Love of the Brethren

Standard

From my post, “What’s Going on Here?!?!” to the one after, “You Can’t Help Me” and then, “Live Chat!” I’m beginning to think I’ve met a body of believers who have become my new spiritual family. It’s the weirdest thing to me…I’m still a bit flustered from hearing everyone talk and then being given the pleasure of hearing them sing.

My soul soared and my heart raced. For this home-body it was almost more than I could take. I do truly know I would not be able to handle a blog retreat without some way to keep my heart in check.

Debs dedicated a beautiful song to me…wow. The love I felt pouring forth from those ladies – the guys were great too, but the ladies – Darla, Debs, and Tam…thank you! I know there were lots of other people online, got to share a couple of comments with Love and Ric, but I really felt the words of affirmation and encouragement were meant for me…really!

But, you know, I have a feeling EVERYONE online felt the same. I think that’s called love of the brethren, the Spirit of the Lord bringing us together…AMAZING!!

Since you have in obedience to the truth purified your souls for a sincere love of the brethren, fervently love one another from the heart, for you have been born again not of seed which is perishable but imperishable, that is, through the living and enduring word of God. ~1 Peter 1:22-23

Thanks, Brent, for the opportunity to share. I must admit I lurked for a bit before I took the plunge and joined the fun…it’s really hard sometimes to “put myself out there” but I’m so thankful I did. And Scott…beautiful, truly beautiful.

15 responses »

  1. The Live chat is cool. I wish all the avatars could move and talk and sing! I got knocked off-line by some internet problems but I did get to hear Kass and Tam sing! Pretty cool.

  2. “This is how everyone will recognize that you are my disciples—when they see the love you have for each other.” John 13:35

    Not only is unity among blievers a bond between them, as it should be, their love for one another stands out to the rest of the world as a mark of the Savior on their lives. The ‘world’ cannot know the sort of love the brethren (and sistren) share.

  3. I’m continually amazed at the community that happens here online, where we have rarely even met one another in person. Do you think some of it comes because we have met the other person’s heart first?

    I caught some last night before I had to duck out, and it was really a wonderful blessing.

  4. I wondered why you were gone so quickly, Ric. I came and went and then came again…glad I did. It was refreshing for me. I’ve not made it to church in a couple of weeks, it was almost as uplifting.

    Yes, Dan, it is something special this love of the body, one for another. We tend to quarrel so much these days that when it happens well, it’s almost a shock. It will be wonderful when the flesh is gone and we can truly rejoice together.

    Isn’t it strange, Heidi? I do think it’s because we can get past the flesh and straight to the heart, when people choose to be vulnerable. I must have missed seeing you there, I’m surprised you had any time to get on…you have been in my prayers. I hope you and your family are feeling God’s comfort.

    ♥ Y’all!

  5. Thank you, you are so sweet. I didn’t see you there either, so we must have missed one another. We appreciate all the prayers, and I’m so amazed at all of the people in this blog community who are supporting us in this way right now.

    Love,
    Heidi

  6. Michelle,
    Sorry I missed the live chat thing – but it’s best when I sing tenor – 10 or 12 miles away.
    Where can I find out what happened?
    -Sam

  7. Heidi, you are loved. 🙂

    Sam, You will love this community and probably find people close to your neck of the woods. Many in the community are in my blogroll. In the post you will also meet the specific people from the Live Chat, notice the words in green (they’re links). If you click on in progress on my blogroll you will find Tam. She is Brent’s wife, who is the Creative Arts Director (I think that’s the title) at Table Rock Fellowship in Oregon. If you click on without wax you will find Pete Wilson who is a pastor in Nashville. Between the two blogs you’ll notice the same people popping up for daily interaction. I don’t have Brent’s blog linked on the roll, but I do in the post. Click on his name in the last paragraph.

    You will be welcomed with open arms – it’s just what they do!!! And be ready for people in love with God who also are having a little fun…well, actually… a LOT of fun.

  8. Michelle, it was our pleasure to share with you. Of course, all of you participating was a pleasure for us as well. You’ve said it nicely as well as Dan in his comment, our love for each other is what sets us apart and unifies us as well.

    We’ll go live again and maybe someday, we will meet you at a retreat, whether here or there 🙂

  9. It really was, Faith. Next time you need to pop in, if you don’t want to talk you can just lurk…I’m very good at that.

    Thanks again, Brent, I felt ministered to from you all. It was a blessing.

  10. Michelle – i know i have been MIA lately….been spending time with a strange family from PA 😉 but sister…you are family. there is something that bonds us together…even outside of Christ. there’s something more.

    It was OUR honor to chat with you all. it blows us away each time that people would even show up for that. then we realize – it is because we are all connected – we know there is something rooted deeper and that is the bond of Christ. its beyond what we can sometimes fathom – but it is real and it is a gift!

    i love you Michelle! and am grateful to know you and call you sister!

  11. I can actually hear you speak in my head now, Darla. It’s great to have a voice with a name and face!!

    I have missed you around here, Tam, but I understand needing to be a good hostess. I’m sure you have shown your “strangers” all about love of the brethren (and sister’n).

  12. Thanks Michelle for your kind words. This “family” truly is amazing.
    It is a blessing to ba a part of it with you.

  13. Thank you, Scott. Your song blew me away. God has given you a beautiful gift — would love to hear more of your music.

Leave a Reply

