Who is Your Father?

Standard

A Blogged Bible Study entry on John 8:

Stepping into the blogosphere took me away from my isolated existence.  Somehow, somewhere the thought came for me to blog.  I asked my family what it meant and they got me started.  I jumped in looking for places of interest to me, which led me down the path of religious blogs.  I searched the dashboard for any good discussion.  In time I found debate, heresy, lies, truth…so many ideas and so many philosophies and so many declarations.  At first it was disheartening seeing the word of God not often declared. 

That was my goal for blogging.  I wanted to give scripture to anyone wanting to hear.  I don’t desire to tear anyone down.  I do want to lift up my Savior.

You see, I believe He is the Son of God.

“I am He who testifies about Myself, and the Father who sent Me testifies about Me…I do not have a demon, I honor My Father…it is My Father who glorifies Me, of whom you say, ‘He is our God'” (vs. 18, 49, 54).

I believe He has always existed with His Father, God.

“You are from below, I am from above; you are of this world, I am not of this world…I proceeded forth and have come from God, for I have not even come on My own initiative, but He sent Me…”  (vs. 23, 42)

“‘Your father Abraham rejoiced to see My day, and he saw it and was glad.’  So the Jews said to Him, ‘You are not yet fifty years old, and have You seen Abraham?’  Jesus said to them, ‘Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was born, I am.” (vs. 56-58)

I believe He came to earth to set captives free.

“Jesus said to those Jews who had believed Him, ‘If you continue in My word, then you are truly disciples of Mine; and you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free.’  They answered Him, ‘We are Abraham’s descendants and have never yet been enslaved to anyone; how is it that You say, “You will become free”?’ 

Jesus answered them, ‘Truly, truly, I say to you, everyone who commits sin is the slave of sin.  The slave does not remain in the house forever, the son does remain forever.  So if the Son makes you free, you will be free indeed.'”  (vs. 31-36)

I believe He spoke truth, upheld the Law and the Prophets (the Tanakh), and is worthy of a listen.

“He who sent Me is true; and the things which I heard from Him, these I speak to the world…I do nothing on my own initiative, but I speak these things as the Father taught Me…I speak the truth…He who is of God hears the words of God.” (vs. 26, 28, 45, 47)

His Father is God, the God of the Jews, the God of the Tanakh (the Old Testament).  Jesus spoke about His existence with the Father.  When He made these claims the Jewish leaders understood what He was saying.  No question remained and so they took up stones to throw at Him.  You see, He had claimed to be the Great I AM (YHWH — Yahweh).

They felt He had blasphemed.  Of course, He had not, because what He spoke was truth.

That’s really the point we all must come to…did He, or did He not, speak truth?

If He did not speak truth then it isn’t wrong to cast Him aside.  Yet, to those who do not believe Him, He spoke some very hard words:

“If God were your Father, you would love Me, for I came from God and now am here. I have not come on My own; but He sent Me.  Why do you not understand what I am saying? It is because you cannot hear My word.  You are of your father the devil, and you want to do the desires of your father. He was a murderer from the beginning, and does not stand in the truth because there is no truth in him. Whenever he speaks a lie, he speaks from his own nature, for he is a liar and the father of lies.  But because I speak the truth, you do not believe Me.  Which one of you convicts Me of sin? If I speak truth, why do you not believe Me?  He who is of God hears the words of God; for this reason you do not hear them, because you are not of God.”

He confronted the people He walked among with God’s truth.  They had to make a decision and so do we.

Will we follow Him and listen to Him as He speaks His Father’s words?

29 responses »

  1. Yes! God is my daddy! Jesus is my bridegroom….I believe with all my heart…100% truth all the time! love it Michelle!! sorry I missed you all last night..we had some storming…so I sleep in storms..I like them…and I do tell my kids its okay its my daddy..making some noise…HE is allowed 😆

  2. When I pray, I start by saying Father God. That is what he is to me Father. I figure that is how Jesus addressed him…

    If He did not speak truth then it isn’t wrong to cast Him aside.

    I love this line Michelle. Jesus proves beyond any doubt that he is the Christ and the truth.

    We can go back the John 1 and see that he was there from the beginning with His Father. And Genesis to see we where made in “Their” image.

    Have a wonderful day sister.

  3. Michelle- had to come back and tell you..I am thinking this all morning…Who is your Daddy? LOL no seriously…I just had a rough morning with adults who were not very easy to get along with or to love…and this post popped back into my head! Who is my Daddy? the father of lies, or the Father of truth. well you know which one I picked…but would covet your prayers…this day is only half over… **sigh** more dying to me…

  4. “He confronted the people He walked among with God’s truth. They had to make a decision and so do we.”

    Yes He did, some listened some didn’t…nothng new under the sun….beautiful post from a beautiful sister… 🙂

    Darla: NOWAY!!! Adults????? Say it isn’t so…. 😆

    I’m praying for you too….YOUR day maybe half over, mines just started… ****sigh****

    Love you guys!

