We Gotta Have Friends

Standard

A friend is a second self.
Aristotle

Friendship is a strong and habitual inclination in two persons to promote the good and happiness of one another.
Eustace Budgell

Two may talk together under the same roof for many years, yet never really meet; and two others at first speech are old friends.
Mary Catherwood

To give and receive advice – the former with freedom and yet without bitterness, the latter with patience and without irritation – peculiarly appropriate to genuine friendship.
Cicero

There are very few honest friends – the demand is not particularly great.
Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach

A Brother may not be a Friend, but a Friend will always be a Brother.
Benjamin Franklin

True friendship comes when silence between two people is comfortable.
Dave Tyson Gentry

Your friend is the man who knows all about you, and still likes you.
Elbert Hubbard

What do you think?Β  Do you really have any true friends?Β  If so, what makes the friendship last?

19 responses »

  1. I have friends I haven’t seen for years, and when I do see them…I know with out a doubt they are still my friend..that is always so awesome to me.

    and some friends are just here for a season, maybe to learn from, maybe just brought close to me by my own doing…but the ones that God gives are for eternity..I love that. Michelle you are one of those friends! love you

  2. Hey, Darla! Some friends just being here for a season…that gets me. I mean, I’ve experienced it, and I know I will again, but it’s always such a great loss when the season ends.

    Heaven won’t never end!!! ♥ U2!!

  3. I am only now starting to realize the importance of friends. I usually liked to be very independent and aloof, and only had one close friend. I am learning now that it is because of my own insecurities that I kept people at a distance, and slowly I am starting to enjoy letting go- being transparent, being just who I am- and finding a lot more friends along the way because of it.

    Friends are like family- they accept and love you flaws and all, and sometimes friends are even better than family because they genuinely like you and choose to be with you. I think friendship lasts because of acceptance, whenever you meet again, a friend welcomes you back, just as you are. Friendship is a precious gift.

  4. it is a great loss, and I know I feel it when it happens, but lately the last few years, it has been a call for me to pick HIM over them, and stay obedient. Its not insecurity for me (maybe at one time)…its all about obedience for me..and all about keeping HIM first.. πŸ™‚

    I think friendships that keep HIM first and in the center of everything, last the duration…through thick and thin..those kind of people are few and far between…that makes you precious to me!

  5. Michelle, how are you? are you close to any of that hurricane in your area? praying for you, and missing you today…Love you sister!

  6. Hello, Ripple.
    You said: because of my own insecurities that I kept people at a distance, and slowly I am starting to enjoy letting go- being transparent, being just who I am…

    Oh yeah…that’s me. I did that for the longest time. I think it was in my late twenties that I began to understand the need to be vulnerable, allowing others in — I’ve had some amazing friendships since then. It is a risk. Many people will leave but that’s OK, they weren’t really friends if they couldn’t take the good with the bad. The risk is worth it, though, when that one friend sticks around. πŸ˜‰

    You know, Darla. I have found my best friends to be people who also love the Lord. Not that they must, but when He is so important to me — I do tend to want to talk about Him LOTS — then it just makes sense I would feel closest to those who want to talk about Him too. I’m sure glad we’re doing this thing together!! πŸ™‚

    Oh, how am I? The weather systems hurt TONS — so I’ve been struggling with migraines. But as far as the rain and wind, it’s not too bad this far Northwest of the eye.

    Hey, Debs!! I kinda like being stuck! Hope your day is a good one. πŸ˜€

  7. I’m thinking we all need to join hands and sing that song, Friends are Friends Forever…. πŸ˜‰

    Funny you bring this up today… I’ve been thinking a lot about friendships. They are so important.

  8. “What do you think? Do you really have any true friends? If so, what makes the friendship last?”

    wow. i didnt expect these to be hard questions to answer…but after reading the quotes that preceded it – i really have to think about this. i really do.

    i do know that of my ‘christian” friendships – the common thread is Christ Himself. but even so – i have found that earthly things or non-absolutes can even take precedence over the Common Thread.

    so what makes a friendship last…accepting that there can be differences, and its ok, to not be threatened by them, or judgmental of them. its hard. i know it. but its necessary.

  9. Hello, Heidi! That would be a good exercise…the holding hands and singing along. Friends are SO important. I didn’t realize how important until I went without for a while. We really do need eachother.

    Giving eachother grace is so important, Tam.

    I have one friend who I truly treasure, but I can’t say we agree on everything (I actually have more than one treasured friend, this is just the one I want to talk about right now…ok…) Thankfully we both love the Lord and so we have been willing to persevere through disagreements. But I’ve noticed recently, we haven’t pressured eachother to change our views. We share them in an agreeable way and still love one another. I don’t have to conform to h/her thinking, and h/she doesn’t have to conform to mine. Now, in time, we may both change our views, but the friendship is more important than the “opinions.”

    That was a bit long…just recently caught up with this friend, so I’ve been thinking this one through. 😳

    I think we said the same thing: so what makes a friendship last…accepting that there can be differences, and its ok, to not be threatened by them, or judgmental of them. its hard. i know it. but its necessary.

    Yeah, that’s what I said. πŸ˜‰

  10. yah. im with you michelle. ive said it before here…”but for His Grace…” freely i receive, now freely to give…

    thanks for that reminder sis!

  11. It sounds cliche I know, but God makes friendships work. Honestly. The best relationships I have ever had are ones where I can share the God in me freely, openly, with no restraints and no shame. And then receive the same from them. And then, God keeps us humble, flexible, changeable … iron sharpens iron … I think every person’s spirit cries out for this … even without knowing it.

  12. I agree, Annie. I was thinking through this last night. If we are to preserve the bond of peace in love then we must have the Spirit to do just that!.

    Hmmm…maybe another post…???

    Thanks, Annie!! ♥ U!

  13. Hi Sis πŸ™‚

    Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach’s comment spoke the loudest of those to me.

    There are very few Honest Friends – because few of us are honest even with ourselves.

    We want friends who are nice to us not honest because we don’t like to hear about our ‘negatives.

    We basically believe we are pretty good ( or we would change/have not become the person we are) and that even the bits of us that are ‘bad’ we don’t think are really all that bad and we certainly don’t want friends who will inform us honestly about those things (unless they can sugar coat them for us so we don’t feel ‘so bad’).

    WE mostly want friends who think pretty much the same as we do – if we are truly honest with ourselves.

    Few if any of us really know how to be an honest friend who can love others while being able to be completely honest.

    We’re mostly afraid to hurt our friend’s feelings. – and risk losing our friendship.

    As Marie said – the demand for honesty is not all that great – most of us prefer to live comfortably in our own delusions than be faced with hard truths.

    <B

  14. Amen, Love. You are so right about that assessment. It is very difficult to hear from friends who think we’re wrong and to speak with friends about the things in which we believe they are wrong.

    I guess the first place to begin is to be sure we are speaking truth. Opinions are just that, but hard truths can be found out in scripture. It isn’t a matter of one’s own interpretation, but men moved by the Spirit spoke the word of God. We have a sure word that we do well to pay attention to — it will be what we are judged against. Not our friends’ opinions.

    Honesty…Whatsoever things are true, honest, just, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent or praiseworthy…these are the things we will find in His word — the things we are to be thinking about and to be holding one another accountable.

    Love you, Love!! Good to see you again. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

