The Mystery of Prayer

Standard

Why pray?  Many of us ask for prayer, but does it help anything? 

Yes. Let me tell you. YES!

Prayer is mysterious.  We are told an earnest prayer is powerful.  We are told God will hear the prayers of the righteous.  We are told our prayers will move God’s hand.  There is power in prayer we do not understand, yet we are to be obedient and persevere in it, even if our puny minds cannot conceive why.

The LORD is far from the wicked, But He hears the prayer of the righteous.  ~Proverbs 15:29

Confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The earnest prayer of a righteous person has great power and wonderful results.  ~James 5:16

Finally, all of you be harmonious, sympathetic, affectionate, compassionate, and humble.  Do not return evil for evil or insult for insult, but instead bless others because you were called to inherit a blessing.  For the one who wants to love life and see good days must keep  his tongue from evil and his lips from uttering deceitAnd he must turn away from evil and do good; he must seek peace and pursue itFor the eyes of the Lord are upon the righteous and his ears are open to their prayer. But the Lord’s face is against those who do evil. ~1 Peter 3:8-18 

Now He (Jesus) was telling them a parable to show that at all times they ought to pray and not to lose heart…  ~Luke 18:1

By awesome deeds You answer us with deliverance, O God of our salvation; you are the hope of all the ends of the earth and of the farthest seas.  ~Psalms 65:5

From Max Lucado, The Great House of God:

You and I live in a loud world.  To get someone’s attention is no easy task.  He must be willing to set everything aside to listen: turn down the radio, turn away from the monitor [ouch!], turn the corner of the page and set down the book.  When someone is willing to silence everything else so he can hear us clearly, it is a  privilege.  A rare privilege, indeed.

[Your] prayers are honored [in heaven] as precious jewels.  Purified and empowered, the words rise in a delightful fragrance to our Lord. . . . Your words do not stop until they reach the very throne of God. . . .

Your prayer on earth activates God’s power in heaven, and “God’s will is done on earth as it is in heaven.” . . .

Your prayers move God to change the world.  You may not understand the mystery of prayer.  You don’t need to.  But this much is clear:  Actions in heaven begin when someone prays on earth.

 

Please remember to continue praying for Gchyayles and NorEaster at this time.

16 responses »

  1. timely post. lots of heaviness. but prayer is the only thing that seems to lift the heart right now.

    am praying…

  2. Shoot, I don’t have time to read this right now. But I popped over to Heidi’s site and saw your drawing of her. You’re an artist too?? This is getting a little freaky. We might be separated at birth. What kinds of art do you do?

  3. There really is no mystery to prayer. It is a natural experience that all of us can experience. Jesus gave us the most natural prayer, in the Lords Prayer. No mystery to that, just perfect Truth. Thanks for your blog.

  4. Tam, there is lots of heaviness in our little community. Continuing in prayer brings peace, covering one another… ♥ U.

    Annie, yes I am an artist. I’m mostly self-trained, only a few classes in college. My dad has helped me throughout my life. I prefer pencil and pen and ink – I’m just learning to paint, very amateurish. So you are an artist as well – yes, this is a bit freaky!! What is your favorite medium?

    Hello Kenneth, thanks for stopping by.

  5. Yeah, Tam. Pretty heavy.

    Thanks for posting this, Michelle. Deeply appreciated.

  6. Favorite medium … well, really all I’ve had the opportunity to have any experience with is charcoal. A bit of watercolor – I don’t think that’s my favorite. I want to get into the world of oils, but …. it’s a bit tricky. Pen and pencil have never been easy for me, so perhaps we differ a *bit* after all. 🙂

  7. Annie, I LOVE watecolor, just not that good at it yet. I’ve used tempera more than oils, I don’t really have the patience to wait on oils. 😉

    NorEaster and Gchyayles, I’ve been in much prayer for both of you. I LOVE you both more than I even understand. Strange, but good. 😀

  8. Thank you for being so faithful in prayer..and thanks for all that you encourage me to keep pressing on, when it would be easier to hide or run…you are a gift from God, and very loved my me and more by Jesus! have a good morning!

  9. Mornin’ Michelle!
    Thanks for all your visits… :o)
    (yes the Bleeding hearts are right out my door).
    Appreciate all your thoughts—these are good ones about prayer.
    We need to continue, even when we don’t see the results. Don’t loose heart. Did you know that the root word for courage is heart?! I think that’s a good thing to remember. Praying for “y’all”. (no, we don’t say that way up north….but we do say ‘eh?’ a lot.)
    gotta scoot….company arriving, grandkids are helping me clean.!!

  10. Oh hello, Darla! Thank you for your prayers as well. I know you have been faithful to lift me and my family up…I am doing the same for you!

    ♥ U!

  11. “Prayer is mysterious… There is power in prayer we do not understand, yet we are to be obedient and persevere in it, even if our puny minds cannot conceive why…this much is clear: Actions in heaven begin when someone prays on earth.”

    Hey, Michelle, though you (& Max) wrote this post 2+ years ago, it’s far better, sweeter to the taste, and fresher than even any ice pop left in the freezer for 2+ years! I’m praying for you, and imagine your prayer-rhythm: pray. draw. pray. draw. blog. draw. repeat! Love you! Thanks for blessing me with your prayers, words, art ~ they “merge” into a unified whole before the Mercy Seat in Heaven, or so I think! — gracie;-)

  12. You have my prayer rhythm down, Gracie!

    Thank you for being diligent to pray for me during this time. Forty days are up. God has mysteriously worked through the power of prayer once again…and again…and again…

    Love you.

  13. Thanking *God* with you for the “good work” (think “Eph. 2:10”, and others) that He has done in you during this time! Even our ability to pray is all from *Him*… Perhaps one of these days you might end up sharing one or two of your drawings ~ or even some of your more general prayers ~ from your time this summer of seeking Him over a forty-day period. May the sweet moments you spent with God dwarf all other sweet moments in your life, Michelle! I’m on the verge of following the example of you and others in spending concerted time with Him in a similar way… Thanks for the gentle challenge… Love you, too!

Leave a Reply

