God’s Choice

Standard

A Blogged Bible Study entry.

“Do you wish to get well?”

Yes.  Completely.  I do wish it.  I do want it.  I have sought it.  I’ve confessed all my sin.  I’ve begged for healing.  But,….

Why did Jesus heal this man – the one in the fifth chapter of John?  He wasn’t seeking after Jesus.  He hadn’t expressed any words of faith.  He was sitting by the pool of Bethesda, the house of mercy, waiting for an angel to stir up the waters.  The first to enter the waters would be healed.  He had been infirmed for thirty-eight years.  But he couldn’t get to the waters fast enough; someone always beat him there.  So he sits.  He waits.  He hopes.

Jesus passes by all the other sick people and comes to this man.

Nothing is asked of him other than, “Do you wish to get well?”  The man doesn’t even answer the question he only explains why he can’t get to the water.  Jesus asks nothing of him.  “Do you believe?”  “Have you confessed your sins?”  “Do you have faith in Me to heal you?”  No conditions are required of this man, Jesus just says, “Get up, pick up your pallet and walk.”

The man does, without question.  He walks away.  No thank you.  No recognition of Jesus having done anything for him.  He did not even know who Jesus was.  His regard for Jesus is further revealed in his attempt to blame Jesus for telling him to break a Sabbath rule.

Why did Jesus heal this man?  Why this man and no other sitting around the pool?

To reveal His glory.  To show His authority over all.  To declare He is doing the work of His Father.  Whatever His Father tells Him to do, He does.

All healing is wrapped up in the will of God.  His sovereign will.  His choice. 

My healing is based upon His choosing.  He has healed me spirituallly.  I am His.  He is mine. 

At a time of His choosing, I will be healed physically.  If that’s not until the resurrection of the dead, I’m OK with that.  It’s His plan.  I’m just here to bring glory to His name.

When I am weak, then He is strong.  His strength is perfected in my weakness.

*************************************************************************


For further study I found this extensive definition of the word “life” — eternal life — in Vine’s Expository Dictionary. It blessed me, so I’ve copied it and separated it for easier reading. The references are great to have alongside the points made.

Truly, truly, I say to you, he who hears My word, and believes Him who sent Me, has eternal life, and does not come into judgment, but has passed out of death into life   ~John 5:25

Life, Living, Lifetime, Life-giving


zoe (noun)

is used in the NT “of life as a principle, life in the absolute sense, life as God has it, that which the Father has in Himself, and which He gave to the Incarnate Son to have in Himself, John 5:26, and which the Son manifested in the world, 1John 1:2.

From this life man has become alienated in consequence of the Fall, Eph. 4:18,

and of this life men become partakers through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ, Joh. 3:15,

who becomes its Author to all such as trust in Him, Ac. 3:15,

and who is therefore said to be ‘the life’ of the believer, Col. 3:4,

for the life that He gives He maintains, Joh. 6:35,63.

Eternal life is the present actual possession of the believer because of his relationship with Christ, John 5:24; 1John 3:14,

and that it will one day extend its domain to the sphere of the body is assured by the Resurrection of Christ, 2Corin. 5:4; 2Tim. 1:10.

This life is not merely a principle of power and mobility, however, for it has moral associations which are inseparable from it, as of holiness and righteousness. Death and sin, life and holiness, are frequently contrasted in the Scriptures.

“Zoe is also used of that which is the common possession of all animals and men by nature, Acts 17:25; 1John 5:16, and of the present sojourn of man upon the earth with reference to its duration, Luke 16:25; 1Corin. 15:19; 1Tim. 4:8; 1Peter 3:10.

‘This life’ is a term equivalent to ‘the gospel,’ ‘the faith,’ ‘Christianity,’ Acts 5:20.”* [* From Notes on Galatians, by Hogg and Vine. pp. 324,325.]

Death came through sin, Rom. 5:12, which is rebellion against God.

Sin thus involved the forfeiting of the “life.”

“The life of the flesh is in the blood,” Levit. 17:11.

Therefore the impartation of “life” to the sinner must be by a death caused by the shedding of that element which is the life of the flesh.

“It is the blood that maketh atonement by reason of the life” (id., RV).

The separation from God caused by the forfeiting of the “life” could be removed only by a sacrifice in which the victim and the offerer became identified.

This which was appointed in the typical offerings in Israel received its full accomplishment in the voluntary sacrifice of Christ.

The shedding of the blood in the language of Scripture involves the taking or the giving of the “life.”

Since Christ had no sins of his own to die for, His death was voluntary and vicarious, John 10:15 with Isaiah 53:5,10,12; 2Corin. 5:21.

In His sacrifice He endured the Divine judgment due to man’s sin.

By this means the believer becomes identified with Him in His deathless “life,” through His resurrection, and enjoys conscious and eternal fellowship with God.

23 responses »

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Lord. I pray that God will be merciful upon you and grant you relief soon.

  2. You nailed it, I think. His will, His choice, for His glory. The first reason for any of Jesus’ miracles was to point to Himself as the Messiah sent by God.

    I hear your heartcry that God would ‘do’ that which would bring Him the most glory. For a season, this seems to be in your faithfullness in infirmity. This is not a cliche, I can pray for your total recovery in the here and now, and I can only pray that if I ever suffer in like manner, I will remain as faithful!

  3. First let me say.

    I love you sister… I have read this story countless times. I never looked at it from the side of the man sitting there trying to get to the pool.

    God will and does heal in his time and only his time.

