It’s Not Easy Being Green

Standard

Like trees planted along a riverbank

I love trees. Throughout the yard twelve Crepe Myrtles in a variety of colors with showy flowers are beginning to bloom. The Live Oak, planted eight years ago, is now taller than the house. The Bluepoint Junipers are the perfect shape and size for Christmas lights this year. I found a stunning dwarf crimson Japanese Maple and planted it outside the kitchen window. The gnarled old Yaupon Holly could use an uplight to show off after dark.

I LOVE TREES! They make me smile. I don’t have enough room to plant all I would like to enjoy. My yard is now full — I must quit planting or we will be living in a deep dark forest, on a very small lot, in the middle of suburbia. If we had a few acres and a sparkling stream I would landscape a paradise.

Water, of course, is essential for healthy growth. I live in Texas and it gets very hot; many months of the year we have mandatory rationing of our water. Some of my plantings have suffered, some show signs of stress. Living on rolling acres with a constant source of water, perhaps a bubbling spring from a deep artesian well, where the trees are never stressed and the colors are vibrant from plenty of nourishment, well…that’s a dream to me. Imagining a place like that sounds a bit like heaven.

Whoever drinks of the water that I will give him shall never thirst; but the water that I will give him will become in him a well of water springing up to eternal life. ~John 4:14 NASB

Let your roots grow down into Him and draw up nourishment from Him, so you will grow in faith, strong and vigorous in the truth you were taught. Let your lives overflow with thanksgiving for all He has done. ~Col. 2:7 NLT

Blessed are those who trust in the LORD and have made the LORD their hope and confidence. They are like trees planted along a riverbank, with roots that reach deep into the water. Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought. Their leaves stay green, and they go right on producing delicious fruit. ~Jer. 17:8 NLT

What is your source of nourishment? How do you withstand the long months of drought? Do your leaves stay green and do you still produce fruit under stress?

16 responses »

  1. Pingback: It’s Not Easy Being Green

  2. We have eaten fruit of the Tree of knowledge of good and evil – not yet of the Tree of Life.

    The Essene Jesus knew of the fruit and of the Tree of Life. (the works of translation of Dead Sea Scrolls by E.B Szekely describe Him/them).

    The waters above give to thirst of our spirit, the waters below give to thirst of our body. We have need of both.

    My source of greatest nourishment? – Love!

    As for my fruits and droughts – to everything there is a season … Ecc 3:1.

    πŸ™‚

    <B

  3. Honestly. my source of nourishment isn’t always what it should be. I am not happy to admit that. but i will be honest about it. And the nourishment that i all too often seek that is not of God, never, ever satisfies my thirst and hunger. I get depleted. and fast! no. my leaves do not stay green under those kinds of conditions – but my roots always redirect me. for that i am thankful.

    also, there are beautiful, breathtaking trees around me that provide enough oxygen for me until i “get it”. Thank you for that Michelle!

  4. So many poetic writes here. Love it.

    Heavy doses of sunshine nourish me. And I do produce fruit in droughts of stress but I usually don’t notice it until after the rain.

  5. You’re right, Ric, everyone has a beautiful way of expressing themselves. It’s interesting to see where we each turn for nourishment.

    NorEaster hears a faint whisper…

    Love seeks Love…

    Tam finds encouragement through others…

    Ric enjoys heavy doses of sunshine…

    And we, who are in Christ, have the wellspring of His Spirit within…we can tap into His stream of living water and and be nourished. We can drink liberally from Him and be filled to overflowing. He does quench our thirst if we will go to Him for sustenance.

    Good stuff, y’all! πŸ˜‰

  6. ” Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where He prayed.” Mark 1:35 NIV

    He can still be found there =), and without meeting with Him, I’d die of ‘thirst’ for sure! HE is my sustenance, though that definitely includes His Word too (often spoken and written through His other ‘kids’ like ‘y’all’ as well =)!

    D-

  7. Hey, Laz! I’ve missed you around here, had computer troubles?

    I couldn’t do it without His Word. It speaks, chastizes, soothes, sings, nourishes, cuts, comforts, heals, nurtures…

  8. my favorite poet is God (and then Ric-love ya brotha)
    Isaiah 61: 3
    …to bestow beauty instead of ashes,
    the oil of gladness instead of mourning,
    and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.
    They will be called oaks of righteousness,
    a planting of the LORD for the display of his splendor.

    inspite of ourselves, we are a display of his splendor, redeemed, blessed, loved, accepted, adopted into his family. our fruit is his, and he amazingly causes us to be fruitful most often in our lowest times while in the valleys, and like Ric said we don’t usually see it til after the rain.

