Well Content With Weakness

Standard

I am not a healthy hiker. I would love to be and hope someday for complete healing, but at this point in time, I am not.

It feels good to be healthy and sucks (sorry, Mom, I hate that word too, but it fits in this instance) to be weak, yet God tells us we are strong WHEN we are weak. How so? If we have anything to boast about in weakness, it is that our strength is in the Lord. No doubt enters our mind, “Was that me or Him?” We KNOW it was Him because we were totally unable to DO what was required.

Have you been there? Completely unable, within yourself, to be sufficient for the task at hand. You know the task must be done and yet there is no strength. You ask for His strength, His love, His endurance to get you through and suddenly you’re able to walk, to forgive, to hold fast to the end. Tears turn to joy, frowns to smiles. Failure in holding fast turns to victory in abiding under. Ask God for the strength to endure. Request of Him the sufficiency to make it through.

“To accept God is to admit failure, a step we are hesitant to take. We opt to impress God with how good we are rather than confessing how great He is. We dizzy ourselves with doctrine. Burden ourselves with rules. Think that God smiles on our efforts.

He doesn’t.

God’s smile is not for the healthy hiker who boasts that he made the journey alone. It is, instead, for the crippled leper who begs God for a back on which to ride.” ~Max Lucado

We do not make requests of You because we are righteous, but because of Your great mercy. ~Daniel 9:18

If I have to boast I will boast of what pertains to my weakness…He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. Therefore, I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong. ~2 Corinthians 11:30; 12:9-10

I am a crippled leper and am so thankful for the ride.

21 responses »

  1. “We opt to impress God with how good we are rather than confessing how great He is…”

    …and I, for one, NEVER understood just how GREAT He really is until I realized that what the world saw as a curse–my hearing loss–He meant as a blessing.

    And that is exactly what it is to me–an asset, a blessing, a GIFT. And yet, I do not say this lightly, as if I have spent the past two decades filling my head with religious cliches and pat answers. No. No, I don’t. And No, I haven’t. I say this because I have lived with my “weakness” long enough to see the truth in my own life and my own experiences, but foremost in His strength.

    Paul was spot on with that one. πŸ˜‰

    And it looks like I got the Comment #1 again! Yay! πŸ˜†

  2. boasting in Christ! Its all about HIM all the time..and I am so good with that! Love HIM! Love HIM! Love HIM! In my weakness HE is strong…love seeng that , and know first hand that HIS strength is something to behold!

  3. Hey, Nor ( ♥ my first commenter) and Darla ( ♥ your ♥ )!

    I almost took this post toward the Name El Shaddai…God Almighty…the One who is Sufficient to meet our needs…the Pourer-forth of Blessings…the mighty mountain of God, the breast that gives complete sustenance…what an amazing God we serve!!

    When He calls us in total weakness He is faithful to sustain us with His power.

  4. We are called to Submit. – to be weak before Him so that His strength can enter us.

    The Sermon on the Mount Matt Chap 5 is ALL about our submission – that our own will and ego not be strong within us but we become seemingly meek and mild, poor in spirit. SO that His Greater Will and Spirit is able to become as our own within us.

    Our will wants strength for itself only – for no other. it is the thing that is to be watched for and overcome at all cost – we are to die to it.

    Only when it ( our ego) is fully submissive – when ‘we’ are weakest – can we find His Kingdom to enter it.

    Except we become as (His) little children….

    <B

  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m glad to meet a fellow Texas gal.

    Great post! I’ve seen HIS glory and HIS grace when I am weak. It is all about HIM, not me. I am nothing without Christ.

    Have you seen Prince Caspian yet?

    Blessings in Christ–

  6. Paul is right on. It is that heart that I have striven to have of my own. Being content in my weaknesses or affliction does not mean I have given up – it means that I trust HIM who knows what is best and does all things for HIS glory, not mine! I am just a humble servant.

  7. Good Morning, Love. I just started a study on the Sermon on the Mount. Understanding we have nothing within ourselves to give (poverty of spirit), from a position of total humility, then we are given the Kingdom of Heaven. πŸ™‚

    Welcome, Shonda, glad you stopped by. We are going to see Prince Caspian today…can’t wait! πŸ˜‰

    You said it, Tam! It isn’t about giving up but giving in to His sovereignty. Less of me, more of Him. πŸ˜€

  8. Weakness seems to feel indefinite when we’re experiencing it doesn’t it? I am amazed at the power in the statement defining the promise that “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” I have gotten through my fear of needles during a blood test with that statement and co-chairing a church gala during a terrible flare of IC and many other instances where His supernatural strength replaced my weakness.

