You Can’t Help Me

Standard

I cry out for help to anyone who will listen. I graphically speak of my pain into the silence. I try to explain the hurt within, the disappointment I feel in life. I am ignored. No one hears my heart.

Where do I go for help? Who will hear my cries?

I hold desperately onto the physical, hoping somehow I will be comforted. I reach out for someone who will console. I need tranquility for a while, won’t you bring me some relief?

Where do I go for help? Who will hear my cries?

I speak into the darkness. The dullness of my pain sharpens to unbearable. I am choking deep within. I can not let you know how badly I hurt. My face will not betray my wounding to the negligent eye.

Where do I go for help? Who will hear my cries?

I am heavy. Sluggishly moving through the day, hoping for relief. I fall into bed clutching my pillow, hiding from the world. Will I have any release from this body of sin? The frailty of this life is palpable.

Where do I go for help? Who will hear my cries?

Does any sustenance come? What can I take that will truly medicate and not just anesthetize for a moment. I sleep, but even my dreams betray me. Where can I run?

A whisper…

A voice calls…

Will I listen?

The Shepherd speaks…

“Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and YOU WILL FIND REST FOR YOUR SOULS.”

26 responses »

  1. Your blog disturbs me greatly. Are you crying out for a help or you found it in the scriptures. I have walked in the valley and known the enormous pain you describe. Please replyl if I can send encouragement. There IS HOPE!

  2. Michelle,

    I’m with ‘Momo’ on this one– concerned, but feeling helpless to help.

    I will do the best I know to do–long distance–PRAY (that the only ONE Who CAN help, will — to bring you relief and yes, REST) !!

    If there’s any other way I can help, feel free to email me!

    D-

  3. No words —
    but know that you have prayers out here for your pain.

    Has anyone out there read “The Shack’, by William Young yet?
    I’m not yet through it…but wow. It’s fiction…..but a meeting with God, who explains the pain we go through while on earth.

    Might be worth a look?
    Nor….looking forward to your writings!
    Michelle….keep us all posted!!!

  4. Lazarus (and Momo, whom I haven’t met yet), You do not need to be disturbed…yes, these are the cries of my heart. My pain is very deep but My God is deeper still. When I feel these things and begin to despair, He continues to remind me He will never leave or forsake me.

    People can’t help…prayers are the greatest source of comfort. Too many times others’ words can cause more wounding…I’ve learned to cry out to Him instead of the physical. Every once in a while, I try again and am sorely disappointed. I learn no one comforts like the Lord. He is my strength. He is my sustenance.

    Thank you for your concern, I am hanging in there today.

  5. I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help. My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth. He will not suffer thy foot to be removed; He that keepeth thee will not slumber. Behold, He that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep. The Lord is thy keeper: the Lord is thy shade upon thy right hand. The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night. The Lord shall preserve thee from evil: He shall preserve thy soul. The Lord shall preserve thy going out and they coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore. Psalm 121

    There’s a song by Donnie McClurkin called “Total Praise.” It’s taken from Psalm 121. The chorus is “You are the source of my strength and you are the strength of my life. I lift my hands in total praise to You.”

    He is your source. He is your strength. He will provide all your needs according to His riches in glory through Christ Jesus. He is your redeemer. He is your deliverer. He is your comforter. He is your restorer. He is your savior. He is your Father.

    I love you.

  6. Matter of fact Michelle,

    I CAN HELP… I can be the intercessor or the friend who stands inside the gap. Yes, only God can soothe our pain and our remorse. But He leads us down different paths. Am I saying that He wants you to feel pain? No.. What I am saying is that He brought you people who will Pray and Pray for you so a miraculous healing happens within your self.
    I am always here

  7. Hi Michelle, so sorry to read of your pain. It is inspiring to read how within this, God ministers to you. The Scripture you mentioned about finding rest for our souls in Jesus gives such hope. Other Scriptures that I have found comforting are:

    “You … put my tears into Your bottle; are they not in Your book?” Psalm 57:8

    “I, even I, am He who comforts you” Isaiah 51:12.

    Praying for you.

  8. Thank you, Heidi. Prayer helps. πŸ˜‰

    I’m glad you found it inspiring, Birgit, that was the intent. He is the answer for all pain. He sees our tears and comforts our souls, thank you for those reminders.

    Ric, how do you do that? Glad to see your smiling face around here again.

  9. Words are like legos in my mind. I like to disassemble and re-assemble until I hear something I like.

    Plus, if I accidentally step on a word it does not hurt. So they are like legos only safer.

  10. Good Morning…love you sweetie. The Great I AM..always hears and always is what ever you need! I love that for me too

  11. You know, Ric…how we said, “Sticks and stones will break my bones, but words will never hurt me.”…? I know this isn’t what you were saying, but your comment made me think about the lie in that taunt…sometimes I wonder if it would have been better to have been physically hurt (spoken from someone who has never been in a physical fight) than to have been verbally abused.

    Some wounds never seem to heal.

    Hey, Darla…praise Him! He is my Rock, my strength…my sustenance. ♥ U2 (I’m SO jealous!! πŸ˜‰ )

  12. I don’t know how I missed this…

    I am hoping you are alright, Michelle, and that you are holding on tightly to your Rock…

    And never let go…

    Love yah…

  13. Hey Debs. My heart’s cry is very desperate at times, but I know the Source of my strength and that He will not give me more than I can bear. When I am weary and heaven laden, He never ceases to bring me rest. Love you too!!!

    And I love your new avatar — I can see you close up and personal! You’re beautiful! πŸ˜‰

  14. Remember how many people are here for you and praying daily…we’ll lift your arms when you get tired,

    ur beautiful too Michelle…from the inside out you are definately a package deal!!! Love you!

  15. Thank you for this post Michelle. This is where I’m at now. Wondering if He is listening to my cries. Love you. Thanks for praying.

  16. Good morning, Gch. It’s not strange to be in the place you are at this point. You’ve experienced a terrible tragedy and the shock of it hasn’t gone yet. Your mind and your body need time to recuperate and your feelings are all jumbled. That’s normal for what you’ve been through. Be kind to yourself, Gch. Don’t expect too much right now. God does see all you are going through. He understands all you’ve had to endure. He hears your cries.

    Do you remember the story of Elijah and the false prophets? King Ahaz and Jezebel wanted to challenge Elijah over whose God was greater. After our God licked up the water around the altar and set it aflame, Elijah killed the false prophets. When Jezebel heard she declared she was going to kill Elijah and so he ran, in fear. He was worn out and depressed. God allowed him to rest. He fed Elijah with cakes, the ravens brought him food, and Elijah rested, recuped…then God came to him, not in might and power as Elijah expected, but in a still small voice. (1Kings 19)

    You need rest. You need recuperation. You need time.

    He is there. He may be quiet but He’s listening and He’s ministering to you.

    I understand your feelings. But you know, God understands everything. Allow yourself to rest in Him.

    I love you, Gch, and I’m praying for you.

Leave a Reply

