Afraid of the Dark?

Standard

A Blogged Bible Study entry:

Are you afraid of the dark?  Really.  Seriously.  Are you?

I was.  For years.  I know it’s common in childhood, but my fear became irrational.  I carried this fear into college and even became plagued with dreams of what might lurk in the darkness.  It paralyzed me.

Of course, I’m not blameless in holding on to this fear for so long.  I fed it.  I nourished it.  I dwelt upon the darkness.

How, you ask?

Through the diet I consumed.  The thrill of scary movies, the intense fright of ghost stories, the seeming innocence of childhood séances…nothing innocent at all.

We laugh today at the warnings against these things, as though we’ve intellectually ascended to a point of not being affected.  It’s a lie.  We are affected by everything we feed upon.  And the darkness hates the light.  The darkness will do all it can to keep us from the light.  It’s the battle we face, whether or not we choose to acknowledge it.

But . . . Jesus acknowledged it.  He not only saw it and understood completely the significance of the warfare, He stepped into the darkness and shed His brilliant light.

In Him was life, and the life was the Light of men. The Light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it.  There came a man sent from God, whose name was John. He came as a witness, to testify about the Light, so that all might believe through him. He was not the Light, but he came to testify about the Light. There was the true Light which, coming into the world, enlightens every man.  ~John 1:4-9

 

A definition from Vine’s:
“Primarily light is a luminous emanation, probably of force, from certain bodies, which enables the eye to discern form and color.  Light requires an organ adapted for its reception:  The eye is the lamp of the body; so then if your eye is clear, your whole body will be full of light.  But if your eye is bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light that is in you is darkness, how great is the darkness!  ~Matt. 6:22-23
Where the eye is absent, or where it has become impaired from any cause, light is useless.
“Man, naturally, is incapable of receiving spiritual light inasmuch as he lacks the capacity for spiritual things:  But a natural man does not accept the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually appraised.  ~1 Cor. 2:1

I must say I had an impaired eye for a long time.  I peeked at the darkness, I peered into the darkness, I actively gazed upon the darkness and then wondered why I was so afraid.

One Sunday morning a teacher spoke about engaging the darkness, feeding this part of ourselves.  She specifically mentioned horoscopes, palm reading, séances, books and movies that can penetrate the mind.  I realized I had become obsessed with the darkness and fear was overtaking my life.  I needed to be delivered from the grasp the darkness had so I could speak clearly and effectively about my faith in Christ.  So I would not be afraid anymore.

I confessed my sin.  I asked forgiveness.  I was cleansed from all unrighteousness.  I was delivered from the darkness.

Before then, I was not capable of living victoriously, of living in the power, love and sound mind of His Spirit. (2 Tim. 1:7)  I was weak in my faith.  Afterwards, my eye was repaired and I began gazing into, actively pursuing,  the Light.

This is the message we have heard from Him and announce to you, that God is Light, and in Him there is no darkness at allIf we say that we have fellowship with Him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth; but if we walk in the Light as He Himself is in the Light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from all sin.  If we say we have no sin, we are only fooling ourselves and refusing to accept the truth.  If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 
~1 John 1:5-9

Are you living in the Light, the victorious life you can have through Jesus?

******************************************************************************

If you are interested in reading further, here is more I found in my word study on Light.  It’s not exhaustive but it is enlightening (hehe).

“Apart from natural phenomena, light is used in Scripture of

(a) the glory of God’s dwelling-place: He who is the blessed and only Sovereign, the King of kings and Lord of lords, who alone possesses immortality and dwells in unapproachable light, whom no man has seen or can see. To Him be honor and eternal dominion! Amen.   ~1Tim. 6:16

(b) the nature of God: This is the message we have heard from Him and announce to you, that God is Light, and in Him there is no darkness at all.  ~1John 1:5

(c) the impartiality of God:  Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow.  ~James 1:17

(d) the favor of God:  Many are saying, “Who will show us any good?” Lift up the light of Your countenance upon us, O LORD!  ~Psalms 4:6

(e) God, as the illuminator of His people:  No longer will you have the sun for light by day, Nor for brightness will the moon give you light; But you will have the LORD for an everlasting light, And your God for your glory.  Your sun will no longer set, Nor will your moon wane; For you will have the LORD for an everlasting light, And the days of your mourning will be over ~Isa. 60:19,20

