God Changes Plans

Standard

Have you ever had your plans, your marvelously detailed plans, squashed?

I married a spontaneous man. He loves to think of new ideas, dares to dream big, and jumps off without a second thought.

I’m a planner. I think about whatever I want to accomplish, I draw it out on paper, I look into cost and logistics before determining a course of action.

We’ve had an interesting life. The first time his way confronted my way was in our third year of marriage. The plan was to finish up grad school and move on to seminary. He thought a quick trip to England would be good…I thought he was crazy! We were poor college kids. Well, I had been teaching school, but considering Oklahoma was ranked 49th in teacher pay, and we all know teachers don’t make enough to begin with, that didn’t amount to much.

I thought we needed to talk this over with our parents, thinking they would set him straight, help him to see his idea was nuts. They agreed with him.

In three months we were off — flying through the skies to a distant land in search of adventure.

I thought we were crazy, excited, but crazy! That trip to another country changed my world completely.

My thoughts changed…in every realm I became a different person…philosophically, theologically, financially, educationally, ecclesiastically…all changed.

Our life might be changing yet again. My perfectly planned course might be taking another turn. We’ll know soon enough…it could be the adventure change of a lifetime…

Come now, you who say, β€œToday or tomorrow we will go into this or that town and spend a year there and do business and make a profit.” You do not know about tomorrow. What is your life like? For you are a puff of smoke that appears for a short time and then vanishes. You ought to say instead, β€œIf the Lord is willing, then we will live and do this or that.” But as it is, you boast in your arrogance. All such boasting is evil. So whoever knows what is good to do and does not do it is guilty of sin. ~James 4: 13-17

I’ve been one who boasts…I’ve been arrogant…He is showing me, AGAIN, Who is in control.

Please pray for us as we come to grips with His will for our lives and His plans for our future.

31 responses »

  1. We’ll be praying too. I can only imagine what that change might be. The will of God sometimes can become complicated if we neglect the simplicity of his will, as written in Ecclesiastes “Ecc 12:13 Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God, and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man.” It is not always, “Lord should I go this way or that way, what is your will for me.” If we go back to the scriptures it will lead us back to the will of God which involves living for God as in Jn 4:23-24. If I don’t know what to do then what I do is what I am instructed to do,

    Deu 6:5 And thou shalt love the LORD thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy might. Psa 37:4 Delight thyself also in the LORD; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart. Mat 6:33 But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. Php 4:7 And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. Isa 26:3 Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.

  2. Thank you, Ric. Wednesday is a crucial day for our family, if you remember we would appreciate your prayers then too.

    Hello, Online, I’ve never seen you here before. Welcome and thank you for the scriptures, they feed me well. πŸ™‚

  3. Hmm…maybe you need a visit to the TreeHouse again…? I hear there is some good stuff stashed away in there now. πŸ˜‰

    By the way, not like you won’t know soon enough, but I just put up the “Official Charter” passage for The Church of Misfits. I think you’ll find Hope in David’s words. I know we did. πŸ˜‰

    Ah. Another verse just came to mind: “Trust the Lord with all thine heart, and lean not unto thine own understanding.”

  4. I know what you mean about plans and all, I’ve been there. I am also a person who likes to plan for example my madre used to write up a schedule for our family for the day and one time my bro had to be rushed to the hospital to get his appendix removed. It wasn’t too serious my fam got him there soon enough and he had his appendix removed the next day. And, being the sweet sister I am πŸ˜‰ , I spent the whole time complaining that this was ruining our schedule, that we had a schedule to keep and we weren’t doing so. lol! So yeah, I understand where you are coming from and I am still learning that I can’t predict what will happen from one second to the next. And yet “I can do all things through Christ who strenghtens me. (Phil 4:13)”

    I’ll be praying for you and your fam.

    G

  5. Good morning Sis!

    I’m singing “Hold on to His hand…God’s unchanging hand…” While plans may change, God is always consistent. Mercy. Grace. Love. Abundance. Healing. Deliverance. Joy. That is who the God we serve is the epitome of.

    I am praying for you and your family. Know that God has plans to prosper not harm you. The enemy tries to convince us that God’s plan is flawed or that it will bring us harm but he is a liar and we know that God’s truth declares that His plans ultimately bring everlasting life.

    During testing times, I am greatly encouraged by:

    For the rest, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is worthy of reverence and is honorable and seemly, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely and lovable, whatever is kind and winsome and gracious, if there is any virtue and excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think on and weigh and take account of these things [fix your minds on them]. Phillipians 4:8 [AMP]

    Love you so much! Have a blessed day and I will be petitioning God on your behalf on Wednesday πŸ™‚

  6. Thank you all. Not really in a place to respond with my usual wordiness…

    Though He slay me — I will trust Him.

  7. I’ll be praying as well.

    ‘Sounds like your marriage is a lot like mine with Nick =).
    I’m learning to trust (in God THROUGH him) more though =}.

