Who Will Plead Your Case?

Standard

A Blogged Bible Study entry for John 14

Have you ever needed a lawyer?  I know, lots of us don’t have the greatest esteem for lawyers.  But if you need one, you certainly want the best.

We’ve all seen, or heard, of the unscrupulous conniving and unethical standards of many lawyers.  However, imagine with me the help a righteous lawyer would be.  Imagine (I understand the need for MUCH imagination in this exercise) a holy lawyer; one who sees all sides and still pleads your case.

Two-and-a-half years ago we had need of a good lawyer.  We knew if we did not choose one with ethical standards, we would not please God.  We knew we couldn’t “fudge.”  We had to admit guilt and suffer the consequences.  You see, we understand all will one day stand before a Holy Judge and give an account for our deeds done on earth.  We (Phat and I) don’t want to be ashamed at His coming.

So . . . we did the right thing.  We found a Christian lawyer willing to allow us to plead guilty.  She fought long and hard for us.  She did all within her power to lessen the sentence upon our lives.  She did a good work.

We are told in the book of John that the Spirit is our Advocate*.

If you love Me, you will keep My commandments.  And I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Advocate*, to be with you foreverThis is the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him. You know Him, because He abides with you, and He will be in you.  ~John 14:15-17

In this passage our Advocate*, our lawyer, is one who comes to our aid and is described as “another.” 

Another?

So, who is the first Advocate* — the first one to come to our aid?

John wrote his epistles sometime after his gospel.  Scholars place the writings around 85-95 AD, when he lived in Ephesus.  In his first epistle, John proclaims the truth of the gospel, the light of the world, once again: 

This is the message we have heard from Him and proclaim to you, that God is light and in Him there is no darkness at all.  If we say that we have fellowship with Him while we are walking in darkness, we lie and do not do what is true; but if we walk in the light as He himself is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin.  If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.  If we confess our sins, He who is faithful and just will forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.  If we say that we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and His word is not in us.  My little children, I am writing these things to you so that you may not sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an Advocate* with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous; and He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not for ours only but also for the sins of the whole world.  ~1 John 1:5-2:2

Who will plead your case before the throne of the most Holy God?

You can have a Righteous, Holy Advocate* who will stand beside you and declare,

“Father, this one is covered by the blood of the Lamb.  This one receives mercy.”

The Father will hear His Son and you will walk free.  Free from your sin.  Free from the penalty of death.  Free to serve a new Master.  And the most glorious thing?!  It happens the moment you repent and believe.  Then, at that point in time, His Spirit, another Advocate*, comes to your aid.  He will abide with you and help you walk this life of freedom on earth.

“He will be in you.” ~Jesus, the Son of God

*********************************************************************

*Or “Helper” or “Counselor”; Grk “Paraclete,” from the Greek word παράκλητος (paraklhto”). Finding an appropriate English translation for παράκλητος is a very difficult task. No single English word has exactly the same range of meaning as the Greek word. “Comforter,” used by some of the older English versions, appears to be as old as Wycliffe. But today it suggests a quilt or a sympathetic mourner at a funeral. “Counselor” is adequate, but too broad, in contexts like “marriage counselor” or “camp counselor.” “Helper” or “Assistant” could also be used, but could suggest a subordinate rank. “Advocate,” the word chosen for this translation, has more forensic overtones than the Greek word does, although in John 16:5-11a forensic context is certainly present. Because an “advocate” is someone who “advocates” or supports a position or viewpoint and since this is what the Paraclete will do for the preaching of the disciples, it was selected in spite of the drawbacks.  ~Taken from the NET bible

*Strong’s “parakletos” — 3875
1) summoned, called to one’s side, esp. called to one’s aid
1a) one who pleads another’s cause before a judge, a pleader, counsel for defense, legal assistant, an advocate
1b) one who pleads another’s cause with one, an intercessor
1b1) of Christ in his exaltation at God’s right hand, pleading with God the Father for the pardon of our sins
1c) in the widest sense, a helper, succourer, aider, assistant
1c1) of the Holy Spirit destined to take the place of Christ with the apostles (after his ascension to the Father), to lead them to a deeper knowledge of the gospel truth, and give them divine strength needed to enable them to undergo trials and persecutions on behalf of the divine kingdom

17 responses »

  1. awesome! Greg Laurie taught something smiiliar with jesus as our Defense attorney, Satan as the District attorney, and God on the bench..although some would argue this scenario, I have never forgotten how the enemy will throw our sins in front of us and that judge, and then just about the time we start to shrink and hang our head..Our defense JESUS approaches the bench and says “Dad, this one is mine, I died for her”, and the judge rules in my favor. somthing like that..anyway..very good thoughts!

