Our Wedding Song

Standard

Lord, take control of me, renew my mind and help me see
That the fullness of Your life and love is mine to share.
Make me a channel of Your saving grace and cleansing blood;
Make my life a shelter for a brother in despair.

Chorus:
Release me into the current of Your Spirit’s pow’r,
And fill me each moment of the day and ev’ry hour.
Make my life count for You in ev’rything I say and do
Help me ever to pursue the fullness of Your love.

Lord, take complete control of my body, mind, and soul;
Give me grace to trust You and surrender to Your will.
Let me know Your promised rest when I face each trial and test,
So that You may manifest Yourself to all the world.

Chorus:
Release me into the current of Your Spirit’s pow’r,
And fill me each moment of the day and ev’ry hour.
Make my life count for You in ev’rything I say and do
Help me ever to pursue the fullness of Your love.
Take my life and fill it with Your love!

That song goes through my head most every day.  I fell in love with it when my sister first sang it as a special and so I asked her to sing it for our wedding.  We changed the singular pronouns to plural, but we kept the singular body, mind and soul.

And the two shall become one flesh.

We made this prayer a vow before Him as we stood to commit ourselves to Him. Throughout our life together (comin’ on 25 years – wooo hooo!) He has continued to lead. We’ve had many opportunities to share with our brothers in despair. He has poured out His grace upon us as we’ve surrendered to His will. The promised rest has been given for us to receive.

HE IS SOOOOO GOOD.

What a mighty God we serve!

I love it when a plan comes together, said in my best A-team voice (really dating myself now).

Can you pray that prayer and mean it?  It wasn’t meant to be a wedding song.  “Lord, take control of me…” 

Don’t do it unless you can…the words ain’t cheap.

18 responses »

  1. sad to say, little michelle…I’m more sunk in the spot of your last post than in the richness of this one…this stegall is quite stuck.
    I had a colleague today laugh and say, “I’m laughing at the way your God treats you”…I had no good response. I’m a pastor’s wife…I need a better answer than what was in my head…oh, I am now the infamous “ye of little faith”…but I’m praying the words of this song and hoping it will resound a new song in my heart.

  2. Wow, Cathi. I wish I had some words that would help. I know the feeling you’re dealing with, being stuck…It’s hard when life isn’t going the way we think it should…or those around us think it should. I’m not one who believes He only moves based upon our largeness/smallness of faith. He has purposes we cannot see…it’s about our character, not our comfort.

    I can say, Cathi, if your heart desires the words of this song, He will take you up on your prayer…but don’t be dismayed if life gets even harder. I’m praying for you….now….

  3. Release us into the current of Your Spirit’s pow’r,
    And fill us each moment of the day and ev’ry hour.

    Love this phrase up here.

    Release me to the current.. just sends goosebumps..

  4. Michelle, that is a beautiful song. I do have to say though—been married for 35 years, and yet feel like I’m spiritually single. I’m still learning to handle it. Have to remain faithful, even if the journey is alone. I envy the relationships that others seem to share…but Jesus is enough. I’ll have to re-read it in the singular form.

  5. You know, I was thinking I should rewrite it in the singular (the original version) for many don’t have the same husband/wife relationship Gary and I share. For that I am so sorry.

    At the risk of sounding presumptuous, you do have Jesus as your heavenly bridegroom. Spiritually you are married to the most awesome husband of all…

    …and 35 years of commitment says loads of your love for the Lord in all things.

    Hello Heidi!! I didn’t see you there – I was out looking at your blog, which is very cool, BTW. I love that phrase too, “Release me into the current of Your Spirit’s power…”

    Goosebumps…everytime. 😉

  6. This is for Cathi –

    “Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord” – Peter (Acts 3:19)

  7. response to Michelle—
    “At the risk of sounding presumptuous, you do have Jesus as your heavenly bridegroom. Spiritually you are married to the most awesome husband of all…”

    Yes—Jesus is my Lord and Saviour. I prefer to call Him KING rather than Bridegroom. I know that analogy is used in the Bible, but I’d like to hear from the guys out there…..isn’t that a little hard for you to envision? I mean, doesn’t it put too much of a feminine spin on faith?
    I’d rather have the image of King. We all can bow down to that!
    Tell me if I’m wrong.

  8. I don’t have a problem with the bridegroom analogy.
    I understand what I’m supposed to be as a husband/groom – and I can relate to the excitement that I see from my bride (and all to often don’t have myself).

