Earthly vs. Heavenly Wisdom

Standard

Do you want to be counted wise, to build a reputation for wisdom? Here’s what you do:

Live well, live wisely, live humbly. It’s the way you live, not the way you talk, that counts.

Mean-spirited ambition isn’t wisdom.

Boasting that you are wise isn’t wisdom.

Twisting the truth to make yourselves sound wise isn’t wisdom.

It’s the furthest thing from wisdom–it’s animal cunning, devilish conniving. 

Whenever you’re trying to look better than others or get the better of others, things fall apart and everyone ends up at the others’ throats.

Real wisdom, God’s wisdom, begins with a holy life and is characterized by getting along with others.

It is gentle and reasonable, overflowing with mercy and blessings, not hot one day and cold the next, not two-faced.

You can develop a healthy, robust community that lives right with God and enjoy its results only if you do the hard work of getting along with each other, treating each other with dignity and honor.  ~James 3:13-18 (The Message)

I, the prisoner of the Lord, implore you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling with which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, showing tolerance for one another in love, being diligent to preserve the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace ~Ephesians 4:1-3

But speaking the truth in love, we must grow up in every way into Him who is the head, into Christ, from whom the whole body, joined and knit together by every ligament with which it is equipped, as each part is working properly, promotes the body’s growth in building itself up in love.  ~Ephesians 4:15-16

I’m feeling a bit convicted, how about you?

23 responses »

  1. I have been through the conviction earlier today, but now I am feeling more blessed.

    Thank you for this, I love how God has an answer for everything, and I love that HE knows all, sees all, and I don’t have to prove myself to anyone. I love that vegence is HIS, and I can just run along…I am not wise…but I want to grow up and look just like HIM.

    love you Michelle, I love how God speaks through you.

  2. It is good to know we do not need to prove ourselves to anyone. It’s not about us, it’s ALL about Him.

    Love you, Darla!! Thanks for your great post today! You always spur me forward. 😉

  3. Michelle,
    Right away I thought of Micah 6:8 and the song “The Walk” by Stephen Curtis Chapman when I read your blog.
    Part of it goes…
    “You can run with the big dogs
    You can fly with the eagles
    You can jump through all the hoops
    And climb the ladder to the top
    But when it all comes down
    You know it all comes down to this
    Do justly, love mercy
    Walk humbly with your God”
    -Sam

  4. I love those words, Sam.

    That’s the mission statement of my daughter’s school (the Micah verse) and they actually try to live by it. Pretty cool.

    Good to see you. Are your mosquito bites healed? 👿

    ♥ U!

  5. Me too, you guys, me too.

    None of us do this perfectly. It is a good list of behaviors to check ourselves against. Not one another…just ourselves.

    It does help for us to know when we are being motivated by selfish ambition or bitter jealousy or arrogance. None of that is from God. He is about gentleness, purity, peace, mercy, righteousness and holiness.

    Love you both!!

    😳 Carl, Gch just asked me the same thing…I like to appear mysterious. (hee-hee)

  6. I heard it said once that if you have to tell somone ur something, ur not. LOL Thank you for this Michelle…yes, conviction, and that’s good.

    I love what you said about keeping a check on ourselves and not others….it’s way to easy to allow the enemy in our own flesh when we’re so bent on pointing fingers.

    You have a wonderful day, and we’ll catch up soon! Love you!!!!

  7. This hit me like a slap in the face. I recently found out that someone who attends a Bible study at my house was still drinking, doing drugs, and seriously sleeping around (without protection). Yet, as the self-appointed “leader,” I had patted myself on the back for being so “wise.” It wasn’t just disheartening–it was gutwreching.

  8. Hey, Annie! Vital, indeed. 😉

    You know, Debs, conviction is good. I totally agree. Examining myself takes enough effort. We are also told to help one another out in staying on the path of righteousness, but how we do that is defiinitely addressed, as well. Hope your day is good. ♥ U!

    Hello Bear. I will be praying for you. This must have been…well…very difficult to see. I will pray the Lord will show you how to speak the truth in love, while confronting sin in this person’s life. We are to hold one another to His standard of righteousness (right living).

  9. How can we possible think we are “something”, when we are made from nothing…? ahhhhh

    Sorry had to put something on here..couldn’t just run in and not stop here…ahhhhhhh I am out of control ! love you 🙂

  10. Yes twice convicted! I just started reading all about wisdom in proverbs last night. You are right on the mark Michelle.

  11. We’re just dirt, Darla!! Well, as someone we both know and love says, “Men are dirt…we’re the rib!” 😉

    Thanks, Ripple. I need as much wisdom as I can get. 🙄

    Love you BOTH!!

  12. But GOd made the dirt..and if you keep going back..from nothing HE created…

    HE is the only one who can make something from nothing. 😉

  13. i was just thinking this morning how sad it is when/that Chrisitians/Christian friends even…disconnect because of pride, self righteousness.

    this is a very good read today michelle. thank you/

  14. 😯 this is not my blog…I thought I was back on mine and commented to Tam and I mean it…but thought I was on mine.. LOL the wheels on the bus go round and round..brain dead!

  15. 😆 Darla, this is your “blog away from blog” 😆

    Yes. Out of nothing – ex nihilo. Only God, Darla, only God.

    You’re welcome, Tam. It is very sad and so unnecessary. It does happen though. The only thing I’ve ever known to do in those instances is to find where I have offended, and make it right.

    We had a situation years ago where I knew there was no wrong that I had done, but it was perceived that way. After a long time of wrestling with God about it, this passage came to me. I went and apologized because of the hurt the other person felt. I realized it was my place to make the move if the bond of peace was to be preserved. It was very humbling, but worth doing, if for no other reason than to be able to stand before God and know I tried to make things right.

    You know, I believe it breaks our hearts, because it breaks His.

    I love Y’all — very much!!!

  16. darla – you have gone and split my side! this gave me a good laugh. i so love you!

    michelle – thank you for that. that seems like it will have to be my next step.

Leave a Reply