(f) the Lord Jesus as the illuminator of men:  In Him was life, and the life was the Light of men.  The Light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it….There was the true Light which, coming into the world, enlightens every man~John 1:4-5,9

(g) the illuminating power of the Scriptures:  Your word is a lamp to my feet And a light to my path.  ~Psalms 119:105

(h) the guidance of God:  When His lamp shone over my head, And by His light I walked through darkness  ~Job. 29:3

(i) salvation:  But you are A CHOSEN RACE, A royal PRIESTHOOD, A HOLY NATION, A PEOPLE FOR God’s OWN POSSESSION, so that you may proclaim the excellencies of Him who has called you out of darkness into His marvelous light.  ~1Peter 2:9

(j) righteousness:  The night is almost gone, and the day is near. Therefore let us lay aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light ~Rom. 13:12

36 responses »

  1. I love that Jesus is the LIght..that HE called me out of darkness into HIS light. I grew up in darkness, emotionally,mentally speaking..my dad was a drunk, and fear was something I had thought I was born with…then my step dad came along…and today he is one of my best friends, but then church was dark too and that is where he took us…

    I do get excited about being in the light, and I do read those verses and want to dance…

    I love the book of John..there are so many places in it that Jesus describes himself..can’t wait to get to all of them.

    You did a real good job Michelle…on this, I will come back after work and see whats happening..Love you, in my thoughts and prayers

  2. WOW.. Michelle… WOW… Dance in His Glory. I wonder if we will get tired of Dancing in the Light of his presence when we see him in Heaven? ……………….NAH, don’t think so.

    This is too cool.

    I use God’s word every morning to light my day. If I miss a morning my my day feels a bit darker, and I find my self my the middle of the day hungering for the word.

  3. “Are you living in The Light…?”

    There are times I only see The Light when I am in the darkness…

    …but that’s what gets me through the night.

  4. Each time I catch a glimpse of His light I feel His presence and get goosebumps, teary-eyed, and a lump in my throat. I just want to fall down and worship HIm.

    So, in Heaven I figure I’ll be a mess pretty much all the time.

  5. Good morning, Darla. Isn’t it frightening how dark the darkness can be outside of the Light? I can’t believe how long I lived in fear. I had Him within, I was saved, but I did not pursue His light. I did not choose to walk in the full illumination of His light. After I confessed my sin and began looking to His Word for answers, many things becames clear.

    Yes, Carl, I’m dancing in my heart. Someday my feet will be able to do the same!! Heaven will be amazing. Without the constant renewal of His word, the darkness surrounding us can become oppressive. I need the daily reminder of His glory.

    Hey, Nor!! I love seeing your rainbow in the recent comments list, it brings the light right into my mind. All the variations of His light can be seen in the refraction and reflection of a rainbow. It reminds me of the fruits of the Spirit and possibly even the “seven spirits of God” (Revelation and Annie wrote a post about that). Keep seeking the rainbows, Nor.

    Hello, Ric!
    Will I stand in Your presence or to my knees will I fall…?
    Will I sing “Hallelujah!” will I be able to speak at all…?
    I can only imagine… (Mercy Me)

    Yeah, I’m gonna be on my face, I’m fairly sure. Hopefully He’ll pull me together and enable me to dance at some point.

  6. Wow! Wonderful post. Thanks so much for getting personal with this. It is wonderful to see how Christ has impacted the lives of others. Praise God for your testimony and thanks for sharing!

  7. Well, Michelle, in that case, I’m going to comment again so you can see my rainbow again…

    …and, plus, I get to kick Tam off of the “Recent Comments” list. Heh heh heh! 👿

  8. This prophecy came to me in the evening of 23rd July 2008.
    The Lord said,
    “This battle angel is a good illustration of my battle –hardened angels who fight evil spirits on the earth. I have millions upon millions of these angelic beings to be commanded by my children on earth, saith the Lord of hosts”.
    This battle angel which the Lord showed me on a wall of an Anglican church in Lewes, England.
    These battle angels remind me of the angels who said, “Surely we are the servants of Jacob who is the servant of God, and who then can stand against us?”

    “You shall know the truth and the truth will set you free.”
    John 8:32.

