Support for Each Other

Standard

Brothers, if someone is caught in a sin, you who are spiritual should restore him gently. But watch yourself, or you also may be tempted.

Dear brothers and sisters, if another Christian is overcome by some sin, you who are godly should gently and humbly help that person back onto the right path. And be careful not to fall into the same temptation yourself.

Live creatively, friends. If someone falls into sin, forgivingly restore him, saving your critical comments for yourself. You might be needing forgiveness before the day’s out. 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfil the law of Christ. 

Share each other’s troubles and problems, and in this way obey the law of Christ. 

Stoop down and reach out to those who are oppressed. Share their burdens, and so complete Christ’s law.  

 * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

If anyone thinks he is something when he is nothing, he deceives himself. 

If you think you are too important to help someone in need, you are only fooling yourself. You are really a nobody.

If you think you are too good for that, you are badly deceived. 

 * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Each one should test his own actions. Then he can take pride in himself, without comparing himself to somebody else,

Be sure to do what you should, for then you will enjoy the personal satisfaction of having done your work well, and you won’t need to compare yourself to anyone else.

Make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you have been given, and then sink yourself into that. Don’t be impressed with yourself. Don’t compare yourself with others. 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

for each one should carry his own load.

For we are each responsible for our own conduct. 

Each of you must take responsibility for doing the creative best you can with your own life. 

~Galatians 6:1-5

The same word spoken three different ways.  Did any of it hit you between the eyes, like it did me?

I find it interesting we are to carry one another’s burdens (heaviness, weight, trouble) yet we are to carry our own load (task, service, our obligations in Christ).  And the restoring of one in gentleness, understanding our own weakness to be tempted.  Wow.  Grace freely given to one another because we’ve received it through Christ.  Support for each other.  I love it!  I NEED it.

New International Version  New Living Translation  The Message

13 responses »

  1. I love this passage! A very big lesson came out of that for me..I once heard Kay Arthur say…if you are feeling lofty and looking down on your brother for falling down…you are in the perfect position to be next! I have never forgotten that! Oh and AMEN!

  2. Amens all around, I see! 😆

    Hey, Darla! You are SO right about that lofty feeling…it should be a feeling of warning NOT “I’m so good — I’ve got it all together!” What a scary place to be.

  3. The remarkable things about burdens is that we become such a custom of carrying them that we forget what it was like to not carry the burden. The last time I traveled I had way too much stuff in my bags. Each was around 80 pounds. So much that my cheap Wal-mart bag broke. The handle broke and the wheels as well. I pretty much had to lug or drag it it around the airport. When I finally got home they there were men that help carry you bags for a price. I was more to happy to be free from that burden even for a little time I gladly paid the price to have him carry it.

    I think it is the same when someone carries our burden for a while.

  4. Amen, DaRonn. I heard a sermon once on the difference between burdens and loads. We can, and are responsible to carry our own load, the things the Lord has placed upon us in covenant. But when it comes to burdens, these are the things that weigh us down to the point of heaviness, where we cannot continue to walk without help. We need to be helping the weak; and in bearing one another’s burdens, we come alongside and give strength to the exhausted and heavy-laden.

    Thanks for commenting — been praying for y’all! 😉

  5. This makes me think of reading about Moses and how his too friends held up his hands so Joshua could win the battle.

    And how Daniel’s two friends went through the fire with him.

    Support is essential. I was thinking that this weekend.

    P.S. I wrote back to you on some of my posts.

    🙂

  6. It made me think of Moses too. As I was dropping off to sleep last night I was thinking through that whole story. The Israelites were fighting their worst enemy, the Amalekites. Some teachers say the Amalekites are a picture of the flesh and as long as Moses held up the standard of God – the banner of the Lord – they won the battle. Holding up His banner, His Name, His strength, all of Him will keep us from stumbling. But in the midst of the battle we can become so weary and need the encouragement from our friends to stay in the fight…

    Thanks, Tracie! 😉

  7. Love this passage! Good thoughts in the comments here about Moses too. Hm…

    Thank you for helping us to carry our burdens. You are a blessing!

  8. Thanks Y’all!!

    I’m glad all y’all keep coming. Scripture feeds me. Without it and the Holy Spirit, I’d be sunk.

    Love you, ladies. 😉

Leave a Reply

