God Sees Our Hearts

Standard

While man looks on the outward appearance, I am so thankful, God looks upon the heart:

To: Jesus, Son of Joseph
Woodcrafter’s Carpenter Shop
Nazareth

From: Jordan Management Consultants

Dear Sir:

Thank you for submitting the resumes of the twelve men you have picked for managerial positions in your new organization. All of them have now taken our battery of tests…As part of our service, we make some general comments for your guidance…

It is the staff opinion that most of your nominees are lacking in background, education and vocational aptitude for the type of enterprise you are undertaking. They do not have the team concept. We would recommend that you continue your search…

Simon Peter is emotionally unstable and given to fits of temper. Andrew has absolutely no qualities of leadership. The two brothers, James and John, the sons of Zebedee, place personal interest above company loyalty. Thomas demonstrates a questioning attitude that would tend to undermine morale. We feel that it is our duty to tell you that Matthew had been blacklisted by the Greater Jerusalem Better Business Bureau; James, the son of Alphaeus, and Thaddaeus definitely have radical leanings, and they both registered a high score on the manic-depressive scale.

One of the candidates, however, shows great potential. He is a man of ability and resourcefulness, meets people well, has a keen business mind, and has contacts in high places. He is highly motivated, ambitious, and responsible. We recommend Judas Iscariot as your controller and right-hand man. All of the other profiles are self-explanatory.

We wish you every success in your new venture.

Sincerely,

Jordan Management Consultants

Eating Problems for Breakfast by Tim Hansel, Word Publishing, 1988, pp. 194-195

But God chose what the world thinks foolish to shame the wise, and God chose what the world thinks weak to shame the strong.  ~ 1 Corinthians 1:27

Aren’t you glad man wasn’t consulted before choosing the twelve…or…before choosing you?

18 responses »

  1. Yes, I am. I really am. And I’ll tell you why…

    When I was 18, my college professors would always tell me that I was capable of doing much, much better than I was actually doing. At the time, I was getting B’s and C’s on most of my tests. In my second year of college, I made the Dean’s List. Twice. And by the time I had finished my four-year degree, I had made the Dean’s List several more times.

    When I was 26, I actually had a professor tell me that I shouldn’t apply to grad school–even though my GPA was, well, pretty good. Oh, sure. She was polite about it–“You have a lot of other interests…we get a lot of applications…I don’t think grad school is right for you…” Well, of course, that didn’t stop me. I applied. And got accepted.

    But here’s the punchline–When I was 18 and getting B’s and C’s, I could hear just about as well as anyone. So I could do “much better.” By the time I was 26, I had lost 40% of my hearing. So grad school was “not right” for me.

    Isn’t that something?

    Of course, now I’ve lost 60% of my hearing. So I guess people are going to start telling me that I shouldn’t be driving…

    …Good luck.

    I’m not listening. To them.

    I’ll listen, instead, to Someone Else. 😉

    In the eyes of the world, I actually seriously literally am a FOOL.

    To God, however, I am fool who can shame the wise. Because God’s wisdom is infinitely greater than that of this mad, mad, mad, mad world. And He has been gracious enough to give me a grain of sand of that wisdom.

    So, yeah. I’m glad God makes His own decisions. 😉

  2. Good words, NorEaster.

    People’s opinions don’t amount to much in God’s eyes. It’s funny how we think, what WE think, is so important, when, in reality, it doesn’t matter much at all. OK, maybe for the 75+ years we live here, but after that, what we built our life upon won’t matter one bit if it wasn’t truth, THE truth, God’s truth.

    I had a counselor in high school do something similar – told me she wasn’t sure if I was very well suited for college – would only be a C student. I graduated with honors, thankyouverymuch!! (ooo, that sounded a bit prideful, and even more than a bit, since I’m not deleting it 😉 )

    They can call us foolish – we are – fools for Christ.

