Not Perfection, But Forgiveness

Standard

“It wasn’t the Romans who nailed Jesus to the cross.

It wasn’t the spikes that held Jesus to the cross.

What held Him to that cross was His conviction that it was necessary that He become sin — that He who is pure become sin and that the wrath of God be poured down, not upon the creation, but upon the Creator.”

I lay down My life for the sheep…I lay down My life, so that I may take it back again. No one takes it away from Me, but I lay it down of My own free will. I have the authority to lay it down, and I have the authority to take it back again.

~John 10:15-18

“When the One who knew no sin became sin for us, when the sinless One was covered with all the sins of all the world, God didn’t call His army of angels to save Him. He didn’t, because He knew He would rather give up His Son than give up on us.

Regardless of what you’ve done, it’s not too late.

Regardless of how far you’ve fallen, it’s not too late.

It doesn’t matter how low the mistake is, it’s not too late to dig down, pull out that mistake, and then let it go — and be free.

What makes a Christian a Christian is not perfection but forgiveness.”

~Max Lucado, Walking with the Savior

So then, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; what is old has passed away – look, what is new has come!…We plead with you on Christ’s behalf, “Be reconciled to God!” God made the one who did not know sin to be sin for us, so that in Him we would become the righteousness of God.

~ 2 Cor. 5:15-21

When I say…“I am a Christian,”
I’m not shouting, “I’m clean livin!!!”
I’m whispering that “I was lost,
Now I’m found and forgiven.”

When I say…“I am a Christian,”
I don’t speak of this with pride.
I’m confessing that I stumble
And need Christ to be my guide.

When I say…“I am a Christian,”
I’m not trying to be strong.
I’m professing that I am weak
And need His strength to carry on.

When I say…“I am a Christian”
I’m not bragging about success,
I’m admitting I have failed
And need God to clean my mess.

When I say…“I am a Christian”
I’m not claiming to be perfect,
My flaws are far too visible
But God believes I am worth it.

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I still feel the sting of pain.
I have my share of heartaches
So I call upon His name.

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I’m not holier than thou,
I’m just a simple sinner
Who received God’s good grace, somehow!

~Maya Angelou

14 responses »

  1. “What makes a Christian a Christian is not perfection but forgiveness.”

    Statements like this get me into such a monstrous uproar that I want to start Throwing Thunderbolts…

    …but you know what? I’ve had a really seriously tremendously bad couple of days so I’m going to spend the afternoon at the movies.

  2. I believe this was written by Angela Mayo…I do have this one..and it is always good to remember.

    IT is always a good reminder that Jesus held himself there on the cross, fulfilling his fathers will, to free me, you and anyone else who will believe.

  3. Thanks, Darla!! I should have researched it…just took it at someone’s word they didn’t know the author. Now I found two more stanzas!! 😉

  4. im being selfish here and saying…

    i totally needed this today.

    how did you know?!

    🙂

    i love you!

  5. Great post. the popular notion is it was only Jesus’ love for us that held him to the cross. Love may have been a factor, but our sin held them there, as well as obedience to the Father. After the last Passover meal with His disciples, He said::

    “I will not speak with you much longer, for the prince of this world is coming. He has no hold on me, but the world must learn that I love the Father and that I do exactly what my Father has commanded me.
    “Come now; let us leave.” – John 14:30-31

  6. That is one of my favorite poems by Maya Angelou. I read it out to my church on Women’s Day during the welcoming of visitors. My intention [spirit] was for people to not feel like they had pre-requisites for being in the Father’s house. No. All are welcome.

    Praise God that He is a God of a million chances and then some. Praise God that there is no more guilt. Praise God that we are all fearfully and wonderfully made by Him, called according to His purpose and trained to bring Him glory. Don’t get me shoutin in here, Sis….love you!

  7. Cathi: 😀

    Sherma:
    I’ll tell the world that I’m a Christian,
    I’m not ashamed His Name to bear.
    I’ll tell the world that I’m a Christian,
    I’ll take Him with me everywhere.

    Dan: Love that! “The world must learn that I love My Father and do exactly as He has commanded” ~Jesus

    Gchyayles: Thanks for helping me get the name straight – at first I didn’t even give her credit – Darla helped me there – now I hope I have the spelling right.

    Shout all you want – I’m used to it!!! Love you,too.

    Sam:
    He could have called 10,000 angels,
    To destroy the world and set Him free.
    He could have called 10,000 angels,
    But He died alone for you and me.

    Thanks ALL for helping me to have a personal praise time!! I needed it today!!

    ♥ U ALL!!

  8. What makes us set apart isn’t because we “live better” or “act better” than other people. It’s God’s grace that replaced OUR past with HIS holiness.

    Great post and great poem.

  9. Hello, Brad! Welcome! Love this: “replaced OUR past with HIS holiness.”

    AMEN!!

    For the longest time (on other people’s blogs) I’ve been reading your name as BaDruggles – don’t know what’s up with that – good to see it clearly now. Much nicer as Brad. 😉

Leave a Reply

