The Fact Remains

Standard

I tend to think…”

But it seems to me…”

I think it says…”

What do these qualifiers have in common?

Me.  My opinion has become the final authority.

As Phat likes to say, “Opinions are like feet.  Everybody’s got ’em.  And they all stink.”

Some say, “God said it…I believe it…that settles it for me.”  Actually, it was a song in the 70’s.  The problem with the lyrics?  “I believe it” is the settling factor.

No.  God said it and THAT settles it.  Your belief does not change God’s Word.

He is the Creator of the world.  Whether or not you believe it, the fact remains.

He is the Savior of the world.  Whether or not you believe it, the fact remains.

He is Lord over all.  Whether or not you believe it, the fact remains.

As Wise Solomon said…

When I determined to load up on wisdom and examine everything taking place on earth, I realized that if you keep your eyes open day and night without even blinking, you’ll still never figure out the meaning of what God is doing on this earth. Search as hard as you like, you’re not going to make sense of it. No matter how smart you are, you won’t get to the bottom of it.   ~Ecclesiastes 8:16-17  (The Message)

We’re puny humans with gigantic egos.  We SO want to be “little gods” that we take the truth of the Word and twist it for our understanding.

Human wisdom is so tiny, so impotent, next to the seeming absurdity of God. Human strength can’t begin to compete with God’s “weakness.”  ~1 Corinthians 1:25 (The Message)

Why can’t we let the Word be the “settling factor”?  It is from this Word we have been given understanding of God the Father and the Son.  If it was “good enough” to inform us of Christ, why isn’t it “good enough” to inform us of life?

The beginning of wisdom is to fear the Lord and acknowledging the Holy One is understanding.  ~Proverbs 9:10  (New English Translation)

I desire understanding.  I want to know the mind of God.  I will dig into His Word and let that settle it for me.  As Dan so aptly declares, it “…is irrelevant if what this blogger supports is not the theory most strongly supported in Scripture.”  AMEN!

No qualifiers.

How about you?

21 responses »

  1. The problem you are discussing has often arise among believers as well. I chose to believe that God loves the pastor of a prominent mega-church just as much He does a serial rapist.

    But I say, “I chose to believe” because I know that a great many people–especially Christians–simply cannot accept that God’s great and perfect love applies to those from whom we chose to separate ourselves, that His amazing grace is for the sweet little old lady as much as it is for the serial killer.

    When someone listened to “When Lightning Strikes” in my podcast, the response I got was, “This is tough stuff.” And I thought, “Why? Isn’t this what you have been taught since you were young? Isn’t God’s grace as much for me–who lost a friend, one who suffered from being sexually abused as a child, to suicide–as it is for that ACCUSED rapist I invited to my house for a Bible study?”

    I keep going back to that moment because I have never LIVED a better explanation of God’s grace. Christ is the only One who has ever fully understood and lived and taught God’s amazing grace…

    …and He was crucified for it.

    But you’ve got to live before you can teach. Or preach. Otherwise, your words don’t carry the weight of spiritual discipline. Why else would Christ fast for forty days and nights BEFORE He started His ministry?

  2. By the way…great post, Sis. 😉

    That really brought a lot of things back into focus for me, in a good way. Even the comment by Phat. 😆

    Yeah…I chose to believe. 😎

  3. Very good points. We do tend to get in the way a lot and lean on our own wisdom and understanding. And I like the reminder that whether we want to believe it or not, truth is truth.

  4. Amen! I would add that we have to, have to, HAVE TO, be in God’s Word in order to believe it. There are many interpretations, many scholars–formal and informal :), and many “wise (wo)men” but we are asked to read the Word for ourselves. To disect it and lean on God for understanding. To allow the Holy Spirit to discern and give us wisdom. Then we shall know….the truth….and the truth…..shall set us free. Love you Sis!

  5. PS I almost want to sing that Shrek song [my own version of course]: “And then I saw His face, now I’m a believer, not a trace, of doubt in my mind. I’m in love, I’m a believer, I couldn’t leave Him, if I tried.” *prancing around the office* [in my head of course] 8)

  6. Absolute truth!

    I know it’s not Politically Correct – but sometimes that’s the clue I need to know if something IS true. 😉

  7. “I’m a Believer” . . .I remember the Monkees 1966 version (I’m old…) 🙂
    Concerning our opinions, how many times have we’ve been to Bible studies that are more about “what do YOU think?” and patting ourselves on the back for thinking, than about studying with the five “W”s and applying what it says? I know I have been to a few. . .

  8. I always love when it is acknowledge that “YOUR” belief isn’t what makes the truth of God THE TRUTH. It just IS, not b/c you believe it. That has no bearing on whether it’s the TRUTH or not.