    Michelle- you are fruitful, and I see it.
    Tam- you are fruitful and I see it.

    God has blessed me to have you all as part of my life on this journey, and fruit for the journey is awesome!

  9. Darla, I love you!!!

    Thank you for that beautiful passage…it came at a most opportune time…the reminder is the Lord’s speaking through you to me…thank you for being a willing vessel. ♥ U

  10. Michelle,
    I’ve already used up my song lyric about a tree a while back.
    My nourishment, a stream of living water I’m trying to stay planted by.
    Withstand drought? Grow deep roots.
    Fruit? Only if shade can be considered.
    I aspire to the imagery of the Cedars of Lebanon used for Solomon’s Temple but fear I’m still too much like a Mesquite – painful to handle sometimes and good only for barbecue.
    -Sam

  11. “What is your source of nourishment? How do you withstand the long months of drought? Do your leaves stay green and do you still produce fruit under stress?”

    Talking to God in the early morning as I look out upon all He has created,and letting Him speak to me.

    Resting in Him, complete surrender when I can’t pray or even think. He refreshes me, He lifts my head, awake or asleep it matters not to Him.

    I think I was so “goal” or “mission” or “no mistakes because their are consequences ” that I was not producing fruit. That hurts my heart. I can honestly say I have grown hugely in this last couple of years in that area. Glory to our King!

  12. Kermit’s Kool 8)

    Sam? You sell yourself short (as so many of us are wont to do, i fear)

    I posted this elsewhere today – hence it sprung instantly to mind on reading your post…

    Mesquite: The bean pods of the mesquite can be dried and ground into flour, adding a sweet, nutty taste to breads, or used to make jelly or wine.

    When used in baking, the mesquite flour is used in combination with other flours – substitute ΒΌ cup-to-Β½ cup mesquite flour for each cup grain or rice flour. Mesquite is used in breads, pancakes, muffins, cakes and even cookies. Mesquite can also flavour steaks, chicken, pork & fish. It can be added to vegetable stir-fries, scrambled eggs, soups, even ice cream.

    So – not only good for barbecue! πŸ™‚

    Hi Sis! πŸ™‚ did you notice all comments so far are descriptions of Jesus in each life?
    (the whisper of His WORD, LOVE, found in OTHERS (neighbours), SONshine, Him found through quiet prayer,a stream of Living Water…)

    Not so surprising given the company here πŸ™‚

    Hope you are finding His Arms open for ‘support’ and strength as needed.

    love you,

    <B

  13. Hey, Sam, Mesquite trees are one of my favorites! With their gnarly trunks, sprawling branches and their feathery leaves blowing in the wind – what character! Have you ever seen cabinets made out of mesquite? Beautiful! Keep going deep into the stream, the shade is quite pleasant from my perspective.

    Hello, His Life, glad to see your here. I love this, “Resting in Him, complete surrender when I can’t pray or even think. He refreshes me, He lifts my head, awake or asleep it matters not to Him.” He is so good that way! I am experiencing His holding me when I can’t pray or even think. Amazing.

    Hey, Big Brother! Thanks for bringing more perspective to the many benefits of a Mesquite. [Did you read Love’s comment, Sam?] And the descriptions being about Jesus – thanks for pointing that out. I am staying close to His strength, He’s holding me up. ♥ U 2!!

    Have a great day, ALL! πŸ˜‰

  14. Thanks for the post Michelle. As always, you bless me with your wisdom and encouragement πŸ™‚

    Anything that nourishes me has God behind it. So I premise this comment by saying God nourishes me.

    Prayer nourishes me. I have never failed to feel strengthened after a long, heart-to-heart with my Father.

    My husband’s love and comforting words nourish me. God continues to show me unconditional love through my husband.

    God’s promises nourish me. For I do not live by bread alone but by every word that proceeds out of God’s mouth.

    I love how love said that to everything there is a season. I am in agreement. When my season of drought comes I trust God to hydrate me. Period. It’s never easy but He is faithful to come through. During drought(y) seasons I find that having praise music helps to keep praise continually on my mouth which reminds me of how good God really is; during ALL seasons.

    Be blessed sis :mrgreen:

  15. You are such an encourager, Gchyayles! It’s wonderful to see your face in the comments…I know I’ll end up smiling!

    Prayer, my husband, His promises…you got it! πŸ˜‰

    The praise music has kept me from sinking into despair MANY times…it’s a great way to keep the Scriptures on the mind.

    Thanks, Gchyayles! :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