  3. Oh absolutely! Praise God that He sees in us what no one else does. Pakistani culture is big on specific professions–doctors, lawyers, engineers–equating them to prestige and honor. My family wasn’t thrilled about me being in social work and I constantly felt bad about it or felt that maybe I wasn’t “prestigious” enough but after I got saved and truly understood that it was a calling from God, I was completely confident and bold about my profession and why I chose it. And I think about so many people in this world who may not have gone to college or may be doing something else with their lives but are looked down upon instead of people realizing that God has a specific calling for everyone’s lives; some are meant to go to college, some are not. Some are meant to be lawyers, some are not. Some are meant to be janitors, some are not. In ALL of these things though is one common thing which is that God gives everyone gifts and talents and then calls them according to His purpose where they can use those gifts and talents! I always say things like praise God for doctors because I am too weak-hearted to be one or praise God for people who clean because I’m allergic to most cleaning products and would have a hard time. A lot of people tell me “praise God for you, we wouldn’t be able to handle the emotional trauma in working with domestic violence survivors.” PRAISE GOD PRAISE GOD! He is the one who calls. He is the one who assigns. He is the one who is glorified. Hallelujah!

  4. You know, Michelle…Maybe one of these days I’ll write a post about what it is REALLY like for me to be hard-of-hearing. Hmm. Yeah. Maybe.

    gchyayles…Nice to meet you. Quite a comment you’ve posted there! 😉

  5. Great story, Gcyyayles! I have a Filipino friend who is a doctor. He had to move to the states to practice because being a doctor in the Philippines is not considered prestigious…it’s interesting, the diverse views throughout the world. Thanks for sharing. 😉

    Yes, NorEaster, do that…help us understand.

  6. NO DOUBT!! I got chills when I got to their last paragraph. 😯 Seriously, chills.

    It’s also scary to see what the world looks at as worthy and acceptable. It’s soooo backwards. 😦

  7. Yeah, Brandy, it’s so backwards. I got a bit of a chill when I read it too.

    Sure hope you’re settling in well, creating a safe haven for your man and a learning environment for those boys…what a fun time of life you’re in…enjoy as much as possible. Did you get my email with the homeschool info.?

  8. Awesome Post and a great view.
    I was told that I could never be anything.. because I’m a stutterer.
    Today I speak at women’s meetings. hmmmm…
    I believe God took over!!

    I’ll be back!

  9. OH Michelle! Yes I did get it and I keep forgetting to tell you. 😳

    I read through it once and am keeping it to go through it again. You had some very helpful stuff in there. 😉 Thank you so much!

    Check out MandyMom on my blog. She is an unschooling homeschooler. She even had an unassisted homebirth with her last baby. 😯 WOW.

    Love ya!

  10. Glad to see you here, Heidi. God definitely took over, from a stutterer to a speaker, kind of like Moses, huh?! Please do come back. Good looking blog you have there…I’ll check more out later. 😉

    Good to know, Brandy, I rambled on so and didn’t keep a copy…I will check her out…this is definitely NOT the Mandy we both know and love… 😯 😆

  11. When God chooses, he provides the necessary ‘tools’ to fulfill his purposes. I’m reminded that Jesus reminded the 12 that He chose them, not the other way around. A hint of sovereignty there. . .

    BTW, if you have not read John MacArthur’s “12 Ordinary Men”, it’s a good one.

  12. Dan, Thanks for the book recommendation. I’ve been wanting one that would tell me about the twelve – does he give any historical references outside of what the Scripture says (ie Polycarp, Iraneus,… those first and second century church leaders)?

  13. I am SO thankful!! In my life, there weren’t necessarily words of discouragement keeping me from becoming anything, but rather, silence. No words at all. No encouragement. I think in the absence of encouragement, discouragement just naturally grows. Especially if you don’t have a relationship with God, as I didn’t growing up. Neglect speaks loudly. Hmmm. Neglect….disapointment….I think I’ve just found another link to what God was speaking to me about yesterday that I shared in your other post Michelle. Perhaps I should just continue on through your posts and let Him share the whole picture with me? LOL!
    Guess I’m having coffee with you this morning Michelle:)

    NorEaster….you mean your NOT still 26???? LOL! Actually my first clue that you are not a young spring chicken was a response in Michelles other post, where you wrote ‘dag burnit” or something to that nature! LOL! But young at heart, you certainly are:)

  14. This popped up on my computer screen. I believe it was delivered by God. Thanks. It is wonderful and made me laugh.

Leave a Reply