  2. 1 John 2:1-2 is a powerful verse taken by itself with no other considerations. We sin. He pleads. Nothing is said (here) about confession.
    Thank you for this post.
    I will begin seeing Jesus as my lawyer (and that may help me to think better of lawyers in general.)

  3. You needed a lawyer?!?! 😯

    Didn’t I tell you not to set that bag full of canned peaches in heavy syrup on the police cruiser when you were at the supermarket? 🙄

    Didn’t I tell you that all of that “heavy syrup” would make a rather impressive dent!!! 👿

    Didn’t I tell you I had a wacky sense of humor?!?! 😀

    Didn’t I tell you…tell you…tell you…Aw, shucks! My sense of humor is so dry I can’t think of anything funny to day! 😕

    Like, EVER! 😐

    By the way…Love U2! 😉

  4. NOR!!! 😯

    Wacky sense of humor does not even begin to explain you!!! 😀 Go to sleep.
    Although I must say, seeing your avatar in the sidebar brought a huge smile to my face! 😆

    Good morning, Darla! I hadn’t read Laurie’s thoughts before. I realize this is a common scenario, as evidenced by yesterday’s post. And I think Carl gave a similar response. I’m thrilled to know He will speak for us and that He is continually helping us along the way, through His Spirit. I never want to go into court without a good lawyer.

    Hello, Dale. It is mind boggling to try and comprehend the constant intercession and aid He gives to those who are His. I’m so thankful for His continual care.

  5. Great stuff here. I have often thought about whether or not I will be “ashamed at His coming.” To keep eternity in view, keep the fear of the Lord (in a good sense) in our hearts, and that will keep us following hard after Him.

    Thanks for this post. It’s a goodie.

  6. It is just so humbling to me to try to imagine His love for us… somehow we screw up and He finds a way to love us even more. That kind of unconditional commitment drives me to walk in the light so much more than the fear of punishment does.

  7. You know, Joe (just had to do that) there was a time I wasn’t sure about making it to heaven. I was a Christian but didn’t believe my salvation was secure.

    I wonder if that’s a distorted teaching from the truth about the Judgment seat of Christ.
    “…each builder’s work will be plainly seen, for the Day will make it clear, because it will be revealed by fire. And the fire will test what kind of work each has done.” ~1 Cor. 3:13
    On that Day I want to come through the fire as gold, silver, or precious gems. I do believe it would be shameful to have all the work done “in His Name” burned up and, consequently, have nothing to give to Him as representative of the life I lived for Him.
    Does that make sense?

    Thank you, Nor. It always works. 🙂
    So…no thoughts on the study?
    Why aren’t you sleeping?!?!?! 👿

    Hey, Sara. I agree. Unconditional love is a beautiful motivator. It’s what brought Him to the world. However, it was to free us from the penalty of death, “for the wages of sin is death.” Without Him as our atoning sacrifice, we won’t be able to stand against the just punishment of sin. In Him we are covered. In Him we are transferred from the kingdom of darkness to the kingdom of light. In Him we will make it through the fire of the Judgment Day. He promised. In Him we won’t perish but will have eternal life.

    And you know what? It’s gonna be great to see you there! 😉

  8. knowing He pleads on my behalf stops me in my tracks.

    i cant imagine…i dont WANT to imagine, where id be without His saving grace.

    my heart couldnt even withstand the possibilities.

  9. I feel the same, TammyJo. It’s incredible to know He, the God of the Universe, is FOR us. He’s on our side, working for the best in all things.

    Amazing Love.

  10. I’m learning (slowly) to rest in the knowledge that He will defend me. It’s not easy. But it’s better than going it alone or with another business partner. 😉 I think I have a long way yet to go.

  11. these posts seem to have been so long ago, but I am grateful they still remain true. My advocate still lives.

  12. I have a long way, too, Annie. So thankful He never lets go! (Just give me a few years and I’ll finally respond…sheesh! 😳 )

    Welcome, Jerry. Yes, I wrote much more a few years ago, and thankfully, the old posts still get read. I love that the Truth always remains…even when we mess up, He will never give up on us. He lives!!

Leave a Reply

