God’s Keeping Power

Standard

I just completed a five week study on the book of Jude. It’s been a wonderful reminder of our Lord’s love for us and ability to call and keep us for Himself. We ended today with the last two verses:

Now to Him who is able to keep you from stumbling, and to make you stand in the presence of His glory blameless with great joy, to the only God our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion and authority, before all time and now and forever. Amen.   ~Jude 1:24-25

Then we looked at some other verses that show us the same thing:

Now may the God of peace Himself sanctify you entirely; and may your spirit and soul and body be preserved complete, without blame at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. Faithful is He who calls you, and He also will bring it to pass  ~1Thessalonians 5:23-24

He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we would be holy and blameless before Him.   ~Ephesians 1:4

that He might present to Himself the church in all her glory, having no spot or wrinkle or any such thing; but that she would be holy and blameless.   ~Ephesians 5:27

I thank my God always concerning you for the grace of God which was given you in Christ Jesus, that in everything you were enriched in Him, in all speech and all knowledge, even as the testimony concerning Christ was confirmed in you, so that you are not lacking in any gift, awaiting eagerly the revelation of our Lord Jesus Christ, who will also confirm you to the end, blameless in the day of our Lord Jesus Christ.   ~1Corinthians 1:4-8

God promises to present you blameless before Him.
He has a purpose in choosing you and He will bring it to pass.
He, the God of peace, Himself will sanctify you entirely — spirit, soul and body. 

There has never been the slightest doubt in my mind that the God who started this great work in you would keep at it and bring it to a flourishing finish on the very day Christ Jesus appears. ~Philippians 1:6 (The Message)

I believe He is coming soon.
May we cooperate with Him by walking in a manner worthy of His calling and choosing us.

35 responses »

  1. beautiful! I love these verses..such an encouragement and reminder that HE has it all undercontrol, and will bring us to what HE has already ordained for us…mmmmmm love that

    I believe HE is coming soon too! And when HE does come, I want to be about HIS service and not being idle or conducting myself in a manner that would make me want to hide..I want to run to HIM!

  2. AMEN! To stand without shame…and He promises He will bring us to that point.

    I read the tension in Scripture, “Work out your own salvation in fear and trembling for it is God who is at work in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure.”

    We have a responsibility and He will be sure it happens.

    I love you, Darla!!!

  3. I am thinking “Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us,Unto him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus throughout all ages, world without end. Amen.”

    The finality of it all strengthens me. God is final. He is the end after the beginning. The Omega after the Alpha.

    I know many people wonder about the coming and it can be a “scary” thought but personally, it excites me to know that it all began with Him and it will all end with Him.

    And yes He does make us “right” with Him. We’re not perfected until we reach Heaven but the process of becoming right is an amazing testimony to His redeeming power. Praise God.

    Love you Sis and yes it was worth it 😉

  4. He says:

    “Remember the former things long past,
    For I am God, and there is no other;
    I am God, and there is no one like Me,
    Declaring the end from the beginning,
    And from ancient times things which have not been done,
    Saying, ‘My purpose will be established,
    And I will accomplish all My good pleasure’
    Calling a bird of prey from the east,
    The man of My purpose from a far country.
    Truly I have spoken; truly I will bring it to pass.
    I have planned it, surely I will do it.”

    ~Isaiah 46:9-11

    I love this passage. I never understood God’s sovereignty growing up. As I began to see all that is in His hand, I could begin to rest in Him. He knows what He is doing — His plan is perfect — it will be done.

    Love you, Gch!!

  5. :There has never been the slightest doubt in my mind that the God who started this great work in you would keep at it and bring it to a flourishing finish on the very day Christ Jesus appears. ~Philippians 1:6 (The Message)”

    this is what gives me hope…especially when i have “human/fleshly/imperfect” moments. wait, thats all the time. but for His grace!

  6. I KNOW IT!!!

    I KNOW IT!!!

    😆 😀 🙂 😉

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

    Was feeling a bit low…now my head’s swelling! 😳

    I LOVE YOU TOO, DARLA!!!

    You’re very special to me and I appreciate our friendship, dearly.

    😆

  7. Wow.

    I may just keep coming back to this all day…

    Thanks!

    Do you know how beautiful you are? When I think of all you’ve been through and how He has redeemed you for His own, it’s amazing. I know it’s what He does for all of us, but you bear witness to His work continually. It’s inspiring.

    Your words uplift and help me to reach beyond my current situation. You are an encourager, coming alongside and helping to carry the burden. Thank you, Darla.

  8. Hehe:) Nice one darla, beautiful!

    I love that God promises to present us BLAMELESS before Him. And also that He will bring my purpose to pass. What great promises!!

  9. thanks ripplegirl!! 🙂

    Michelle- are you still smiling?? just checking..maybe you need some more ofwhat I just gave you? maybe later?? 😆

  10. This was fantastic. I’m glad you strung all these verses together! I didn’t know how many of them there were! Such a comforting thought, huh? There’s always a safety net. It’s not ALL up to us. “Cease striving, and know that I am God.” So good to know. Such a great balance to “Run with endurance the race set before you” and “Be perfect as I am perfect.” God has the beginning and the end all taken care of. Alpha and Omega. sigh. Rest.

  11. I’m still smiling, Darla! I actually made it outside and cleaned up a bit around the pool — whew! Now I’m all sweaty and sunburned, but I’m smilin’!!! 😀

    Oh, Annie, thank you. When I write posts like this I think, “This isn’t what people want to read. It’s not gonna ‘strike a chord’ with them.” Then I realize…it should. It’s truth! We need the truth.

    Cease striving and rest…Amen! I needed that word, thanks!

Leave a Reply

