We’re All Wounded

Standard

Some of us hide our wounds better than others, but none of us are spared from being wounded.  It’s the nature of this world.  It’s not something any of us can escape.  Even the people who seem to live the “high life,” not a care in the world, are still hurting.  Self-indulgence is a wounded heart trying to fill up a vast emptiness.

Maybe harsh words were spoken or unrelenting criticism was given.  It could have been the betrayel of a friend or worse, a spouse.  Possibly a beating from an unrestrained parent in a moment of rage.  Wounding can take many forms.

God promises not to crush a bruised reed or snuff out a smoldering wick.   I have bullrushes growing in my pond out back.  Reeds standing tall on the water’s edge can bend easily.  With just the slightest pressure a bruising can occur, a bit more and the reed is bowed to a point of brokenness. 

Do you feel broken?  Have you been bruised?  God promises not to crush you.  He pleads for you to come to Him and find healing for your wounds.

And large crowds came to Him, bringing with them those who were lame, crippled, blind, mute, and many others, and they laid them down at His feet; and He healed them~Matthew 15:30

Here is my servant whom I have chosen, the one I love, in whom I delight; I will put my Spirit on Him, and He will proclaim justice to the nations.  He will not quarrel or cry out; no-one will hear His voice in the streets.  A bruised reed He will not break, and a smouldering wick He will not snuff out, till He leads justice to victory.  In His name the nations will put their hope.”  ~Matthew 12:21

He was wounded because of our rebellious deeds, crushed because of our sins; He endured punishment that made us well; because of His wounds we have been healed.  ~Isaiah 53:5

He heals the brokenhearted, and bandages their wounds.  ~Psalm 147:3

He personally carried away our sins in His own body on the cross so we can be dead to sin and live for what is right. You have been healed by His wounds!  ~2 Peter 2:24

26 responses »

  1. i had felt broken for so much of my life. the memories, the reminders, the pictures in my mind of all the abuse, wrong doings and personal choices. i remember brent asking me one day…”tam, what do you think all those people who hurt you are doing now?” of course i didnt know. he said, “do you really think theyre thinking about you or giving you a second thought right now?” a little perplexed, i got frustrated with him, but he explained. his point was this…i spent so much of my time giving others power over my mind when they had most certainly forgotten or never even cared. but in my life, the abuse was still happening in my thoughts and they still had power over me. i was the only one carrying it… to the point of pain and self destruction. i hadnt seen it that way until brent pointed it out. so…all this to say…the wounds were healed when i gave my thoughts over to Him. i took time with God to gather up all the haunting memories and i laid them down. it wasnt an instant success. it took a lot of time. i just had to get ‘me’ out of the way. jesus was a perfect example of that!

    hope i didnt go off topic here.

    always such thought provoking posts michelle.
    thank you so much!

  2. Michelle…

    The wounds can run deep and often like some of min be self inflicted. The wounds of my sin can cause much pain, and all from my selfish pride The great physician can heal the deepest of wounds.

  3. You’re very welcome, Tracy. I did too. Love you, girl!

    Amen, Tam. Not off topic at all. 😉

    Yes, He can, Carl. If we will only turn to Him for the help, He does give it. Thanks. 🙂

    I wrote this because sometimes I think people don’t realize they’re wounded. All of us are, and in our pain we can hurt others so easily. I think I’m seeing that some wounding takes a lifetime to heal, but He does heal. At times it’s instantaneous, those people are doubly blessed. Other times it’s a slow process. We’re all so different and He works with us in all our diversity.

    Love you guys!

  4. I put some ‘kid’ pictures on my blog today just for you. Not the airshow, but we did make it to the fair. Love you too!!!!

  5. Whatever our wounds may be, past, present or future, they pale in comparison to our Savior being crushed under the weight of His Father’s wrath, in our stead.

  6. Thanks for this insightful post.
    It is true we can’t escape woundedness, but I think it is actually necessary for us to even begin to ‘know Christ in His sufferings” (Phil. 3:10). There is nothing we endure (body, soul, or spirit) that He has not experienced far beyond anything we ever will.

    Yet, He is the ultimate ‘wounded healer’ and calls us to follow Him to become that as well.
    There was a Henri Nouwen devotional I read last month that addressed that concept:
    “Nobody escapes being wounded. We all are wounded people, whether physically, emotionally, mentally, or spiritually. The main question is not ‘How can we hide our wounds?’ so we don’t have to be embarrassed, but ‘How can we put our woundedness in the service of others?’ When our wounds cease to be a source of shame, and become a source of healing, we have become wounded healers.

    Jesus is God’s wounded healer: through His wounds we are healed. Jesus’ suffering and death brought joy and life. His humiliation brought glory; His rejection brought a community of love. As followers of Jesus we can also allow our wounds to bring healing to others.”

