What’s Going on Here!?!?!

Standard

I’m really getting confused about these relationships, as Mandy calls them, met-on-the-net friendships.

Y’all are beginning to invade my thoughts, my dreams, my prayers…my life!!!

What does this mean?  Is it OK?  We’ll all quickly say yes but then, why is it I feel closer to some of you than people in real life? 

I go to church, have a bible study group, family close by, friends and neighbors to visit with…but…it’s you people I share my thoughts and feelings with on a daily basis.  What do you think God is doing here?  How is it this feels real and yet, not tangible?

…because we are not looking at what can be seen but at what cannot be seen. For what can be seen is temporary, but what cannot be seen is eternal.

There’s far more here than meets the eye. The things we see now are here today, gone tomorrow. But the things we can’t see now will last forever.

Does 2 Corinthians 4:18 apply?

17 responses »

  1. Michelle,

    I appreciate your ‘ponderings’ on this post, and confess I’ve had some of these questions as well regarding blogging relationships. I think there can be definite ‘benefits’, but ‘concerns’ as well.

    I think the biggest ‘benefit’ (that appears to build relationship) is open, honest communication (the kind often unlikely or impossible ‘face to face’ ={ !).

    I ‘googled’ blogging relationships, and found a couple of articles on family.org (Focus on the Family) that are worth bloggers’ reading I think:
    This first one describes the kind of relationships you’ve found and why:
    http://www.family.org/entertainment/A000002317.cfm
    The next article is sort of a ‘checklist’ for honoring God through blogging:
    http://www.family.org/entertainment/A000002312.cfm

    And then there was a link to an NPR clip about
    “Blogging: A Blight or Boon to Marriage”
    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=5204627
    that presents both the ‘pros’ & ‘cons’ in that relationship category.
    I’m not usually a big NPR fan, but it definitely makes a point (and I’m glad Nick doesn’t blog =) !

    There was also a good point made by Kim on Brent’s (inWorship) last post that emphasized the ‘balance’ needed in blogging, and the relationships it can help or hinder.

    D-

  2. Thank you, Laz!! This was exactly what I needed to read and hear – the NPR piece is painfully relevant!! I may have even found material for another post soon. I want to bring glory to God through this endeavor, but sometimes I wonder if the enemy has evil intentions as well…is life ever without spiritual warfare?

    If I come to Oregon, will I be able to visit with you too?

  3. Hi Michelle! Nice thoughts. I’ll come back and share mine later.

    Meantime, let me “splash” you with these: :-), 😉 (X100).

    And say: GOOD MORNING! (or evening to you).

    Sleep tight. 🙂

  4. I’m glad you benefitted from the articles and audio piece. It’s always good to have our perspectives and motives challenged I think.

    And yes, for sure, we’d love to have you visit us here! I had said that in one of my comments a while back, but it got ‘lost in space’ somewhere for some reason. We have two extra guest bedrooms, and would love to have your company whenever you’re able to make it out Oregon way =) !!

    As to ‘spiritual warfare’, I think you already know the answer to that per Eph. 6:10-18. But we also have God’s promise in Romans 16:19 that He “will SOON crush Satan underneath our feet. ” Our part is to “be excellent at what is good and innocent of evil”, and that’s what I know you’re desiring for ALL of your life (including blogging =) !

    Come see us SOON too =) !,
    D-

  5. You know…I’m not a big fan of Focus on the Family. But I don’t mind NPR. It was a REALLY GOOD audio piece. In fact, it was JUST TOTALLY FANTASTIC!!! I could listen to it again and again and again. I LOVE RADIO!!! ALL RADIO!!! It’s just SO COOL…

    …uh, have I mentioned that my hearing aids aren’t working right now…? 😉

  6. Thanks for the invitation, Laz, I’ve never been to the west coast. From the pics I’ve seen, y’all live pretty close to Paradise!

    Yes, spiritual warfare…ugh! I will stand firm in His armor and PRAY! Love your encouraging words! 😉

    OK, Nor, are you feeling a bit…um…shall I say…frustrated…angry…isolated…well, you fill in the blank. I’m sorry, how soon can something be done to get them working again?

    In the meantime, you could…ahem…humble yourself…(don’t yell at me)…and read the articles…you would really like what they have to say. I know you and the points made sound a bit like you, in a preachy way, that is. 😕 😀

  7. Isaiah 43: 18-21
    18Remember ye not the former things, neither consider the things of old. 19Behold, I will do a new thing; now it shall spring forth; shall ye not know it? I will even make a way in the wilderness, and rivers in the desert. 20The beast of the field shall honour me, the dragons and the owls: because I give waters in the wilderness, and rivers in the desert, to give drink to my people, my chosen. 21This people have I formed for myself; they shall show forth my praise.

