Bread of Heaven — Feed Me

Standard

When they found Him on the other side of the sea, they said to Him, “Rabbi, when did You get here?”

Jesus answered them and said, “Truly, truly, I say to you, you seek Me, not because you saw signs, but because you ate of the loaves and were filled.  Do not work for the food which perishes, but for the food which endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give to you, for on Him the Father, God, has set His seal.” 

Therefore they said to Him, “What shall we do, so that we may work the works of God?”

Jesus answered and said to them, “This is the work of God, that you believe in Him whom He has sent.”

So they said to Him, “What then do You do for a sign, so that we may see, and believe You? What work do You perform?  Our fathers ate the manna in the wilderness; as it is written, ‘HE GAVE THEM BREAD OUT OF HEAVEN TO EAT.’”

Jesus then said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, it is not Moses who has given you the bread out of heaven, but it is My Father who gives you the true bread out of heavenFor the bread of God is that which comes down out of heaven, and gives life to the world.”
 
Then they said to Him, “Lord, always give us this bread.”

Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; he who comes to Me will not hunger, and he who believes in Me will never thirst…For I have come down from heaven, not to do My own will, but the will of Him who sent Me…For this is the will of My Father, that everyone who beholds the Son and believes in Him will have eternal life, and I Myself will raise him up on the last day.”

Therefore the Jews were grumbling about Him, because He said, “I am the bread that came down out of heaven.”

“Truly, truly, I say to you, he who believes has eternal life.  I am the bread of life.  Your fathers ate the manna in the wilderness, and they died.  This is the bread which comes down out of heaven, so that one may eat of it and not die.  I am the living bread that came down out of heaven; if anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever; and the bread also which I will give for the life of the world is My flesh.”

“Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink His blood, you have no life in yourselves.  He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day…As the living Father sent Me, and I live because of the Father, so he who eats Me, he also will live because of Me.  This is the bread which came down out of heaven; not as the fathers ate and died; he who eats this bread will live forever.”

As a result of this many of His disciples withdrew and were not walking with Him anymore.

This is a Blogged Bible Study entry. Please visit Annie’s site for another entry today.

16 responses »

  1. Yes, I am Carl. Too many days of being under the weather. And really, when I thought about it, what more is there to say? The song is a favorite from my days of singing in Dad’s choirs. Have a good day, sir.

  2. Love the song too, I especially love Cece singing it! Bread of heaven, I am needed me some more of that right now! Love ya..catch up with you later..have a wonderful day!

  3. Mornin’ Darla! I did see CeCe’s version online, but I wanted one with a choir (for Dad) and lyrics (for Nor).

    “Bread of heaven, I am needed me some more of that right now!”

    I hear you! It reminds me of my old friend who struggles with many illnesses. We used to visit once a week when she was able to get out. She has 25+ years on me and has lived with her diabetes for over 50 years. She used to tell me all the time, “Michelle, He gives you just enough manna for the day. Don’t try to use too much of it, just pace yourself with what He’s provided.”

    I wonder if that analogy works here…?
    Much easier said than done.

  4. You saw the food too, huh? It’s all over this chapter. I feel bad for Jesus. No one understood. I might make a separate post out of that. Thanks for the song!

  5. Ya know I have been reading this all week…trying to prepare…coming here made a difference. It just didn’t hit me until your very last line…

    “As a result of this many of His disciples withdrew and were not walking with Him anymore.”

    ” he who eats this bread will live forever.”

    Thank you, love you and awesome song…once again, the Lord has spoken through you…

    🙂

  6. Great post Michelle…again, it got me thinking…would I have been one of those disciples who wavered in faith? Would I have followed Jesus to begin with? It would have been a tough call for any Jew at the time…that’s why I think gentiles were so much more receptive of the message in acts.

    Also got me thinking about the literal interpretation of “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink His blood, you have no life in yourselves. He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day…As the living Father sent Me, and I live because of the Father, so he who eats Me, he also will live because of Me. This is the bread which came down out of heaven; not as the fathers ate and died; he who eats this bread will live forever.”

    Most protestants assume Jesus was referring to either the hardships the apostles would face (all but one were martyred) or the analogy that Paul uses of dying with Christ (dying to one’s sinful nature) and being resurrected with Christ (purified–eternal salvation)> Then there is the Catholic interpretation that couples this with the last supper and assumes that here Jesus is foreshadowing the rite of the Eucharist and transubstantiation.