  5. ahhhhh…absolute truth…I love it.
    Yes we all have to make a decision, whether Jesus spoke truth or not. As you pointed out, some see accepting His words as true and becoming a Christian as bondage. It’s the opposite!

  6. Hey All Y’all!!

    I was at Bible study this morning. We’re starting the book of Isaiah. It will be a year-long study but I’m so looking forward to it.

    Amen, Nate! Absolute truth. What else can we measure anything against, but the word of God? If it’s not our foundation then we’re on sinking sand.

    His word is definitely enough, Debs, to speak forth in hopes people will listen. When we speak outside of His word, it’s just opinions; and they rarely, if ever, are worth much unless founded on His truth.

    He’s my Daddy, too, Darla. And I’m so thankful to have such a loving and just Heavenly Father. I don’t want to listen to the father of lies. I’ll be praying for you today!

    You know, Carl, that was my point last week, as well. We are to judge/decide about who He is. That was the whole point of His coming. What will we do with this Jesus?

    I love you guys! 😉

  7. its very special when you have a father who is also your best friend. fortunately my earthly father was like that as well. Christ is my daily companion and guide. it amazes me in Chapter 8 how the religious leaders did not get it!

  8. Me too, Papa. I don’t really understand how they couldn’t see it either. I suppose they were blinded by unbelief.

    I’m so thankful we both know the true Father.

    Thanks for coming by. 😉

  9. Great post Sis [as usual 🙂 ].

    I was just telling a friend yesterday about how God truly is a Father to us. He loves us unconditionally; regardless of how we act or what we do, He doesn’t take His love away. He does discipline us in His love but that love is never withdrawn. The whole idea of Him being a parent, the GOD OF ALL MANKIND, being a parent to me, is quite overwhelming.

    Love you 🙂

  10. Yes, Gch, He is our Father when we are adopted. I am so thankful to be able to have His Spirit within which cries out, “Abba!”

    Love you too, sweetie! 😉

  11. You know Abba is the word for Father in Urdu? I never called Daddy that but my mother’s father was called Abba Jaan by everyone in the family. He was a very warm and loving man; full of life and had a wonderful spirit. I often wonder if he knew the Lord; I can’t imagine him not being who he was.

    XOX

  12. It is in this chapter that Jesus told religius that there father was the devil, and not God, no matter what they said. Many today would call such a statement to others unkind, intolerant, or destructive. Is there something to learn here?

  13. Hey, Dan. Yes, definitely something we need to learn. God is our Father only if we are adopted through Jesus Christ, His Son.

    I hope I made that clear. 😉

    Was there something more I’m missing?

  14. Michelle this was so good. I love that you do put SO much Word on your blog. Scripture is a rock in my soul. A steadying point. A peaceful calm right at the point of questioning. My heart hears and is stilled. At peace. Loved. The voice of truth rings out like bells and like thunder … like the calm water that flows just under the tempestuous surface. Thanks.

  15. Annie, you know my heart because yours is in the same place. I want to KNOW HIM above all else. I open His word and start reading and it feels like a washing over my soul. He comforts and guides me through ALL of it. To know we have a God who is sovereign over this scary place. Nothing is a surprise to Him…just us…we can rest in His plan.

    Y’welcome.

  16. I wouldn’t say you midded anything, I just wanted to make that point. 🙂

    Jesus said alot that would not be approved of in today’s evangelicalism. I remember you once asking me about having to always speak positive things. Different context, but same principle?

  17. Carl: ” Ahone was a god and creator of the Native American Pohatan tribe and related Algonquians in the Virginia Tidewater area….The Ahone created the world as a flat disk with the Powhatan tribe at its center. Was also considered to be detached from mankind and required no offerings or sacrifices like many other gods.”

    I think he may have meant a phone…. 😆

  18. For the discussion…

    Romans 6:14-19:

    “For sin shall not be master over you, for you are not under law but under grace. 15 What then? Shall we sin because we are not under law but under grace? May it never be! 16 Do you not know that when you present yourselves to someone as slaves for obedience, you are slaves of the one whom you obey, either of sin resulting in death, or of obedience resulting in righteousness? 17 But thanks be to God that though you were slaves of sin, you became obedient from the heart to that form of teaching to which you were committed, 18 and having been freed from sin, you became slaves of righteousness. 19 I am speaking in human terms because of the weakness of your flesh. For just as you presented your members as slaves to impurity and to lawlessness, resulting in further lawlessness, so now present your members as slaves to righteousness, resulting in sanctification.”

  19. Thanks, Dan!!! I love that passage.

    slaves of sin vs. slaves of obedience
    bound by sin vs. freed from sin
    slaves to impurity and lawlessness vs. slaves to righteousness
    results in further lawlessness vs. results in sanctification

    Either way we are slaves:

    slaves to the father of lies vs. bondslaves to the Father through the Son

    We are slaves to the one we choose to obey.

    Great stuff, Dan.

    Hope you’ve figured out that whole Ahone thing! 😉

  20. Thanks for sharing that, Dan. I’ve wondered.

    Wow. Liberate the oppressed…that works on many levels for your life, doesn’t it? And for this passage. Very 😎

Leave a Reply

