Nothing Stays the Same

Standard

For everything there is an appointed time,
And an appropriate time for every activity on earth:

A time to be born, and a time to die;
A time to plant, and a time to uproot what was planted.

A time to kill, and a time to heal;
A time to break down, and a time to build up;

A time to weep, and a time to laugh;
A time to mourn, and a time to dance.

A time to throw away stones, and a time to gather stones;
A time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

A time to search, and a time to give something up as lost;
A time to keep, and a time to throw away;

A time to rip, and a time to sew;
A time to keep silent, and a time to speak.

A time to love, and a time to hate;
A time for war, and a time for peace.

 

We built.

We planted. 

We weren’t ready for the tearing down or the uprooting to begin.

But it did, nonetheless.

We weren’t ready for it all to fall apart.

But it did.

Now what?

Is it time to begin building again?

It would feel good to dance…to cease from mourning.

Can we laugh?

The weeping needs to stop.

Times change.

Nothing ever stays the same.

God’s will be done.

15 responses »

  1. Just came across your blog….i have some catching up to do!
    Nothing stays the same…..except Jesus. He is enough.
    We are going through some transitions now that have me digging my heels in.
    Need to let go.
    Come visit me at:
    http://fotofootprints.wordpress.com
    ~~nina

  2. Would love for you to stay around a while, Nina. Your blog is beautimous!!!

    I can understand having a hard time letting go of that place – amazing!

  3. A time to weep, and a time to laugh;
    A time to mourn, and a time to dance.

    There was a time I laughed and danced with such innocence and ease–and Oh, how I laughed and danced!–but…I am in another season now. And I wasn’t ready for the tearing down, either.

    But when is silver pure until it has passed through The Refiner’s Fire? I can see the space beyond the flames, I can hear the laughter…but He is not done with the refining…

    …yet.

  4. Thanks for this reminder of Ecc. 3.

    It brought back memories of my first date with Nick to a H.S. basketball game in 1969. On the drive home, the Byrds’ song, “Turn, Turn, Turn” came on the radio, and got us to talking about that chapter in the Bible =).

    It was the start of a long relationship that has endured a lot of what those verses really describe.

    How often though we get them turned around and try to do the opposite at the wrong ‘time’ (i.e ‘laugh’ when we should ‘weep’, and ‘dance’ when we should ‘mourn’).

    I am exactly ‘where you are’ as well in your commentary, and pray He will bring you back to a place of joy also. Joy endures places ‘happiness’ can’t begin to comprehend.

    On that line, I just heard the audio version ending of “The Last Battle” in C.S. Lewis’ series while I had my ipod on ‘Shuffle’ (those ‘randoms’ can be so inspired at times =), and it encouraged my heart for sure! The next song appropriately was Hillsongs’ “Free to Dance” (one of Nick’s all time favorites =), and I was assured that our ‘time’ for that is coming again soon as well.
    “Maranatha!”

    You are in my prayers,
    D-

  5. You bet i’ll hang around—i’m new to the blog world, and will catch up on your thoughtful posts!
    What a wonderful way to connect with other believers!

    Hey! on a side note….can anyone tell me how to make my ‘log in name’ a ‘hot link’?
    You know, where it shows up as a different color when you leave a comment, and someone can simply click on it to check out the site? Can’t find where to do that. Thanks for any help—-
    ~~nina
    http://fotofootprints.wordpress.com

  6. Nor, thank you for this: I can see the space beyond the flames, I can hear the laughter…but He is not done with the refining…yet. I needed that image. 😉

    Wow, Laz, “Joy endures places ‘happiness’ can’t begin to comprehend.” That is so good…and just the phrase I’ve tried to come up with to explain the difference between the two thoughts. Thanks.

    Yay, Nina! It is a fantastic way to connect! I saw from your site that you’ve been up a couple of months? If you’ll sign it at wordpress.com then your name will be linked. You can tell if it’s linked by the dashboard bar at the top of the page – if it’s not showing then you’re not signed in properly. I’m rather inept when it comes to this stuff – without my family’s help, I’d be lost. Check out my blogroll – we have a great community full of Christians with lots to share…welcome!

