Spiritual Bankruptcy

Standard

From The Applause of Heaven by Max Lucado:

God does not save us because of what we’ve done.

Only a puny god could be bought with tithes.

Only an egotistical god would be impressed with our pain.

Only a tempermental god could be satisfied by sacrifices.

Only a heartless god would sell salvation to the highest bidders.

And only a great God does for His children what they can’t do for themselves.

God’s delight is received upon surrender, not awarded upon conquest.  The first step to joy is a plea for help, an acknowledgment of moral destitution, an admission of inward paucity.  Those who taste God’s presence have declared spiritual bankruptcy and are aware of their spiritual crisis. . . .

Their pockets are empty.  Their options are gone.  They have long since stopped demanding justice.

They are pleading for mercy.

God blesses those who realize their need for him, for the Kingdom of Heaven is given to them. ~Matthew 5:3

Have you come to Him in utter poverty of spirit?

Bow down. Bow low. You have nothing good enough to give.

You are bankrupt…spiritually.

His mercy is for those who fear Him from generation to generation. ~Luke 1:50

“Meanwhile the tax man, slumped in the shadows, his face in his hands, not daring to look up, said, ‘God, give mercy. Forgive me, a sinner.'” ~Luke 18:13

14 responses »

  1. Spiritual bankruptcy is a very interesting term.

    I feel bankrupt all around right now. Broken.

    That is what He needs though right? A broken person that He can restore and put together.

    I am so thankful that He can put me back together again. I am so thankful that His criteria isn’t beyond our capabilities.

    Love you Sis.

  2. Yes, Gch, He desires a broken and contrite spirit. He will restore and bring back to life the deadness of our souls. He did do this for your two years ago and He will continue to bring you from glory to glory to glory….

    I’ve found healing for my brokenness in His Word. I bowed low to Him around twelve years of age. I started reading the scripture for myself then. And now, after years of living with Him I still say, He desires a broken and contrite spirit. I have been proud and I have been humbled, almost like a roller coaster at times. But He continues to work with me — I know He won’t finish until the job is done.

    We’re all a work in progress…as Tam would say. He does what each of us needs, to draw us closer and closer to Him.

    Love you, Gch!! 😉 You’re always in my prayers.

  3. I have nothing good enough to give. That is so true. It certainly goes against our flesh, which wants to impress and offer something.

  4. I thought I was bankrupt decades ago, when I first came to Him. Now I realize just how empty my accounts are. And to tell you the truth…that just plain sucks. I’m not kidding; it sucks.

    But how else would I know just how much I need Him?

    And isn’t that the point?

  5. It sure does, Heidi. I worked so long trying to do something good enough to offer Him, thinking He would be happier with me if I did. Totally off track from what He had prepared for me. Our works in the flesh will be burned up like wood, hay and stubble. I want something that will make it through the fire to hand back to Him on the day (1Cor. 3:9-15).

    We’re all bankrupt, Nor. None of us has anything worthy to give except for the works He has prepared beforehand that we should do, once we come alive in Him (Ephesians 2:4-10). If we try to do anything on our own to offer, it is a dead work, but through His Spirit we can do what He enables. Yeah, the total point, not my will but Thine, O Lord.

    Love Y’all!!!

  6. No longer looking for justice, but pleading for mercy…

    that is exactly what I was looking for to sum up how God has changed my heart..beautiful!!! when I am not asking for mercy, i need to remember the spiritual condition…nothing to give, only me recieving Grace, and needing a truck load of mercy every morning…good think HE gives that to me 😉

  7. Hello Sister…

    When we are on our way to the bottom, like going down a roller coaster hill we are out of breath cause it is moving so fast. It is not until the bottom that we force our head up to look at him and breath him in….

    Love ya sister.

  8. Hey, Carl!! I love the way you spoke of being totally out of breath and then finally at the bottom being able to breathe in the Spirit. Yeah…I think it’s like that.

    Have a great blessed Sunday. Love you too!

  9. Oh…Hey, Darla!! I don’t know why I didn’t see you there. I love that point too. Not demanding any rights just pleading for mercy. He is good to give it even when we don’t ask. Totally merciful…and new every morning.

    Love it and Love you! Blessings, Darla!!

  10. “They have long since stopped demanding justice.

    They are pleading for mercy.”

    This was so good. So true. In ourselves, we see every way we should be justified (pride) before God … we need His love and holiness to see the truth – all of His justice would overwhelm us. Our only hope is the mercy of the cross. But this He freely freely gives, without restraint. So encouraging. Thanks, Michelle.

  11. Hello Michelle!

    Wow, what a coincidence. Matthew 5:3 was read at the church today!

    We have nothing good enough to offer him…

    … yet he accepts us with all his mercy and love!

  12. You said it, Annie. We can be so prideful, demanding what we perceive to be as our rights. I’m so thankful for mercy and not justice. You said it beautifully, His justice would overwhelm us.

    Hey, Sherma! You’re back!! I need to change my link to you, I’m still getting your old address. It is the amazing truth of Him and needs to be declared over and over again.

    Love you girls — hope you have a blessed Lord’s day!

  13. I am missing you today…really…wish I didn’t have so much to do..I feel like protesting..its the sabbath..I am supposed to be resting and playing with Michelle! and possibly hijacking someone…you know so they know I love them… 😆

    Oh maybe later..if I would stop whining..I would be done already! 😆 just wanted you to know I am thinking and praying for you, and love YOU!!!

  14. Beautiful Darla, I’m sorry you have so much to do. 😦

    I just posted one of my favorite songs with some scripture references. Maybe it will encourage you!!!

    You always make my day so much sweeter. Thanks.

    ♥ U!

Leave a Reply

