Twenty-five Years of Wedded Bliss?

Standard

“How do you stay married in this day?  Everyone says it’s hard.  Isn’t it hard?” the waiter asked.

We looked at eachother.  No…it’s not hard to be married.  It’s been good.

We grew up together.

We’re comfortable.

We’ve wondered over the years why we have the relationship we do…

Honestly…we both want the same thing.

Sure, there have been struggles, terrible struggles…life is hard.

We’ve experienced the lowest of lows, but the love is steadfast.

We want the same thing.

We want to live for God.

In living for God, we serve one another.

It works.

Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ.  Wives, be subject to your own husbands, as to the Lord.  For the husband is the head of the wife, as Christ also is the head of the church, He Himself being the Savior of the body.  But as the church is subject to Christ, so also the wives ought to be to their husbands in everything.  Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself up for her, so that He might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, that He might present to Himself the church in all her glory, having no spot or wrinkle or any such thing; but that she would be holy and blameless.  So husbands ought also to love their own wives as their own bodies. He who loves his own wife loves himself; for no one ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and cherishes it, just as Christ also does the church, because we are members of His body.  FOR THIS REASON A MAN SHALL LEAVE HIS FATHER AND MOTHER AND SHALL BE JOINED TO HIS WIFE, AND THE TWO SHALL BECOME ONE FLESH.  This mystery is great; but I am speaking with reference to Christ and the church.  Nevertheless, each individual among you also is to love his own wife even as himself, and the wife must see to it that she respects her husband.  ~Ephesians 5:21-33

25 responses »

  1. And when it comes down to it, that’s why I’m not married yet–I want to find a woman who is in the same place I am, who wants the same thing I do…

    …to live for God.

    Congratulations on 25 years!!! 😀

  2. CONGRATULATIONS! you are a rarity in this day. 25 years of marriage is almost unheard of! thanks for protecting the sanctity of such a gift!

  3. Michelle,
    Praise God for blessing your marriage.
    Such a solid foundation shows how fit and loving you are to reach out to us in your bloghood and make your comments ring yet more sincere.
    May God continue to bless you, your husband and offspring and may your children rise up and call you blessed.
    -Sam

  4. Congratulations to you and your husband, MIchelle. I am so happy for you. I am glad you’ve been blessed with that kind of gift. Do treasure it, dear.

    Take care and God bless you and your family.

  5. SImple truths spoken here….powerful words. Thank you. Congratulations of the 25 years…a lifetime.

    I pray that you continue to grow in and through eachother for another wonderful 25+…

    Love you!

  6. Thank you ALL!!!

    What wonderful well wishes. Y’all are great!

    Nor: Keep waiting. God has it figured out.

    Tam: A rarity…isn’t that sad?! Thanks.

    Sam: What a beautiful thing to say. I’m still praying for you and yours.

    Sherma: Some day you’ll be able to say the same, I’m sure!

    Dan: Yes, sir. We can’t all be as old as you! 😉 Congratulations to you as well — are y’all in the 30’s now?

    Debs: We determined we could make it to 75…we’ll be 96 but our grandparents lived that long…so…?

    Heidi: Thank you. I feel sure yours is too. 🙂

    Love y’all!

  7. Thanks, Ripple Girl. It can be done. 😉

    WHOA, Dan! Praise the Lord! 😀

    Yes, Ric, completely not of this world! Thanks. 😆

    Hey, Princess! Look forward to talking, Love you! 🙂

  8. CONGRATULATIONS Michelle and Phat, that’s beautiful! What an example of God’s grace, and love that endures 1 Cor. 13:7.

    Thank you for the passage from Ephesians 5 too, God’s Word is sure to build our lives on. I was speaking to a pastor and also his sister today about this passage, and what it has meant in her life and marriage.

    Bless you 🙂

  9. 25 years – this is a big one – silver anniversary I think. Congrats on having a solid marriage for 25 years – just goes to show – love is real!

  10. Thank you, Birgit. If we had not been grounded in the scripture, I’m not sure what kind of a turn our lives would have taken. I am so thankful for a sure word to stand upon. God bless you. 😉

    Hey, Society!! Thanks! Yes, it’s the silver…we’re old. Love is very real! Miss seeing you around here, thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  11. Yeah! Congratulations! 25 years is awesome. I love celebrating anniversaries, because I think marriage is one of the greatest things God gave us. It speaks to us, challenges us, grows us, teaches us … probably more than any other thing (perhaps only rivaled by having children … but even then, the success of raising children is dependant on the sucess of the marriage). I’m so happy for you.

    Thanks for stopping by and missing me. 🙂 I’ve not dropped off the face of the earth. I’m trying to knit a scarf (and hat if I have enough time) for my friend for her birthday … and I’m running out of time. So I’m trying to avoid the computer so I can focus on it. I can’t really knit and type at the same time. Unfortunately. 🙂 Love you!

  12. No, Annie, you can’t knit and type at the same time which is why my guy’s blanket is not done (well, it’s actually crochet). Glad to know you’re well.

    I love marriage. It’s been a blessing in my life. A friend reminded me the other day that our husbands are gifts to us. Phat said, “a gag gift?” Maybe some are, but not mine.

    Thanks. ♥ U2

  13. Congratulations on your 25th anniversary – a grand feat indeed. My husband and I celebrate our 25th on August 20th. There were certainly times that we didn’t think we would make it, but we persevered and God brought us through. He has held my hand daily and helped us through many huge trials. I’m sure you have experienced some of the same – just living in this world is a trial!

    Here’s to 25+ more!
    God’s blessings to you,
    Kathy

  14. Thank you, Kathy. “Just living in this world is a trial!” AMEN!! Sometimes we think it will be easier if we just change partners, or have no partner…. I suppose in the case of abuse the grass would be greener; but for most reasons given, I don’t believe that’s the case. It’s hard. Life is hard, but God is good.

    Congratulations to you!!!

Leave a Reply

