Zechariah “Yahweh Remembers”

Standard

Sam Writes 2 tagged me with a meme I can get into! The original meme came from Subversive Influence. I don’t really like memes – I have an aversion to them. Ignorance is bliss…sometimes.

But this tag is about the Bible – my FAVORITE book EVER! To narrow it down to one book of the Bible is very difficult. I tend to spend most of my time in Psalms and the Epistles. I need to keep my mind on praising God and knowing how to walk in a manner worthy of the Gospel.

However, over the past few years I have come to LOVE the book of Zechariah. Some of you know that politically, I back Israel. Honestly, I feel God has more to say about that country and definitely the city of Jerusalem, where He has established His memorial name forever, than any other geographical region on earth. I don’t see the promises as only spiritual – I also see them as literal. So, with that in mind, I LOVE the book of Zechariah.

I came across these three statements that help to clarify the purpose of the book of Zechariah:

1) The transcendent God is working out His eternal purpose for Judah and Jerusalem, equipping His covenant people to fullfill the role for which He chose them.

2) God’s kingdom will be established thru struggle and tension.

3) A Deliverer will bring a time of ultimate blessing.

~the NET bible at bible.org

So now I will tag five more people: NorEaster, God’s Gal, Overcomer, Serendipity, Lovewillbringustogether. Give your favorite book and tell why. Can’t wait to read what y’all have to say.

21 responses »

  1. Gosh, this whole “tag” thing just isn’t working out for me. I wrote one yesterday after a delightful and beautiful lady tagged me–her name is Cindy Beall–but when I read this morning and realized that I was talking about my socks, I just…That’s not happening. I’ve read some of Cindy’s blog and I think she has an extraordinairy talent, but the “tag” thing just…That’s not happening for me.

    But now I’ve got write a book about post?

    Err…I’ve got to write a post about a book?

    Mmn…I’ve got to write a tag about blog?

    Uhh…I’ve got to write a blog about a post?

    Maybe I’ve got to tell you what my favorite book is this time?

    Easy.

    The one I wrote. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. OK – I’ll accept that…I wasn’t as clear as I thought…

    BUT – if you will read the links – you are to choose a book from the Bible that is your favorite…

    and tell why. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I don’t know if it was an open invitation but my fav. book of the OT is probably Isaiah because it was a passage in there (55: 6-9) than turned me around and I’ve never been able to look back since.

  4. The invitation is always open! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I love that passage as well – it blows me away how He speaks so clearly through His word!

    Thanks for stopping by…Michael?

    Isaiah 55:6-9 (New American Standard Bible)

    Seek the LORD while He may be found;
    Call upon Him while He is near.
    Let the wicked forsake his way
    And the unrighteous man his thoughts;
    And let him return to the LORD,
    And He will have compassion on him,
    And to our God,
    For He will abundantly pardon.
    “For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
    Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD.
    “For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
    So are My ways higher than your ways
    And My thoughts than your thoughts.

  5. A book from The Bible that is my favorite?

    Right now, probably Matthew. Because it shows how Jesus always emphasized the INTENT of The Mosiac Law instead a set of rules and regulations. Very spiritual. And it’s that meaning–the intent–I want written in my mind, my heart, and my soul.

  6. Yay, NorEaster! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Matthew is great! I love all the OT references to show Jesus’ rightful place as Messiah. We’re studying the Sermon on the Mount this summer — makes me feel stronger to understand the Kingdom of God has come into my heart through the Holy Spirit…and someday SOON He will set up His Kingdom on earth…which takes me back to Zechariah!! ๐Ÿ˜†

    ♥ U

  7. Hey, as long as I’m getting closer and closer to Him in the meantime, it’s all good! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Hi Michelle! Cool meme! I’ll have to give it some thought…I’m like you, I love the Psalms….so I’ll probably post in the morning. Hope all is well with you, love you and catch up with you soon…oh, you, me Israel!!! YAYAYYAYAY~ Wanna go? ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. My fave is James. I love how straight forward he is. He doesnt beat around the bush at all. its black and white, yes or no. Period. i love that in a person. I would totally hang out with James.

    i know this wasnt very deep but my little girl is sleeping right next to me.

    ill get back to you tomorrow with my fave verses from James…

    GREAT Meme!!!

    Love you Michelle!!

  10. We must be ‘linked’. Ric tagged me with this meme and in posting guess who i linked to??? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Then i saw your post and comment when i dropped by to let you know!

    My fave boonk is Matthew – same as NE’er’s – for much the same reasons i’d say.

    The Lord’s Prayer, The Golden Rule ( God’s Greatest Commandment), Semon on the Mount, beholding the spec in my brother’s eye without removing the beam in my own first – so much Wisdom!