    I think HE does a new thing, and HE knows what we need and what we will respond too. I am praticing a little less questioning and more praising for new things that HE is in the center of!

  8. “I think HE does a new thing, and HE knows what we need and what we will respond too. I am praticing a little less questioning and more praising for new things that HE is in the center of!”

    I’n not too sure about God needing to do NEW things, or if He sits around all day just loving us and seeing what He needs to give us so that we will respond to Him. It makes it sound like he poured out His own wrath upon His only Son for what might be if we would only respond.

    Well, that is off track here. Blogging relationships – makes me ask myself why I blog in the first place. Do I do it to have new friends and buiid more relationships? Can I have a real relationship with someone when the personal aspects of real communication are lost in translation?

    I don’t think it’s a relationship thing, or I would soften the message over at my place so folks wouldn’t avoid it when I approach topics that might be uncomfortable..

    Gret question, Michelle!

  9. Thank you, Dan. Your blog is definitely a pulpit, a platform for preaching. I’m glad you do not soften the Word or it would be a corruption.

    I suppose it depends upon our reasons for blogging. Me? I’ve been surprised by the relationship aspect, even with a crusty old soldier like you…never knew I’d meet a Special Forces serviceman (retired) with a heart of gold.

    Is Special Forces and green beret one and the same? (Military History channel got me wondering) Did I ever tell you my son was invited to West Point? I wish he had accepted.

  10. They would be the same. So if I tell you what I really did, I would have to kill you……:) Just kidding. I had already been an SF soldier for about eight years.when I turned back to Christ (late 1976) and remained in SF unitl I retired in 1995. Lots of serious prayer about that. The most amazing thing about all those years was the different ways I was able to share the Gospel of Jesus Christ in that environment.

  11. Dan- that is scripture..it is true, and no GOD doesn’t need a thing..but to say he doesn’t do new things..limits HIM and HE is way too BIG for that, and My GOD will never fit back into the box that many try to hold him in…just saying…what I wrote was from the holy script…and God has given me that Word many times…and to my delight I have seen new things, and thrilled that HE would let me be part of it! love ya dude..but WHAT??

  12. Dan- HE doesn’t have to think about what we need, HE provides it…and after all the Piper you have quoted..I thought you would understand what I said. I am starting to feel like you think I have some “cushy” gospel…and if you do..you are wrong about that…but I will never take lightly the awesome love of the Almighty King. Hope you understand where I am coming from. 🙂

  13. I think I do, Darla. My only issue with NEW things is IF God limits Himself in any area and has told us certain things are already complete or sufficient there probably won’t be new revelations in those areas. It all depends on what you consider a ‘new’ thing.

    If, for instance, the popular ‘God loves you’ presentation of the Gospel is what is considered the NEW way to evangelize because things like sin, repentance, judgment, and God’s wrath make people uncomfortable, I would have an issue.

    Another example might be extra-biblical revelation. Are new revelations, not supportable by scripture even valid? Some think so as if we need something else in addition to scripture.

    I don’t know if you personally hold to a ‘cushy’ gospel or not, but I am aware that in ‘purpose driven’ and ‘seeker friendly’ circles, many do. Both are, at the core, ‘all about me’ instead of God-centric. It is easy to see with the ‘seeker friendly’ model, but not as easy with the ‘purpose driven’ model. I remember when I first read The Purpose Driven Life. Sure it said it’s really about God in the first few pages, but after that it was ‘all about me’.

    I just get antsy when I hear the phrase God is doing a NEW thing. I conjurs up something completely new, never been done before, or something foreign/addition to to revealed scripture. Like NEW ways of ‘doing’ church. Repackaging the gospel. Omitting the ‘hard’ truth because we are living in a NEW age where positive thinking, pumping up self-esteem, etc. rule the day.

    You didn’t explain exactly what you meant by a NEW thing. That’s why I wasn’t dogmatic an only said ‘I wasn’t sure about NEW things’. I’ve seen the NEW thing in some cases, and the NEW thing was nothing more than an old lie. I bought in to the NEW thing because I was not sufficiently grounded in scripture to spot the lie.

    And I am not suggesting that you have fallen for a false NEW thing. And I certainly wouldn’t put God in a box.

Leave a Reply

