Weakness Made Strong

Standard

My limitations have hit me in the face once again. I get angry with people who think they know what I’m dealing with but have yet to spend twenty-four hours within my prison, my body.

I desire to work. I desire to work hard. I am not lazy. I have never been lazy. Working has been a place of comfort for me. Much like alcohol is to the alcoholic. I soothed myself through the labor of my hands. It felt good to see the work I could do and I prided myself on my accomplishments. My body and my mind were my allies.

Not anymore. What I desire to accomplish is not what I’m capable of doing. But…

…I am not dismayed.

…I am not down and out.  Well, I may be down…but I’m NOT out!!!

Today my fingers and my mind still work. Until they quit, I’m in people!!!

I’m in!!

I know that You can do all things, And that no purpose of Yours can be thwarted. ~Job 42:2

His purpose will be done.

I can do all things through Him who strengthens me. ~Philippians 4:13

He strengthens me to do all He has asked.

And I keep praying that this faith we hold in common keeps showing up in the good things we do, and that people recognize Christ in all of it. ~Philemon 1:6

That is why we never give up. Though our bodies are dying, our spirits are being renewed every day. For our present troubles are quite small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us an immeasurably great glory that will last forever! So we don’t look at the troubles we can see right now; rather, we look forward to what we have not yet seen. For the troubles we see will soon be over, but the joys to come will last forever. ~2 Corinthians 4:16-18

He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. ~2 Corinthians 12:9

Only the works He has asked us to do will last. If He calls you, He will also equip you. In weakness you are strong.

Do you know this? I’m learning it daily.

The things you do in your flesh will not last, only the works He calls you to do through His Spirit will remain.

Have you come to this understanding?

Only His purpose will last.

His will be done.

23 responses »

  1. Amen Sis.

    As I read your post, I thought of the saying “The will of God will never take you where the grace of God cannot keep you.”

    I am thankful that He never gives us more than we can bear or that He hasn’t equipped us to handle.

    He is the potter and we are the clay and He shapes us for noble purpose. The purpose is perfect; not easy, but perfect.

    I am thankful for His spirit that lives inside of us and, leads and guides us daily through the process of achieving this purpose.

    Love you 🙂 I cannot begin to imagine your physical state and how hard it must be on some days but I can empathize. Mentally and emotionally, I feel like I’m in the same place. I have the physical ability to do things but no motivation whatsoever. Thank you for spending time with me during those moments; our conversations mean so much to me.

  2. Well, I for one would like to say a hearty “well done!” to you for this. You minister strength out of weakness. Thanks for this. And all the verses. Victory. Truth. Triumph. He will have the last word.

  3. Wow, Ric. Thank you.

    He is the Potter and we are the clay. Amen, Gch. He molds us and makes us for His purpose. I love our talks too.

    Yes, Annie! He will have the last word and we will be speechless, falling down on our faces in glory and honor. Thanks!

  4. Hello.. Somewhat new to blogland ;)….

    ckroboth said this was a good blog to read. He wasn’t wrong.

    You left me speechless… This was very powerful

    And Ckroboth says.He may come out to play later, and sends.Love to you.

  5. Hi Michelle,
    What an amazing essay. You have such a way with words and verse. The strength of your faith inspires me.
    I hope you have a wonderful weekend.. take care.
    -Ocean

  6. Dear He who isn’t ckroboth,

    I hope to see Carl soon!!! Hope he’s doing well. Glad it spoke to you!

    Send Carl my love in return. 😉

    Hey, Ocean!!
    I came over to check on you today, then got sidetracked and never commented. I’ll be there in a sec!
    I won’t pull any punches here and will definitely tell it the way I live it. Sometimes it’s hard for people to hear. But I do believe life can get very hard, yet not impossible with God.

    Hope your weekend is a good one too. Do you have to work on weekends?

    Blessings to you!!

  7. Wow, Alece.

    I really don’t know what to say to that…except, thank you.

    You might want to shoot higher though. 😳

    Just sayin’.

  8. i’m shooting plenty high. higher than i think i’ll ever attain, but it’s worth shooting for.

    thank you for being you.

  9. michelle, thank you. you ministered to me tonight in a very, very big way. i am praising God for.

    i dont know you personally, but from what i am privileged enough to read…you are one of the strongest, most grounded women i know. you inspire me with every single written word of yours. every day! you my dear…have a BIG purpose! you touch others and show people His grace, mercy power and love every day!

    you are so very beautiful!

  10. Ladies (Alece and Tam), you are overwhelming me a bit here! 😳

    Thank y’all for the kind words. I understand what I’ve shared is from the Word and I strongly believe the promise of strength He’s given. Some days are good, some days…not so much. I’m thankful y’all have felt the ministry of His truth. You, both, have ministered to me on MANY occasions! 😉

    It is nice to hear y’all’s thoughts — but, as my grandmother always said, “Don’t say that! She might get the big head!” 😆

    Good morning, Nor. Is that a quotation from the famous writer, The NorEaster? 😀 Yes, the mind can be a terrible prison. I take comfort in knowing we can have our minds renewed and have been given the mind of Christ. It helps to get past all those neuroses I tend to have. 😯

    And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect. ~Romans 12:2

    For, “Who can know what the Lord is thinking? Who can give him counsel?” But we can understand these things, for we have the mind of Christ. ~1 Corinthians 2:16

  11. Yes, that would be another quote from the famous author known as “TheNorEaster.”

  12. This is really inspiring Michelle, I admire your spirit and your tenacity. It was so good to be reminded of the point you made at the end too, that it’s the things that are birthed by Him that are eternal, lasting and what He equips us for. Thanks for this, love you 🙂

  13. Michelle~ Love you, and can’t wait to catch up with you…been dying to talk to you…but I am sure we will soon get a chance. 😉

  14. I felt the ‘hug’, Dan, and it was wonderful!! Thank you. You’re a great friend, your crustiness!! 😉

    Tonight was too short, Darla. Maybe once you’re home and rested. I love you!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