    EVANGELIST BILLY BOLITHO

    http://www.evangelistbillybolitho.blogspot.com

  9. Hey, Joe. Getting personal is just who I am, much to some people’s discomfort, I’m afraid. 😳

    Thanks, Nor! 🙂

    Hello Billy. I know the angels are out there, good and bad. But I won’t be commanding any. I’ll leave that up to God – He can see them much better than me. 😉

  10. Michelle,
    Thanks!
    You’re definitely not hiding your light under a bushel but sharing the light and letting it shine into darkened corners.
    -Sam

  11. I just really don’t know what to add to this. I’ve been here about 5 times today… 😆 I love to just bask in His light and goodness….I was reminded about His light standing at the kitchen window one day…It was winter and looking out the light was shining outside, and I realized how dominate it was to the darkness…The only time the dark can be dark is when the light is shut off. Even then, dark is only the absence of light and has to leave at the smallest trace of light. It’s pretty cool!!! Love you sweet girl…hope ur day is blessed!

  12. Hey, Sam!!
    You’re welcome. From what you share about raising those kids, you’re doing the same. ♥ U.

    Five times? Thanks for the stats, Debs. Isn’t it amazing to watch a sunrise? One minute everything’s covered in darkness and then spectacular light…I wonder if earth will feel like that in comparison to heaven.

    He dwells in unapproachable light! wow.

  13. “The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it”. – John 1:5

    “For with you is the fountain of life; in your light do we see light.” – Psalm 36:9

    “. . .to open their eyes, so that they may turn from darkness to light and from the power of Satan to God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins and a place among those who are sanctified by faith in me.”- Acts 26:18

    “But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.” – 1 Peter 2:9

  14. Thanks, Dan. I’m so thankful the light has shone into the darkness of my life.

    “For God, who said, “Light shall shine out of darkness,” is the One who has shone in our hearts to give the Light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ.” ~2 Cor. 4:6

  15. That was awesome, are you all professionals or what. I would of never thought about my fear of darkness. Actually maybe I would of not thought of it, because I really do not remember being afraid of darkness. But your post was so good, I love the eye pictures I got reading your post and then I was able to direct it right back to the word of God. You are right though, if you walk into a room with one lite candle, it will fill the whole room with light demolishing the darkness. Great post. I have really enjoyed all of your post.

  16. Good morning, Tanya. I haven’t had the pleasure of meeting you before. So glad you stopped by. This Bible study effort has been good for so many of us. I don’t know about all the others, but if by “professional” you mean clergy…no, I’m a layperson. But I do LOVE to study. The scripture can’t ever be completely plunged, as soon as we think we have it learned we truly need to start anew!

    To keep with the theme of this post, I suppose I should have said…in the darkness of our minds we may think we have arrived at knowing, only to find His light shining on an area we had no idea was still in darkness. We can’t walk the path of this life without stumbling if we neglect to carry the the lamp of His Word.

  17. NOR!!! meanie!

    im with debs, naturally, but i dont know what i could add to this.

    wow.

    i do know that my dark times have made me appreciate the ‘light’ more. but the light, when focused on it (the way i should be) helps me to recognize the dark more easily. it really is a simple principle – yet my eyes sometime have a mind all their own.

    i wrote something, not as deep as this, that i would include here but i dont know how to add a word doc. so i guess i’ll email it to ya.

    love you! a lot!

  18. oh and to answer your question…

    “afraid of the dark?”

    no.

    afraid of ‘staying’ in the dark.

  19. Hi, Tam. It worked! 😀 It was shameless of me, just needed some extra attention. 😳 I’ll look for that email.

    Hello, Roxanne. Thanks. 😉

  20. This was an awesome post michelle,

    Am I afraid? No.. I just don’t want to stay there. I love the light and how it encircles me and frees me.

    I also like to be the light…. I have to work on that somedays.

    Love ya girl!!

  21. Well, Tam, that’s for not visiting my blog lately. **sniff sniff**

    (Or…maybe you were just lurking… 🙄 )

  22. That is the idea, don’t you think. Once we knew about Jesus, I think we realized we were in the darkness, maybe the darkness is the worldly thinking, maybe it is the sin we are locked in. Or it could be the generational curses that have kept us in darkness. But, none of us want to stay in that darkness. I wanted freedom and I wanted more of Jesus. Darkness is scary, it may not be a room full of darkness, like Michelle said, it could be in our minds. We are set free from our thinking and we want to take on the thinking of Jesus through the word of the Lord.