    Oh, and I sometimes think there is not ENOUGH feminine spin put on the faith.

  9. So…men…What do you think? Heavenly Bridegroom? Too feminine? Let’s hear what you have to say…

    (Nina, we’ve had this discussion somewhere before, I think on The Battle’s Cry, Dan’s blog. Just in case they don’t respond this time, most of the men I’ve heard from do agree with you on this analogy.)

  10. Hey Bad Guy! So good to see you here again…it’s been a while.

    Well, there you go, I’m wrong again…one man (aside from my husband) has no problem with the bridegroom picture. I’m actually quite surprised, but pleased, nonetheless.

  11. Michelle,
    Don’t know what to say about this post as I’ve been separated for exactly one year in about a week – the requirement for a divorce in Virginia where me, soon-to-be ex-spouse and the children live.
    My wife has once again insisted on divorce despite my resistance and the children’s acting out.
    I’ve been running to God with this for nine months now begging God to take control of me as you sing – craving a Spirit-filled life with fruit.
    As for Cathi, she is blessed though I’m sorry she feels down. I just read the beautitudes again today and I’m sure she knows the part I’m seeing her in. My opinion is her colleague is feeling a bit insecure and maybe even pulling against the tug of something supernatural.
    -Sam

  12. Sam, my heart is heavy for you. I will be praying for God’s peace over you during this challenging time. I want to encourage you to lean on God for understanding and He will surely order your steps throughout this process. God bless.

  13. Wow! You are nothing short of amazing! God’s still small voice is teaching me about a little thing called “a sacrifice of praise”…
    this stegall will praise nonetheless.

  14. Hey, Sam. My heart hurts to hear your pain. It’s not easy, this life we live by faith. You have been in my prayers and I will continue praying for you and your family.

    “I’ve been running to God with this for nine months now begging God to take control of me…craving a Spirit-filled life with fruit.” I know this place very well…too well…as painful as the circmstance has become, this is the best place to be — running and begging and craving.

  15. Release me into the current of Your Spirit’s pow’r,

    Do we want Him to “release’ us?

    Did He make us cling so tightly ( to ‘life’ ) in the first place?

    His current flows constantly – whether we cling or not. If we are clinging tightly and things still keep on slipping from our grasp perhaps we should stop being so ‘clingy’, so full of attachment and fear of what wil happein IF…
    and let go into the flow of His Infinite Love?

    Is your Faith sufficient to test the flow?

    Or Are you clinging on to things still?

    Are you waiting for Him to tell you to let go? Did he not do so already?

    He who keeps his life shalll surely loose it….

    <B

  16. Hey, Love! Your point is well taken. I believe this prayer is the struggle we have while in the flesh. As the scripture teaches, we can “quench” and “grieve” the Spirit.

    Perfection will not be achieved in the flesh this side of eternity.

    Notice the words given in 1 Thessalonians 5:19. Thessalonians was written to strong and approved Christians, yet still the warning is given that we can quench the Spirit in our daily walk…

    NET: Do not extinguish the Spirit.
    NIV: Do not put out the Spirit’s fire;
    NASB: Do not quench the Spirit;
    NLT: Do not stifle the Holy Spirit.
    MSG: Don’t suppress the Spirit,

    And from Ephesians 5:30:
    NASB:
    Do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption.

    NLT:
    And do not bring sorrow to God’s Holy Spirit by the way you live. Remember, he is the one who has identified you as his own, guaranteeing that you will be saved on the day of redemption.

    MSG:
    Don’t grieve God. Don’t break his heart. His Holy Spirit, moving and breathing in you, is the most intimate part of your life, making you fit for himself. Don’t take such a gift for granted.

    (I love reading all the different versions. I get them all on one page at http://net.bible.org This is my favorite site for quick Bible access.)

    So, I hear you, and I desire to “let go” and and flow with His Spirit…His grace is sufficient.

  17. Wow. Beautiful words…but more than words…25 years speaks of themselves more than words. Oh, I am sure we can draw from your godly example some wisdom to enrich our own marriages. And yes, singing your wedding song almost everyday means you have been celebrating your marriage. I would like some of that, my sister.

    Pass the joy on and may the Lord keep your marriage well and alive for many years to come.

    Love,

    Gladwell

  18. Thank you, Gladwell. This was written almost two years ago…and we are struggling at the moment.

    But, God…

    Thank you for words of blessing for our marriage. I sincerely appreciate them.

Leave a Reply