    But I also do say “I believe” when it comes to it. I guess we should say “we KNOW it is TRUTH” huh? 😉

    Love you!

  9. oh this is so true, but goes against my upbranging in our “truth is relevant” culture.
    ugh
    ugh
    ugh
    i think i’ve been brainwashed!!!

  10. Oh, I love this!

    However we choose to see things, the absolute truth remains.

    Most often, it is our perspective that is at fault.

  11. Hey Y’all – These scriptures help to show the time in which we are living. They seem to be describing exactly what we are witnessing in the world and the churches today.

    For there will be a time when people will not tolerate sound teaching. Instead, following their own desires, they will accumulate teachers for themselves, because they have an insatiable curiosity to hear new things.
    ~2 Timothy 4:3

    But false prophets arose among the people, just as there will be false teachers among you. These false teachers will infiltrate your midst with destructive heresies, even to the point of denying the Master who bought them. As a result, they will bring swift destruction on themselves. And many will follow their debauched lifestyles. Because of these false teachers, the way of truth will be slandered. And in their greed they will exploit you with deceptive words. ~2Peter 2:1-3

    So we are no longer to be children, tossed back and forth by waves and carried about by every wind of teaching by the trickery of people who craftily carry out their deceitful schemes. ~Ephesians 4:14

    The best antidote is a full knowledge of God’s Word – don’tcha think?

  12. This should be a sermon. I mean. it is…here. but this needs to be preached on Sundays. just like it’s written here. This is so good Michelle!

    Bwan – i love what you said here. It is what it is, what it is. Whether we believe it or not. God is God and truth is truth – and it, HE, will win out.

  13. Interesting timing in this post about TRUTH and where it lies- in Scripture. We’ve just begin a short series for a monthly men’s fellowship in a chapel on Ft. Carson addressing the Bible, that speaks to the character of God’s Word, how it is accurate in so many things and that will focus on how cults and Christians twist it – especially Christians.

  14. Thanks, Tam, I’ll let you preach it anywhere you want.

    It is so sad, Dan, the way Christians twist the Word to say what they want it to say – to tickle the ears. Yes, those Sunday School classes where we all share our “opinions”…when I looked up the greek for “destructive heresies” the definition was “opinions.” Quite telling, that.

    Brandy, I love your pic!! Does this mean I need to do a new Picassohead? I say “I believe” and “I think” all the time, but when it comes to scripture, I think we better “know”.

    Yeah, Mandy, being brainwashed is a good way of putting what has happened in our society. Very sad and we’ve all been tainted to some degree or another. Ugh.

    To align ourselves with scripture, instead of seeing things from our perspective, Sherma, that’s the test, isn’t it?

    Amen, Gchyayles, “To dissect it and lean on God for understanding. To allow the Holy Spirit to discern and give us wisdom.” Being bathed in prayer before we begin studying, asking for God to open our hearts to the Truth. It reminds me of Jesus’ prayer, “Sanctify them in the truth. Thy word is truth.”

    Yes, HW, to get ourselves out of the way and let Him speak, what a challenge!!

    Hey, Nor, our lives are to be a reflection of the truth we have learned – if they’re not then we become a false testimony, huh? Like Dan said, we need to be studying with the 5 W’s and applying what we’ve learned.

  15. yes. you need to do a new picasso of bwan. im thinking of a new avatar for me just so i can get more art from you too!

  16. This is great Michelle! It’s amazing how quickly I allow my opinion to be the authority… that’s the culture we live in right now and even though I know better I catch myself sliding into this mentality.

    Thanks for this!

  17. Hi there Miss Michelle…how ya been???? This is an excellent post! Thank you. It amazes me how even within the body, everyone has their own truth. Their own interpretation. I’m guilty of this as well at times until I simply go to the One who spoke it to begin with. Asking our Lord for wisdom and knowledge and clarity with things that may be fuzzy…. and daily studies in His word is the only way to come to a full understanding. It’s wonderful. Love you!

  18. Tam, I LOVE Picassohead – give me a challenge – I’ll take you up on it!! 😉

    Hi, Jenni! Glad to see you here…love your blog and your heart. It is so easy to do, to think we are the end-all of whatever we determine to be truth. Especially when we love to be right – talking to myself here. 😳 Make yourself at home here – I love seeing new faces. 🙂

    Hey Debs!! Hope your summer is great! Darla’s gonna be there in just 5 days!!! I told her to give you and Tam big hugs and kisses from me – so if she throws herself at you – know it’s from me too!! That daily time with Him in the Word and prayer – that’s the clincher. ♥ U2

Leave a Reply