    And yes, for all that and more, to God be the glory! He is worthy to be praised. Not by my own works but by His grace and love for me that I am strengthened both naturally and spiritually. Hallelujah!

  9. Morning Sis – looking forward to your thoughts on Matt 5. πŸ™‚

    Hope your Strength (from Hm) improves daily and that that part of you fighting against your body is weakened day by day. ♥

    <B

  10. Michelle,
    Another nice post.
    Yup, from my point of view “Pride Kills.”
    God has healed me and mine of any number of ailments.
    He has been El Shaddai and Jehovah-Gireh for us lately.
    Shoot, I’d go so far as to quote Isaiah 40:29-31. But it’s been overused a bit.
    In my own life, God took me from back surgery for a broken vertebra that resulted in a collapsed lung on the surgical table and accidental morphine overdose in ICU (and I didn’t sue for malpractice) to running up foothills with my dog only months later.
    Just a few miracles. The spiritual lessons learned don’t stick unless I tell them but you pretty much did that for me with your blog entry.
    Thanks.
    -Sam

  11. Amen, Gchyayles, Hallelujah!! He is the One who knows exactly when and where we need the strength. Our God is SO good.

    Love, I’m looking forward to the truths found throughout the Sermon. πŸ˜‰

    Good morning Sam, you have been through much…I needed the reminder from Isaiah, I copied it for anyone else needing the encouragement.

    Ric, I’m coming over to reread Wounded Healer, I hope it’s easy to find. πŸ˜‰

    Do you not know?

    Have you not heard?

    The Lord is an eternal God,

    the Creator of the whole earth.

    He does not get tired or weary;

    there is no limit to his wisdom.

    He gives strength to those who are tired;

    to the ones who lack power, he gives renewed energy.

    Even youths get tired and weary;

    even strong young men clumsily stumble.

    But those who wait for the Lord’s help find renewed strength;

    they rise up as if they had eagles’ wings,

    they run without growing weary,

    they walk without getting tired.

    Isaiah 40:28-31 (the Net Bible)

  12. I love this translation of the line “Even youths get tired and weary.”

    How many times have I heard that I’m young and supposed to be energetic and full of life. Not tired. But God knows, I am tired on many days. I am weak on many days. I am weary on many days. And that is when He raises me. Praise God!

    Morning Michelle πŸ™‚

  13. I felt the same way when I read it – had never really heard it that way before. I’m not so young anymore, but I remember as a youth I felt tired much of the time. Now I know, it was probably the illness that plagues me today – early onset.

    Praise God – He is the One who raises us!! Have a great day, Gchyayles!

  14. What an awesome post….It’s so good that God uses us in whatever state we are in, and even better that He can and does heal us in an instant…There are too many who focus on their infirmities instead of God, and the hope that is in Him who heals. It can become debilitating and consuming….

    You have a very special gift Michelle….I am blessed to call you friend. Hope your day is wonderful! ♥ & hearts;

  15. Michelle,
    You wrote “Good morning Sam, you have been through much.”
    Just to clarify, God has brought me through much. God really has worked miracles in my life and I’m as quick to forget as the Jews wandering the Sinai behind Moses.
    Without the work of the Holy Trinity in my life I’d have been a goner a long time ago.
    You helped remind me of God’s glory and work in my life, your life and the lives of others here.
    Surely everyone stopping by here has a testimony about how God healed or strengthened them?
    -Sam

  16. Thanks, Debs, God is faithful! If I don’t stay focused on Him, I quickly go downhill. He is the lifter of my head.

    Yes, Sam, God has brought you through. We have some great testimonies here…maybe we need another Testimony post? πŸ˜€

  17. Way to prompt a soul search. This is a testimony prodder for sure!

    I also love the “that had to be God” moments in life. We’re living one now…a house in south florida on an ohio pastor’s income…God does it every month. Every. single. month.
    It just has to be God.

    I like that He likes that. He’s a jealous God, and I believe He creates opportunities for us to do just what gch said earlier…to give Him ALL the glory

  18. I needed to read this again Michelle. Thank you. Feeling weak today in so many ways but joyful for His strength that is available to me. Praise God! Love and blessings XOX

  19. I believe it is too, Cathi. He has a way of taking what we see as impossible and showing us His faithfulness.

    He’s really 😎 that way.

Leave a Reply