    It’s really the only way to personal healing as well, I believe.

    D-

  7. What came to mind in your opening statements: “Even in laughter, the heart may be in pain.” The wisdom of Proverbs.

    God is so gentle with us. So very gentle. More gentle than anyone else will ever be, and definitely more than we are with ourselves. He’s fully committed to our healing and is not content with us just ‘looking’ okay. And He’s patient enough to wait until He can reach with infinite care to the hidden points of pain, and bring wholeness to our lives. He is so good.

  8. I have scars.

    My wounds have healed. I know I will be wounded again in the future, but I am positive they will also heal. I pray.

    You know, Michelle, I’ve always thought that I’ve experienced too much pain in this life, the main cause of which had been poverty. I always believed I could have done much more had my family’s financial situation had been better.

    But since I started blogging, my eyes were opened much wider. I realized my pain were nothing compared to what others have endured. Oh, I know that a lot of other people had had deeper pain than mine… but it was through the blogging community where people had been so open and honest that I learned how much pain there is in this world… and how much I’ve been spared.

    I cry when I read other people’s pain. My heart goes out to them. And at the same time, I feel ashamed for thinking I had endured so much when I haven’t experienced a fraction of what our friends had experienced.

  9. Amen, Dan.

    Hey, Laz! I’ve never read Henri Nouwen but I keep hearing his name. Looks like I might need to look him up — thanks.

    Hello, Annie. Glad to see you. Yes, even in laughter we can still be in pain…I am so thankful for His gentleness with me. 😉

    Hey, Brian. You’re welcome. I don’t think we’ve ever met. I checked out your blog and will be back for more reading after church. Thanks for commenting.

    Good morning, Sherma. You know, I understand what you’re saying. At times I am struck by the pain which is prevalent in so many lives and wonder why I struggle. But, I do. We’ve all been allowed to experience different forms of pain which He has determined to heal. Whatever form it takes, He is bigger than our pain and more loving than any “answer” we may find on earth.

    I am so thankful for His wounding and His healing:

    “See now that I, indeed I, am He!” says the Lord, “and there is no other god besides me. I kill and give life, I wound and I heal, and none can resist my power.” ~Deut. 32:39

  10. “Do you feel broken? Have you been bruised?”

    Yes on both counts. And more so than I had realized.

    “God promises not to crush you. He pleads for you to come to Him and find healing for your wounds.”

    That’s…a little difficult to see when my eyes are blind with the bruises and the brokenness.

  11. Yes, Nor, it is hard to see when we’re broken. I’m not sure what to say to that except, He sees your brokenness. He knows how and when it happened. He doesn’t delight in the tragedies you have faced. He does know how those tragedies will bring about good in your life — He promises that for all who are called according to His purpose.

    I hope you can walk in that truth. He loves you more than anyone on this earth ever will, and that’s saying a LOT, cause I happen to love you a LOT!! Stand strong, brother.

  12. Michelle~ love this post..wounding and healing whether we are in either end of the process, I think we all know what that is, thank you for writing this. It is good for my heart to take in…and to think that by HIS wounds we are healed. Amazing love

    Nor- love your picasso head!!!

  13. Hey, Darla! Amazing love! He knows what is best for each of us. Wounding and healing are all in His hands. Love you!!! 🙂

  14. “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” – James 1:2-4.

  15. Sometimes it is hard to grasp it. When we need it the most, when the pain seems to be so strong.
    I know in my heart that He will heal the wounds. It is hard when they get reopened, or maybe it is just that this one is new and fresh. I think I’ve let the Lord heal me and then wham, something happens to that the pain becomes fresh again.
    I’ve got to keep going to the well. Springs of living water that will never run dry…His promise to us.
    Thank you Lord, You are bigger than any wound I may ever have, and You are more than enough.

  16. Yes it is, HisLife, very hard to grasp at times. The pain feels like a crushing, but He promises that’s not what He’s doing. His ways are not our ways. He does allow us to share in His sufferings (Phil. 3:8-11) to become conformed to His image.

    Hold tight to Him. He is greater than our pain. I’m praying for you now.

  17. Oh Michelle, thank you so much! I felt the Lord’s presence so many times and in so many different ways yesterday when I really needed it.
    He is the Lifter of my head.
    You bless my heart.

  18. Thank you, Ocean. I think everyone can identify…but you know, some people don’t want to admit their vulnerabilities. It can only lead to more pain in the end. I’ve found the more willing I am to give up my weaknesses, lay them bare, how He strengthens me.

    It’s good to see you here again, I think I’m beginning to love you!!!

    Now don’t let that scare you…I’m kind of mushy these days! 😉

Leave a Reply

