ˜‰

  10. Hey, Annie and Ric!

    It will be an amazing day for REJOICING!!
    Our glorious hope will be revealed.

    Love you both! Have a great Monday.

Leave a Reply