    ♥ U

    <B

  11. [I have identical responses to your post and love’s hehe]:

    YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY you picked me, you picked me [think donkey from Shrek]

    I love Proverbs. I learn something new from it every time I read it. I just feel like I could never get enough of Godโ€™s Wisdom.

    I also love Psalms. Something about Davidโ€™s call to God in his time of anguish resonates with me. Oh how I have called on God in my anguish and confusion and how He has responded faithfully just like He did with David [the same God, yesterday, today and forever, praise God!]

    This is not a book persay but I guess you could interpret it as Matthew, Mark and Luke all in one but I am very drawn to the story of the woman with the issue of blood. It has to be my favorite story in the Bible. That woman is me. Emotionally and spiritually I had been โ€œbleedingโ€ for years and He healed me with just one touch of His garment. That story just gives me chills everytime I hear it. It just reminds me of Godโ€™s awesome power to deliver and heal and He doesnโ€™t even expect us to work for it. GLORY TO GOD!

  12. NorEaster: It’s all good! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Debs: Let’s go — I can start packin’ right away! ๐Ÿ˜†

    Tam: James is so practical — Kind of hits you between the eyes — Makes me wonder what life must have been like with Jesus as an older brother…my faves

    From James 4 — Come now, you who say, โ€œToday or tomorrow we will go into this or that town and spend a year there and do business and make a profit.โ€ You do not know about tomorrow. What is your life like? For you are a puff of smoke that appears for a short time and then vanishes. You ought to say instead, โ€œIf the Lord is willing, then we will live and do this or that.โ€

    Love: We’re linked…we are One in the Spirit we are One in the Lord… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Gchyayles: This is the best meme I’ve ever come across [but then, I’m not real good about the whole meme thing…] I like to know what speaks to people. It kind of tells me where they’ve been and where they’re goin’.

    The woman needing an instant touch from years of sickness…yeah…I get her too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Praise God from whom all blessings flow!!
    Praise Him all creatures here below!!
    Praise Him above ye heavenly hosts!!
    Praise Father, Son and Holy Ghost!!

  13. exactly! i like practical. i get that! tell me the way it is rather than send me on a goose chase. i SO want to hang with James Heaven!

  14. we are One in the Spirit we are One in the Lordโ€ฆ

    well… YEAH! – but we have established through HIm a ‘direct’ connection i feel :-).

    Maybe it’s just cos in many ways – we think ‘alike’ ๐Ÿ™‚ Must be dad’s genes?

    love you Sis.

    <B

  15. i don’t know how to ping back…so I am letting you know that I have done my tag on my blog…love ya and lifting you in prayer and asking all to do it without knowing anything and believeing God knows what you need..HE does you know!

  16. It’s difficult to name a book. It would be much easier to name a favorite chapter perhaps, or maybe section of a chapter, or favorite ‘verses’. As for this post, your comments concerning Zechariah are interesting, especially the comment about the establishment of God’s Kingdom. There is a move afoot these days that proposes we are to establish that Kingdom and authority to usher in the 2nd coming.

  17. I have always loved Matthew – and then maybe James as it’s companion read.

    Matthew is the one gospel – if it was all I had from the bible – I would get a very well rounded view of what Jesus’ teachings were all about (namely the sermon – but even the parable are great). It also reads very well and is organized better than the other gospels – with the beatitutdes serving as an index to the teachings coming and the ‘follow me’ idea serves as the paradigm.

    James, is the letter that almost seems to be based solely on that gospel (in my opinion) – and really hammers some points home about ‘following Jesus’ – namely one point the church struggles with – works and faith theology/doctrines. James also is the only letter to make a definition for religion – and what good religion is. I read that letter and I always get something new to think about.

  18. Tam and Society — James never fails to convict me. I love the call to pure and undefiled religion: to take care of widows and orphans in their distress. Society, Matthew 5-7 keeps me on my knees.

    Love and Darla — thank you both for your continued prayers. ♥ U

    Dan — I’ve heard that teaching and I think it can lead us to support things contrary to God’s word…looking for a “leader” on earth to help us “bring in” His kingdom. If we read carefully I think we see it will get worse and worse until He steps down and sets it all right. We’re not going to get our needs met on earth, only through Christ are we sealed until the Day (Matt. 24). That’s what I’m thinking…

  19. Michelle, I think you nailed it. We are told of a great falling away. The Joel 2 latter day outpouring seems to be connected to just before the 2nd coming.

  20. Which I understand is toward the end, if not THE end, of the Great Tribulation. I guess the question for some, are we already in the last days of tribulation?

    I’m not sure where I stand on the rapture of the church…I really don’t think we’ll be taken out of much of the final seven years before the millenial reign. I think I’m a mid-tribber (I don’t believe we’ll have to endure the bowls of God’s wrath – however long that may last).

    As bad as it is, I still think we’re just beginning to feel the birth pangs. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