    Interesting stuff. Great post!

  7. I’m glad you liked it, Nate.

    The many ways we choose to interpret a passage often baffles me. I think careful and thoughtful exegesis can show us much about the meaning of the text. Maybe they didn’t understand it all at that point in time, as John says, “this is hard to understand.” But on this side of the Last Supper (Passover Meal), the instigation of the New Cov’t., and the faith which was written down and passed on to the saints (Jude 1:3, Titus 1:1-3); I think we can get a good picture of the meaning.

    To ingest Him (to internalize)…to abide with Him…to eat of our covenant meal, knowing His body was broken for our sins and His blood was shed for the forgiveness of sins…to have bread from heaven to sustain us daily…the fact that His flesh was rent in two from top to bottom (the Temple veil) for us to gain access to the Father through the Son…wow. The meanings are manifold.

    Very interesting, indeed!! 😉

  8. Hi Sis 🙂

    i love being challenged to better understand The Word!

    i have read all of the Gospels but have not ‘studied’ them in any structured way and i am not all that good at recalling exactly where things i have read are located so it took me a short time to figure out you were quoting from the Gospel of John (Ch 6) in your post 🙂

    Regarding your last comment and the ‘hard’ saying ‘eat my flesh, drink my blood’ to paraphrase… Jesus in Ch 6 goes on to add…(vs 63) “It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life. ”

    Clearly Jesus was not speaking in any literal sense that we should ‘consume’ (eat) his living flesh or drink his blood as this would be impossible for any of us born after He was raised up, and i am in agreement with you that this was not His intent.

    Again at the last Pesach (Passover – easter)) meal he was being less than literal describing bread and wine as his flesh and blood but he said to do that ‘in remembrance of me’. I would say he was being clear to the Apostles whom He did not consider had all loved Him as well as He wished that they should continue to perform an act so as to help keep Him ‘in mind’ in the Hope that they could eventually receive the blessing of the Holy Spirit when God determined and not when they thought themsleves ‘worthy’ ( vs 44 “No man can come to me, except the Father which hath sent me draw him ” This is repeated in vs 65).

    We are told to take our sustenance from Him – not bodily, in our fleshy nature, but spiritually, that we might live eternally ‘in Him’.
    We cannot do this without believing that Jesus was sent from Heaven by God Himself – for the Ultimate act of bodily sacrifice that death may rule over makind no longer after Him.

    He is to be the sustenance of our own Spirit and it is our Spirit – the embodyment of our complete and total faith which is to be established in Him that we may believe in Him always – not just when it is convenient to us as we live an earth-centred existance.

    ♥ ♥ ♥

    <B

  9. Oh and in regards to your comment #13…. I read Jude and Titus and i don’t see evidence showing faith as being written down anywhere… could you please help me out there Sis?

    love you!

    <B

  10. Good morning, Love!! It’s so great to see you out and about again. I was sorry to hear you have been ill and we didn’t even know to be able to pray for you. Well, I guess TammyJo knew…she seems to know everything!!! 😉 And I know she prayed for you…she’s like that!

    I did forget to give the reference to John 6, didn’t I? We’re doing a Bible Study where we take a chapter a week of the book of John and each of us post our thoughts, or study, or whatever we feel led to share concerning the chapter. Obviously, we’ve been doing it for 6 weeks now — hee-hee! You can find the rotation under “Blogged Bible Study” in my blogroll. Carl is the facilitator.

    You may find http://net.bible.org an interesting place to study the Word. It’s the New English Translation online. It has many “helps” to get into the meanings of the original languages and the most recent finds for a more accurate interpretation. I’ve loved the easy access and all the extra links.

    The references in Jude http://net.bible.org/bible.php?book=Jud&chapter=1#n12

    …and in Titus – Paul lets Titus know this is the faith which he is to pass on http://net.bible.org/bible.php?book=Tit&chapter=1

    …looking at 2 Peter will show much the same. These books being written toward the end of Paul and Peter’s life, their letters were already circulating among believers and early creeds were spoken (Phil 2:6-11 and Col 2:6-15)

    I hope these links help.

    Love you too!!

Leave a Reply

