Bite People

Standard

Stolen from Darla’s site (thanks, Princess)…

Today…one of my problem little boys, soon to be my best buddy! (LOL he doesn’t know it yet) decided today that he can’t sit next to a girl, although that is the last place I have for him since every seat has a problem.  He approached me and said…”I just can’t..she is evil…and I think she bites” 

Isn’t that hilarious?

One of my guys, when he was learning to talk, would call scary people “bite people.”  I wasn’t really sure what he was saying, possibly “bad people” …?… but he was insistent about what he meant.  Only as he grew older was he able to explain to me that he was afraid bad people would always bite.  The strange thing about it, I can’t remember a time he was ever bitten.  I was extremely careful about the things he saw — Sesame Street, Barney, Thomas the Tank Engine — not much biting happening there.  But he just knew people could be scary and they might bite.

Both of these little guys have understood the very nature of man.

For you were called to freedom, brothers and sisters; only do not use your freedom as an opportunity to indulge your flesh, but through love serve one another. For the whole law can be summed up in a single commandment, namely, “You must love your neighbor as yourself.” However, if you continually bite and devour one another, beware that you are not consumed by one another. But I say, live by the Spirit and you will not carry out the desires of the flesh.  ~Galatians 5:13-16

As Christians we have this problem.  We speak without knowledge too often.  We hurt one another with our words, hoping to “make a point.”  I’ve recently done this to someone near and dear to my heart.  It’s ugly and it’s not from Him.

Grace, mercy, forgiveness, kindness, gentleness, self-control…these are the things we’ve been called to do in His name.  To love one another.

My dear brothers, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires.  ~James 1:19

But the fruit of the Spiritis love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,gentleness, and self-control.  Against such things there is no law. ~Galatians 5:23

If you’ve “bitten” someone recently…make it right…ask for forgiveness…get things settled.  You’ll feel much better.  It’s part of the ministry of reconciliation.

17 responses »

  1. 🙂 your welcome…I also thought about how true to life this little mans thoughts were…I have been biten many times, not just by animals..but people that I least expected..i think its called naive..and sometime I don’t think we have a choice in getting bitten..its a learning experience for sure…and I biting is bad no matter who is doing it..myself included. Goodpost..glad i could help a little…LOL or not at all

  2. I read your post yesterday, but things didn’t click until this morning. I need to remember how careless words can cut others to shreads, even when my intention is not to hurt. It’s a hard lesson but so important. So thanks, Darla, for helping me “get” it. 😉

  3. yesm’ They can cut like a knife and injure deep both ways that’s for sure…I praise God that He is in the redemption business….

    Thank you for this, love you!

  4. I’m praising Him today, Debs, for not leaving me in my arrogance. It’s a humbling place to be…but what is it you said about keeping low and reaching for His hem?

    Love you, m’am! 😉

  5. Wow… I love that verse from James. That’s what I love about your site — I don’t know bible verses off the top of my head and I love seeing them applied to your thoughts.

  6. Yeah, Sara, that verse in James gets it said, huh? James is all around a great book on telling us how to live together in the body of Christ. I love it.

    I do have a secret though…

    http://net.bible.org/bible.php

    All I have to remember is a phrase. With that phrase I search and all scriptures will pop up that contain the phrase. Then I can easily find the one I’m looking for…really great site.

    It’s good to see you here. Did you know I have a dog too? I wrote a post about her: https://considerjesus.wordpress.com/?s=my+dog+sam

    In case you’re interested. 🙄

  7. It is a tremendous challenge, requiring much prayer at times, to be ‘lovingingly’ confrontational when it is necessary to confront.

    “All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness.” (2 Tim 3:16)

    We hesitate to be confrontive (reprove and correct) ,when necessary ,because in our curent evangelical ‘culture’ neither has an affirming/positive connotation.

    So we don’t reprove and confront even when it might be necessary, in the corporate setting (expository preaching has all but vanished, ant it always conftonts) or at the individual level.

    At the personal level, one approach is to try and ‘rightly’ apply Scripture and leave out personal pronouns and let the written word speak. Even then, when the word might bite me, there is a tendency to feel ‘bitten’ by the messenger.

    I intended nothing personal with that, just 5:00 A.M. thoughts. I don’t even know if they go to the point of this blog.

  8. This was extremely well-written and very concise, especially using the Scripture passages that back up what you are saying.

    It is not always easy to admit when we have done something so wrong it has hurt someone we care about. I know I’ve done that plenty of times myself, but I hope, as I have gotten older (and a little grayer, I might add), to chose my words so much more carefully than I did when I was younger. Too often, I spoke with my own knowledge instead of God’s wisdom.

    But you are very gracious, Sis, to give us all the reminders we need:

    “Everyone should be QUICK TO LISTEN, SLOW TO SPEAK, and SLOW TO BECOME ANGRY…”

    And James gives us all the reasons we need to be this way:

    “…for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires.”

    God stuff!

  9. Oop! That was supposed to be “GOOD stuff!”

    Hmm…Well, now that I think about it, there isn’t any difference! 😆

  10. What I fall trap to is biting.. Then realizing a few minutes to days later that I bit… My heart breaks that I treated someone badly or was abrupt in a conversation.

    I just ask for God’s grace as I re-approach the person I hurt, and then ask for the Grace to be carried forward into new situations.

    Love ya sister

  11. This was really good Michelle. “As Christians we have this problem. We speak without knowledge too often. We hurt one another with our words, hoping to “make a point.” ” Too, too, true. That hit home. Thanks.

  12. Hi, Sherma! 🙂

    Hey, Dan. It is so hard for me to be lovingly confrontive. I hope I’ve softened over the years, but those who live with me know I still have a LONG way to go.

    I love a clear word taught from the pulpit. If it is the pure word, it will do the work of confronting with the Spirit working alongside. To find that place has been a challenge for us, but Pete Briscoe (my pastor) does a good job.

    I will give the scripture as my source if ever there is a need to confront because I’m learning not to trust my own assumptions. I’m more arrogant than I like to admit. 😕

    Hey, Nor. Thank you for your kind words. It’s very hard to admit when we’ve hurt someone. So many things remain unsaid because we don’t want to humble ourselves. I’ve recently been humbled and it wasn’t pleasant…but hopefully the “peaceful fruit of righteousness” will come.

    Yeah, Carl, approaching someone we’ve hurt without making excuses for our behavior…that’s hard for me. I want to explain, please let me explain…when I really need to be quiet and accept my place of humility. My heart breaks when I’ve been too abrupt as well…I guess that’s good though. Keeps us on our knees, right?

    Thank you, Annie. I needed to hear it myself. Hitting home is painful. Oh, well…He’s doing a work that at times can feel like scourging. (Heb. 12)

    Love Y’all.

  13. I love these points that you highlight, and your encouragement here to reconcile with anyone we may have hurt with our words. So good, and so convicting in a good way 🙂 Love you.

  14. Thanks, Birigt. The tongue is a deadly evil and set on fire by hell…James is an extremely convicting book…in a good way. 😉

    ♥ U2.

Leave a Reply