    So wonderful the mix of people we have in this study. Truly God at work to bring us together to learn and love…

    Praise Him

  4. Thank you, Nance. I will trust in Him.

    Hey, Dan! Thank you for all your prayers and encouragement. I appreciate all you share through your studies and links for me to learn more. For His glory…that’s the whole point. Amen.

    Good morning, Carl. I read and read this chapter and could not get past the “why” of healing this man. He didn’t ask, he wasn’t even grateful…why?

    I have to fall down in submission to His sovereign will. He knows what’s best for me to stay close to Him.

  5. I think that Jesus did nothing impulsively…I think HE was showing HIS power, and the fact that HIS soveriegnty can use anyone to show HIS glory, even one that was not asking, or necessarily grateful. I know in the Old testament there are cases where HE used people who were not believers in HIM to further HIS plan.

    Maybe that is what I am seeing…more of HIS plan will prevail, regardless of who or where or what.

    I needed to hear the whole thing with healing today…I believe with my whole heart that HE can and will heal me when it is HIS timing, but I am also a realist with the fact that HIS plan will prevail…and all Glory will be HIS, even if I carry my illness the rest of my earthly life…I won’t in heaven.

    HE always delivers us…either from it completely, or through it to the other side of it, or straight into HIS arms…but HE always delivers us. 🙂

  6. My soul is leaning toward you with outstretched hands. Jesus asked if the man wanted to be well. The unspoken statement is that Jesus did want the man well. He did. He does. Always. Even you. I love you.

  7. “I believe with my whole heart that HE can and will heal me when it is HIS timing, but I am also a realist with the fact that HIS plan will prevail…and all Glory will be HIS, even if I carry my illness the rest of my earthly life…I won’t in heaven.”

    Amen, Darla!!

    It is in His hands, Annie. Whenever He desires to do so, He will.

  8. Truly, truly I sayth unto thee, “My grace is sufficient for thee; for My Power is MADE PERFECT IN WEAKNESS.”

    And you, Michelle, just totally changed my mind about what I am going to write about on Wednesday when my turn comes. I have, in reading your post and the comments, come to understand that there is a tremendous need for…shall we say…a certain point of view.

    And I haven’t been THIS excited to write something in a LONG TIME. 😀

  9. Nor- 😆 I can’t wait either!

    Michelle- you are the sweetest!! I love you, and I love my picasso head…I am guarding this one so I don’t lose it…now email me on how to make it my avatar…what a nice surprise to wake up to..I knew you made me one a long time ago, and thought “well I lost it..I blew it”…and you give me a do-over…I LOVE YOU!

  10. Good Morning, Michelle!

    Hi, Darla!

    Just putting up MY Picasso Head avatar!

    😆

  11. NOR- 😆 “just putting up MY Picasso Head avatar” hahahahaa now I am more determined to figure it out…you knew that though, didn’t you?

  12. Nor: YOu’re such a tease!! 😆

    Michelle: beautifullll!!! I was asking those same questions while reading this chapter…There is so much to His healing…

    I’m believing He is one day going to ask you to pick up your mat and walk, and you will…only you will give HIm all the glory.

    What a testimony that will be….love you! Very well written…as always 😉

  13. Hey, you guys!! Y’all are early risers!

    So glad you like the Picassohead, Darla. I can’t help you with making it into an avatar — no idea how they did that. I’m so glad you like yours. 😉

    Nor, please put yourself in my comment thread as often as you like! 😀

    Hey, Debs! Thank you. I want that testimony! As soon as He’s willing. I do know now, He sees all and knows why I’m in this place today. I will trust in Him. Love you!! Comin’ over to read your entry. 😉

  14. michelle – thank you!!! perfectly said…you wrote my heart on this subject!

    i am excited to run with you in heaven in perfect bodies! if not yet first here on earth 😉

  15. “Nor, please put yourself in my comment thread as often as you like!”

    It’s so nice to feel so welcome! 😆

  16. Hey, Tam! I had a feeling this might just be your thinking too. It will be wonderful to run in heaven with you — but you must know, I’m quite competitive and will win any race we attempt! 😉

    Always welcome, Nor. 😆

    Oh Annie, you are so much prettier than a yellow alien!!! Yay, a beautiful face to go with your beautiful thoughts!! 😀

  17. Once again Sis, you have blessed me more than I can express through words in a comment.

    What you shared is parallel to God choosing who He shows mercy to. That has been a comfort to me following Daddy’s death and not knowing whether or not he knew God at the time. God reminds me every day that He chooses us even though a lot of times we think we’re choosing Him.

    He chooses to bless. He chooses to heal. He chooses to save. He chooses to comfort. He chooses to provide.

    And I am thankful that He chooses. I don’t think we have enough grace, wisdom or understanding to choose any of those things.

    Praise God. I am so thankful for a relationship with Him. And I am so thankful for being your sister. Love you 🙂

  18. Amen, Gch. It is all about Him. Whether we struggle or not, it’s all about giving Him glory.

    Sometimes I wonder what kind of an egotistical twit I would be if I had not been given this infirmity. Only He knows the full purpose, but I do know enough about myself — I can be WAY overbearing if given the chance. If nothing else, this illness is definitely humbling.

    I’m so thankful to be in this relationship, this body, with you. You are a beautiful testimony to Him. Love you! 😉

    Glad I could make you laugh, Annie!! 😀
    I’ve tried three times now to comment on your post and something is not letting me…I’ll keep trying.

Leave a Reply