  23. Thanks, Heidi! It’s good to see you here. When you say you want to “be the light” I’m not sure I’m following…can you “enlighten” me further?

    Nor, thanks for the rainbow again, but I thought you were gonna talk to me…hmph. Go chase Tam down on her blog…like I did. 😳

    Tanya, your comment made me think of Romans 12:2 Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your minds, so that you may discern what is the will of God what is good and acceptable and perfect.

    It’s a constant process of growth, daily shining the light on our minds to know what He wills.

  24. I came by to read your blog, Michelle. I was afraid of the dark when I was little, but not really now.

    Reminds me of an old song recorded by DC Talk:

    I wanna be in the light
    As you are in the light
    I wanna shine like the stars in the heavens
    Oh, lord be my light and be my salvation
    Cause all I want is to be in the light
    All I want is to be in the light

  25. Hi, Michelle! Just putting my avatar here so you know I’d never forget you! 😀

    Love you! 😉

  26. 🙂 I love this post. So true. I was wondering if you had read or were thinking about the seven spirits that I blogged about! (which you confirmed in your comment.) So neat.

    I struggled with fear when I was little too. Very little. I don’t remember it. Not because it wasn’t real or ‘imagined’ as a child, but because my Mom fought and won the battle for me. I honor her for that. I wrote about that in my blog here: http://callingtodeep.blogspot.com/2006/05/mothers-day.html
    I know that these things are spiritual, and almost as an effect of the battle that was and was won, I have always detested anything which glorified fear and darkness. So I’m right there with you on this post. I’m so glad you found victory! Praise the Lord.

  27. Yes, Annie, I did read it and should have commented afterwards. It must have been a bad day. I’ve thought often about the idea of the light refracting and reflecting and the seven colors blending into one another for the brilliance of the white light. Reminded me of a Science class I took in college – we did many labs with prisms and lenses. Very cool.

    Glorifying the darkness is so much a part of our culture it’s very difficult to keep away from these days. I watched a documentary on the History channel about the push toward darkness that was ratcheted up during the 60-70’s – my childhood years.

    I’m very thankful for the deliverance I’ve received. It truly was like night and day.

  28. I love the imagery. I’ve used the terms darkness and shadows to describe my world growing up.

    Though I’ve been a Christian since I was a little girl, I lived in the dark for most of my life. Traumatic and abusive experiences left me living in constant fear and anxiety. I was alone. I never spoke of any of it until this past year. I suppressed the memories so deep I still can’t remember everything.

    I grew so used to the dark and the fear, I didn’t even realize it wasn’t normal. I experienced several panic attacks throughout the years.

    Deliverance from the darkness came recently during a deep healing prayer session. What marvelous light. The description I used in my recent posting (This Woman) is a woman standing in field of wildflowers, letting the sunshine fall on her face…

    Thanks Bad for the reminder of DCTalk’s song. It’s one of my longtime favorites. I also like “Into Marvelous Light” (recorded by many artists)
    Into marvelous light, I’m running,
    Out of darkness, out of shame,
    By the cross You are the truth,
    You are the life, You are the way…

    Thanks for this post…Wendy

  29. Hello, Wendy. Welcome!

    I hear you, all too well. Out of darkness, out of shame…He is good to free us from our past. Quite a few of us have shared our lives and the abuse that helped to cause deep darkness within our spirits/souls. His light is the only way out – His light disperses the darkness and allows us to see the wounding so we can move beyond the pain.

    I love the picture of a woman standing in a field of wildflowers (another passion of mine) and looking to the sky. I can’t get to your blog though, something in the connection isn’t working. 😦

    Please come back, you’re welcome here anytime.

  30. Pingback: Pages tagged "blameless"

  31. A phrase I sometimes use, after reading Psalm 139 ‘even the darkness is as light to you’, is God sees in the dark – or sometimes God is not afraid of the dark. However dark it seems to me, however little I can see him – he can see me.

  32. Amen. He’s too wonderful to grasp…just the glimpses He has given us are inspiring to think about. God bless you, Lucy.

Leave a Reply