    Funny, I always thought Sarah was kinda crazy to put up with some of Abraham’s warped schemes, but finally realized she was trusting GOD to rescue her (and HE always came through =)!

    Really though, I’m finding it’s the ‘balance’ God uses to bring our different ‘bents’ closer to one another and Him, and it’s amazing how evident it becomes over the years together (sometimes even to the extreme of ‘tendency reversal’ =).

    Keep praying, trusting and obeying,
    D-

  8. Praying for you sweet friend. Finally got the “meme”…sorry it took so long. Jer and i will pray without ceasing until we hear what wonderful thing our Lord does in this….Love you! πŸ™‚

  9. I’m the spontaneous jump out of the airplane type, and my husband is sooo not! So far he hasn’t agreed to move to Australia, Mexico, or Ethiopia… although adopting our daughter was HUGE for him! πŸ™‚

    I’ll be praying that you know the Father’s heart.

    Love,
    Heidi

  10. Praying for you Michelle – Mama and I have the same dillema – I tend to be more spontaneous – I can drive her nuts! but over our 43 years of marriage we have both learned to pray more and maybe compromise (both) after fair discussion.

  11. Very nice blog and post too! Came by chance and loved it.
    Yes, God is in control. My father always said, there is nothing called coincidence, but all is planned by God.
    God bless!

  12. Hello, Papa, it’s great to see you here. I enjoy reading your comments throughout our community. We so appreciate the prayers. Tomorrow morning will be a big day for our family, if you remember we would love to have your extra prayer support then.

    Welcome, Nina. I’m glad you chanced by – but I’m with you, is anything really a coincidence? Come back anytime, would love to see you here often.

  13. My sister in law likes to say “Make plans and hear God laugh” b/c it seems that God’s plans are ALWAYS different from our own and it is never MORE evident than when we like to “make” plans of our own. I think planning is really just wishful thinking. Only God knows our definate plan. Amen right? πŸ˜‰

  14. You know…I really like the newly enlarged avatars in the “recent comments” file. It was just such a treat to come here this morning to check up on my lil sis and see her smiling so brightly with that lil pup, Sam. And then, of course, there was Alece, Brandy, and Darla, too. Beautiful women on a rainy day…my morning is getting better by the minute.

    Sometimes, a smile in a storm is all it takes for a sunrise.

    Keep smiling, girls! πŸ˜‰

  15. Hmm. Whatever it is, go for it. Don’t look back and just run with whatever it is God handed you.Roll with it. No regrets. Carpe Diem. Life is short. (Gosh, there are so many cliches available) Anyway, God’s got you in the palm of his hand – how bad could it be?

    As John Lennon said, “Life is what happens when you are busy making plans.”

  16. hey sweet thang! you are on my heart, and praying and praying for you and yours…i am not going to stop praying for you after today…I don’t know what God is doing but I know HE is doing!!! Amen! Love you precious Princess!

  17. EVERYONE:
    It’s so good to come home from a terribly hard day and see all these wonderful comments. My family has truly felt the strength of your prayers today. God’s grace is amazing and He chose to be merciful to us.

    We have a long row to hoe with our son. Our trials are very real, but we will persevere for none of us want to stand in shame at the Judgment Seat of Christ. Each of us, my husband, my son and myself, do believe we will be called to give an account for our life on earth. We want to come through the Refiner’s Fire as gold, silver or precious gems, and we see it matters what we do in this life for the “well done, good and faithful servant” to be said of us.

    Our trial isn’t over but we have been given a measure of grace to be able to persevere. Thank you ALL for your prayers. Anytime you think about us, we would appreciate a “shout out” to God on our behalf.

    I LOVE Y’ALL ♥ ♥ ♥

  18. 17 Behold, happy is the man whom God correcteth: therefore despise not thou the chastening of the Almighty:
    18 For he maketh sore, and bindeth up: he woundeth, and his hands make whole.
    19 He shall deliver thee in six troubles: yea, in seven there shall no evil touch thee.
    20 In famine he shall redeem thee from death: and in war from the power of the sword.
    21 Thou shalt be hid from the scourge of the tongue: neither shalt thou be afraid of destruction when it cometh.
    22 At destruction and famine thou shalt laugh: neither shalt thou be afraid of the beasts of the earth.
    23 For thou shalt be in league with the stones of the field: and the beasts of the field shall be at peace with thee.
    24 And thou shalt know that thy tabernacle shall be in peace; and thou shalt visit thy habitation, and shalt not sin.
    25 Thou shalt know also that thy seed shall be great, and thine offspring as the grass of the earth.
    26 Thou shalt come to thy grave in a full age, like as a shock of corn cometh in in his season.
    27 Lo this, we have searched it, so it is; hear it, and know thou it for thy good.
    Job Ch 5

    we have searched it! so it is!

    we all love you ‘Chelle. ♥♥♥

    and you made your comment pics bigger!!!

    Ne’er said it right… all y’all ARE beautiful
    Sam is adorable πŸ™‚

    <B

Leave a Reply