  7. everything in HIS time..thats a hard one. Feeling your heart in this, and I know HE does too. I am learning that in these times, my heart is lifted by asking HIM ..”what am I to learn here?, help me to learn it, and then remove this from me” sounds strange I am sure, but I do believe HE has a reason for everything even when I totally don’t get it.
    AMEN, HIS will not mine.

  8. Thank you, Darla, for all the prayers. I know that is why we’re still holding our heads up – He is the lifter of our heads.

    Your prayer doesn’t sound strange to me…been praying the same for years!

    ♥ U

  9. ugh. sometimes i really don’t like His timing, if i’m being honest. but. i DO know that He knows best in spite of how i “feel”. i’ve asked so many times for God to change my circumstances. and He has, but not how i wanted. what He has changed is how i look at them. so , He did answer. He is THAT good! Always Good!

  10. You know, I’ve got a funny story about all this. One morning last week, the storms were getting me down. I mean, I was so depressed I had breakfast at Burger King. And that’s bad!

    But when I said Grace, I told My Friend Upstairs, “Lord, I’ve enough. Take me Home. Please just take me Home. I can’t take it anymore.”

    Well, after that, I turned on the radio. The wonders of drive-thrus, right? And I didn’t recognize the song at all. But after it was over, the DJ came on and said the name of the song title.

    “It’s Not My Time.”

    Hey, could it really be any simpler than that?

    So I said, “Okay. All right. I get it. I can last a little longer.”

    But, man, there are times I really HATE it when He does that!!!

    Ah ha ha ha ha ha ha!!! 😉

  11. “i’ve asked so many times for God to change my circumstances. and He has, but not how i wanted. what He has changed is how i look at them.”

    Yeah…He does that…changes us…and how we view life. Thanks, Tam.

    Ummm, Nor, that’s not a funny story. Please choose Paul’s version of life on earth – It is for our good that you remain!!!

    Alive, I’m Christ’s messenger; dead, I’m his bounty. Life versus even more life! I can’t lose. As long as I’m alive in this body, there is good work for me to do. If I had to choose right now, I hardly know which I’d choose. Hard choice! The desire to break camp here and be with Christ is powerful. Some days I can think of nothing better. But most days, because of what you are going through, I am sure that it’s better for me to stick it out here. So I plan to be around awhile, companion to you as your growth and joy in this life of trusting God continues. ~Paul (Philippians 1:21-25)

  12. Hello michelle!

    Wow! New theme. I love it. 🙂

    This verse was read to us when my grandpa died. It balmed our pain.

    (Nor, I like what you said way up, Comment 3). 🙂

  13. Like the ‘new’ look Lil Sis! 🙂 kind of a Spring and rebirth feel to it huh? 🙂

    God often seems to have a way of ‘rearranging’ our ‘best’ plans huh?

    We like to think we are doing good and following HIs will for us and are happy doing so – then POW – Mack Truck time – irght in the middle of your back when you were not expecting it – and life ‘changes’ once more.

    if we did not see it coming it usually means we had not been ‘looking’ in the ‘right’ place’. or amybe in the ‘right’ way – or we had challenged him to make a change without being truly ready to accept that what He has planned for us might not be what we had.

    I pray you grow stronger in Him each day and can accept that life on earth is sometimes a confusing place – but He is our refuge. His Will be Done!

    Love you Sis 🙂

    <B

  14. Glad you two like the new theme…yes, Love, new birth and He makes all things new being the inspiration. 🙂

    Sherma, I love that passage. It brings much balm on either side of eternity, I think. 😉

    Well Brother Love, so you decided to show yourself over here? IT’S ABOUT TIME!!!

    “…or we had challenged him to make a change without being truly ready to accept that what He has planned for us might not be what we had.”

    This would be it for me…asking for Him to purge and not being ready for the fire’s heat to increase. His will be done, no matter the cost. ♥ U2!

Leave a Reply

