Through the Storms

Standard

My blog stats are dropping!! Time to write a new post and back to the true mission of considering Jesus.

The problem is…I’m worn out. We’ve had such stress the past couple of weeks; it’s been difficult to think of anything to share. Sometimes the praise comes easy. But, other times…I feel as though I’m fighting to keep from drowning in a sea of desperation.

As NorEaster expresses, the storms of life can last many years, changing from light showers to heavy precipitation, to violent squalls and sometimes growing as ginormous as hurricanes. The past two weeks we’ve experienced increasing turbulence in our stormy season.

But…He is bigger than the storms!!!

The storms do not cause Him to fear.

He commands the storms to cease at will…His will.

I take great comfort in knowing He is Lord over all the storms of my life. I am in the palm of His hand. He will call it off when it’s time for the storm to stop. If He’s allowing the boat to rock, I don’t need to worry. If He’s taking a nap, I can take my cue from Him and rest as well.

The disciples went to him and woke him up, shouting, “Lord, save us! We’re going to drown!”

And Jesus answered, “Why are you afraid? You have so little faith!” Then he stood up and rebuked the wind and waves, and suddenly all was calm.

The disciples just sat there in awe. “Who is this?” they asked themselves. “Even the wind and waves obey him!” ~Matthew 8:25-27 (New Living Translation)

I say this confidently…today.

I am resting…today.

Tomorrow? I may be back to a woman of little faith. But I do hope, through these trials, I’m learning more to trust Him.

How about you? How do you handle the storms of life? What truths has He whispered into your ear to bring peace in the midst of the storm?

15 responses »

  1. He whispered in my ear just today – through someone else (but i KNOW it was from HIM) it was a confirmation of an earlier thought – that even in my trial, even in the times when i know I am not in His will, HE STILL LOVES ME. He still offers grace and peace and mercy, strength, wisdom, a way out, LOVE! His love will not fail me. And HE will not let go! In spite of who I am…He holds tightly.

  2. ♥ you Michelle! still praying for you and yours, and sometimes ( I thnk) the trials although hard for us, are the times when HIS presence is so very awesome…looking back on some very serious times in my life, and the things that broke my heart to pieces…Now I look there and the first thing I think of is “how very sweet HE was to hold me, to love on me, and to pull me in HIS shadow”… i wouldn’t change them now, but then I did alot of screaming..”Fix this!” HE really did fix me. Love you and just blog what is on your heart…your readers love you too!

  3. Tam said:
    “His love will not fail me. And HE will not let go! In spite of who I am…He holds tightly.”

    I’m holding on to this truth today, thanks.

    Darla said:
    “then I did alot of screaming..”Fix this!” HE really did fix me.”

    This really spoke to me. I’ve been asking for extravagant grace and complete mercy – He has given amazing grace and sufficient mercy. He’s fixin’ us…

    Ric said (speaking truth through Paul and Silas):
    “you will be saved—you and your household”

    Praise God!! Thank you for this reminder – He is good. We will receive the extravagance and completeness of His plan, in His time. Thanks!

    Y’all have ALL encouraged me today – bearing my burdens and lifting my head – amazing! ♥ ♥ ♥ Y’ALL!!

  4. Romans 8:28-31

    28 And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him who have been called according to his purpose. 29For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the likeness of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers. 30And those he predestined, he also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified.

    There’s a truck load or two, or three, of good theology in these few verses, but I am not going there. Notice that this could be one long statement (it might have been in the Greek – Eph 1 is really one long sentence). Sadly, we tend to just stop with verse 28 when the entire ‘golden’ chain of redemption is clearly articulated. Also note the verb tense indicated that it has already been done in the council of the Trinity before time began! Now verse 30 REALLY packs a punch!!!!!

    31What, then, shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us?”

  5. OH, thank you, Dan! AMEN and AMEN!!

    He has shown Himself as our Provider over these years of struggle. Yesterday we truly saw how He has been paving the way for our family from the beginning.

    You know the verse in Psalm 139: You chart the path ahead of me and tell me where to stop and rest. Every moment you know where I am.

    We may have felt lost from time to time, wondering who had the power over our lives; but we’ve seen now how He stepped up at every turn and lead us down the path He would have us go. AMAZING!!!!

    THANK YOU for this beautiful reminder – the ‘golden’ chain of redemption…

  6. What Truths???

    Well – primarily…

    above ALL others…

    that…

    it is LOVE that will bring us all together in Him. 🙂

    Pure Love – when we let His into our hearts and let go of that which is not of Him/it.

    Love you Sis 🙂

    <B

  7. My heart says that God takes slower times in our lives [eg, lower stats] to prepare us, to encourage us, and to motivate us for what He’s preparing! I’m glad you’re here!!!

  8. I love the saying “Don’t tell God how big your storm is, tell your storm how big your God is.”

    He is the One constant in a storm. Relationships may change. Finances may change. Location may change. Loyalities may change. Friends may change. Hey, even spouses may change. But God’s peace is constant. Praise God!

    I have found that the enemy works hard to steal our praise when we’re going through a storm. Sometimes I fall for that and spend a day or two wallowing in self-pity and feeling terribly depressed and then God FORCES me [GLORY TO HIM!] to praise and worship Him and I come out on the other side, renewed, strengthened and prepared to face the storm. Note: the storm hasn’t changed but I have through Him who strengthens me and gives me joy.

    Our storms are meant for sharpening and deliverance. This storm in particular that I am facing now is clearly leading me to complete healing and deliverance from past pain. If we didn’t go through that, we wouldn’t be a new creation, leaving old things behind and embracing everything that has become new.

    As tough as the storms are and as painful they feel, I am willing and ready to face them so I can be new, healed, delivered, redeemed and most of all, closer to the Promised Land, overflowing with milk and honey.

    HALLELUJAH!!

  9. Love will bring us together – His love in our hearts! I’m so thankful He brought you to me, Brother Love!!

    Cathi, I think your heart speaks beautifully…I’m so glad you’re here too!

    Gchyayles said:
    “…As tough as the storms are and as painful they feel, I am willing and ready to face them so I can be new, healed, delivered, redeemed and most of all, closer to the Promised Land…”

    Me too, Gchyayles. I want my “stuff” worked out beforehand, to be changed from glory to glory to glory…AMEN!

  10. Hi Michelle!

    How do I handle storms?

    I go down on my knees.

    And I allow myself to remember that the storm will pass, and that I will not just survive it, but will become a better person because of it.

    I also try to remember that I have a lot to be thankful for — that things could be worse.

    I also turn to my loved ones for support. They are the angels God sent to guide me.

    And I become calmer.

    Sometimes, things are more difficult to handle. There are times when I cannot help feeling down.

    But often, things work.

    Then before I know it, the storm has passed.

    Hope you are fine. 🙂 God bless.

  11. Me too, Sherma, on my knees is where I get things understood. Thank you for the words of encouragement and the hugs! 😉

  12. How do you handle the storms of life?
    PRAY PRAY PRAY

    What truths has He whispered into your ear to bring peace in the midst of the storm?
    When we were in the ambulance taking Owen to the hospital after he went unconscious, I was praying, and suddenly I felt calm as I HEARD God say “I won’t let him die, I will take care of him, he will be okay, I won’t take him from you.” I knew from that moment on, Owen would be fine. And he was. 😀

    This happened months ago….right before Owen turned 7 months. Back in February or March…. you can read about it on my blog. 😉

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

