Temporarily Earthbound

Standard

Has the flesh ever pulled so hard, you just didn’t know if you could refuse it?

Have you ever wanted SO much to do what is SO wrong?

Sometimes I’m on the mountaintop — sing with me, Amy Grant — fellowshipping with the Lord.  It’s wonderful!  It fills me up and I don’t want to come down.  I truly want to stay there for eternity.

But then, the world comes crashing in with such turmoil.  Sometimes the pain of it causes me to want relief.  And I want it NOW.

To learn to stay in the discomfort of NOW — to learn to endure through the pain of this life — to learn to reach beyond ourselves to Someone greater — this is the goal of the Christian walk.

Makes me think of the verse,

“Greater is He who is in you than he who is in the world.” 
~1 John 4:4b

Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.  For everything in the worldthe cravings of sinful man, the lust of his eyes and the boasting of what he has and doescomes not from the Father but from the world.  The world and its desires pass away, but the man who does the will of God lives for ever.  ~1 John 2:15-17

I know I will live forever.  I have that assurance in my soul based upon the words of our Lord.  I choose this day whom I will serve.  The cravings . . . I can overcome.  The choice may not feel comfortable in the moment, but that’s OK.  I will endure the discomfort and not give in to the flesh.

I am longing for eternity, but temporarily earthbound . . . so, I pray.

Greater is He who is in me . . .

God is greater.

18 responses »

  1. Oh my. Yes, I’ve felt the strength of that pull. But somehow I think you’re dealing with SO much more.

    Father, I lift up Michelle to you right now. You said that you would be with us through the valleys; that You would lead us and guide us. I ask that You would breathe on her right now – the sweet peace of Your Spirit; the strength that her soul needs to find in Your words. Garrison about her heart and her mind, because she is Yours. Place a hedge of protection around her, and guard her paths. You O Lord are a shield for me, my glory and the lifter of my head. Great is your faithfulness. Be the feet that she can’t use; the legs that won’t work for her – infuse her weakness with Your strength. “In the shadow of your wings I sing for joy; my soul clings to Thee.” Cover her with your pinions, that under your wings she may find refuge. Thank You dear Father. Amen.

    I love you, Michelle.

  2. I have always thought it is strange how people say how much they love Hebrews 4:12.

    “For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. ”
    It talks about a sword going in and cutting you so deep to the point that it separates your bad intentions from the good ones. OUCH! A two-edged one at that. One edge for the devil and the other for you!

    I think that as long are on the earth we will be in surgery.

  3. I love you, Brandy!! 😉

    Oh, thank you, Annie. Beautiful. Made my eyes leak. Thank you for praying for strength and protection. I love you. 🙂

    Yes, DaRonn, it does feel like surgery. It cuts deep and it divides. You’ve hit the nail on the head of what is happening within. I’m thankful for the surgery, but at times I would sure like more anaesthetic. Thanks for commenting. You always add so much to the conversation. 😉

  4. Amen!
    Daronn I think that too, constantly being shaped in to a likeness of Jesus, and it really does go against the flesh.

    Michelle- praying for you, and for the record…I know exactly what you are going through, love you!

  5. Great post. That is one powerful scripture, and should give hope to those who have very little of it. Yes, we will live forever, if we are in Christ.

    We must, as the KJV declares, endure to the end. Oh, but when the end does come, we will be in the presence of the one true living God. What a day that will be. Another great verse is found in I Corinthians 15:19 “If in this life only we have hope in Christ, we are of all men most miserable.”

    Look up, our redemption is getting closer all the time.

  6. Michelle – I’m so glad both things blessed you! So glad. Of course you can reprint the poem. 🙂 Praise God for using it. 🙂

  7. Michelle.. I do wish I was not so busy… That is my flesh that pulls. 2 weeks will go by and I realize I have not been around and talked to the people I need to talk to, spread love where it needs to be spread, serve where I need to serve… God convicts and I get better… but the flesh does pull…

    Peace and love sister…

  8. Thanks, Annie. It is a beautiful poem. 😉

    Hey, Carl!! You are a very busy man. You have many responsibilities. I’m so glad I’m NOT a man. I know this is not politically correct to state, but I’m glad I have a husband who takes care of me. He takes his responsibilities seriously and his servant leadership is inspiring. I think you are much the same. 🙂

    Love and peace and strength to you, brother.

  9. “To learn to stay in the discomfort of NOW – to learn to endure through the pain of this life – to learn to reach beyond ourselves to Someone greater — this is the goal of the Christian walk.”

    VERY
    POWERFUL

    Thank you!!

  10. “But then, the world comes crashing in with such turmoil. Sometimes the pain of it causes me to want relief. And I want it NOW.”

    I’m so desperate for relief. Even though I understand endurance as being a huge part of this Christian walk, I also know God is a deliverer.

    I’m waiting for my deliverance even if it means hanging on a thread.

    Thank you for expressing what I couldn’t.

    Love you.

  11. sis, i love you. reading this and all the comments i am just overwhelmed by who you are. who God has created you to be and how He is continuing to shape you. in this season, in your struggles, you offer so much and you let Him shine through you. thank you. you know how proud i am of you and how much i respect i have for you. and i just cant tell you that enough.

    tammyjo

  12. Thanks, Selena. It’s the hardest part but it’s good.

    I love you, Gch. Keep holding on to Him — He will deliver.

    😯 😳 Thanks, TammyJo. Don’t really know what to say to that other than, I love you. The encouragement came at a most opportune time. You inspire me.

  13. Amen, sister. And I am doing great! I was out of the country for a couple of months, and will be again for a couple of years! (exciting!) so I may have to hang up the blog for a bit. But I am extremely greatful for you and your loving words. You have been great! God bless, and keep writing!

Leave a Reply

