In Memoriam

Standard

Remembering the Victims

Seven years after Al Qaeda terrorists hijacked four airliners and crashed them into the World Trade Center, the Pentagon and a field in Shanksville, Pa., America remembers the nearly 3,000 victims.President Bush will lead a moment of silence at the White House and afterward he will head to the Pentagon to dedicate a memorial that has 184 benches over small reflecting pools representing each life lost when American Airlines Flight 77 flew into the symbol of U.S. military might on that clear and sunny September morning.

The moment of silence at the White House on Thursday will occur at 8:46 a.m. – the exact time in 2001 that terrorists slammed the first of two jetliners into the World Trade Center. The Pentagon was struck about an hour later. Joining the president will be first lady Laura Bush, Vice President Dick Cheney and his wife, Lynne, members of Congress, Cabinet members, military officials and about 3,000 White House employees and guests.

The Pentagon ceremony will include a wreath laying, music and a reading of the names of the 184 who died on the plane and inside the building.

“The president thinks about 9/11 every single day when he wakes up and before he goes to bed,” White House press secretary Dana Perino said Wednesday. “This is what he’s concerned about. He’s always been concerned about another attack on our country. Thankfully, we haven’t had one.” 

Shortly before 9 a.m., families of 9/11 victims will descend into Ground Zero using the construction ramp on the south side of the 16-acre site before returning to street level.Barack Obama and John McCain, the Democratic and Republican presidential nominees, respectively, will appear together at ground zero in New York on Thursday to honor the memory of those who died. The campaigns agreed to halt television advertising critical of each other for the day.

~Taken from The Lakarev Report.

Please pray for these families who are mourning and for all those helping to keep our country safe.

16 responses »

  1. Thank you Michelle..its a hard day here in PA..the forth plane went down not to far from where I am…all the flags are half staff here today. As we remember the many that died that day, we are also remembering that most of them were civilian, and still died for being American. God bless our soldiers, as they protect us, and give up living a life like ours to go over seas and fight just to keep it from coming here…I am honored that soldiers who do not know me or most of the readers…are still standing in the gap for us. I join you in praying for the families who are suffering from 911 and for the soldiers and thier families. Praying for God to bless American again…as Abraham asked…how about if there is only _________ righteous people?

  2. Amen, Darla. It is humbling to have so many give of themselves, their very lives, to keep us safe. I’m praying with you and asking the Lord to grant us mercy.

    Then if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and heal their land. ~2 Chronicles 7:14

  3. How quickly we forget where it all started. I went for some blood tests today, and realized that it was 9/11. My mind went back to the day I watched it unfold at home… landing on my knees in tears and prayer. The people who lost loved ones have not forgotten.

    Yes, thank you for reminding us to keep in prayer for those who lost their loved ones, and for those who are keeping us safe from future attacks.

  4. Hey, Heidi, there are those gorgeous eyes on my site again. Love it!!

    When I remember that day I am overwhelmed again, just numb. As soon as the first plane hit, honestly, when I saw it, I said to myself…it’s terrorism, it’s here. I remembered the ’93 bombing and so many things ran through my mind. Sitting in stunned silence, I wept as the second one hit and began crying out to God.

    We can’t ever forget.

  5. Thanks for taking the time to remember. That picture is stunning, too. I am so encouraged by Pres. Bush’s care and concern on this subject. He takes the safety of the American people so personally. It’s amazing that he cares so much about so many millions of people he may never ever know personally. It is good to remember. Even the bad things.

  6. Hey, Annie. I know many people think Bush is the devil…not me. He is a man trying to do the job he was put in office to do, to keep us safe. I pray for him and all who are sacrificing themselves for us. That would include your brothers, wouldn’t it?

    I love you, Annie.

  7. My brothers, yes. Well, one actively. Another in a civilian capacity. The third is is headed for the AF boot camp next month.

    Yes, I agree on Bush. Notwithstanding some of the tragic decisions he’s made concerning Israel, his actions will go down in history as some of the strongest and the bravest. History books are much kinder to leaders than newspapers.

  8. My Daughter on the way home from school (She was not even 2 when 9/11 happened)” this is twin towers day”

    Yeah Yeah it is… Such a simple reminder.

    This country will never be the same.. But can grow stronger.

    Peace to you all.

  9. Wow. That’s quite a sacrifice your family has made, Annie. Have y’all always been a military family?

    Yes, Bush has not been perfect, by a long shot. Yet, overall, Israel does seem to consider him a friend.

    Wow, Carl. It is disturbing how it has affected our children. Mine were all under 12. The last seven years we’ve lived in a very different world than we experienced as kids.

    Love and peace to you as well.

  10. Hello Michelle. Warm hugs! I missed you. It’s been a while…. 🙂

    And it’s been 7 years since that tragic event. And still, the memory of it lingers. I don’t think it will ever go away.

    I am thousand miles away, but I watched the tragedy on TV… with terror.

  11. Yes it has, Sherma!! I still need to change your address in my roll.

    As much as it was a tragedy, I am surprised at how many don’t seem to remember what we are still up against. We don’t like to think of the world philosophies which run counter to God’s word. We are in a crash of civilizations and world ideologies.

    Terror is truly the word for it.

  12. Oh yes. On both sides. The talley is:

    Both grandfathers
    6 uncles
    2 aunts
    my dad
    all 3 brothers
    … and there may be cousins that I’m not well informed about.

    That’s just back to my grandparent’s generation – I’m sure the legacy goes past that, but I only know up to there.

    And yes, thank God that we have stood with Israel as we have thus far.

Leave a Reply

