Facing Real Guilt

Standard

“I feel so guilty” is a common phrase in my mind.  Honestly, I struggle with guilt feelings because there is a standard of living I am not able to fulfill.  My guilt is irrational, based upon an overactive conscience and a legalistic upbringing.  I see imperfection and recognize my lack of energy to “fix” things, and beat myself up.  It is Satan’s way of keeping me down and I give in to his taunts when my helmet of salvation is not firmly fixed on my head – around my mind.  You see, I have come to Jesus and have accepted His gift of salvation.  Now, I must actively “take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ” and frisk the thoughts that get past my helmet.  It’s hard work, some days harder than others.  But I know I am His and He is mine so I press on toward the goal….

My struggles with false guilt are not everyone’s struggle.  Some people are truly guilty for they have never come to God for salvation, they are still trying to work their way to heaven or conceptualize a guilt-free life.  Give it up.  It can’t be done.  Having your conscience clean happens at the cross, realizing He paid it all and He will redeem your past with new life in Him.

I found this excerpt, again, from the book, Pleasing God by RC Sproul:

In considering guilt we must be careful to distinquish between guilt and guilt feelings.  Guilt feelings are subjective.  They arise from within us.  We can feel guilty even when there is no guilt.  Guilt, however, is objective.  It involves a real state of affairs.  Whenever we sin we incur guilt.  Guilt involves a debtor relationship to God.  It is tied to sin.

The Westminster Catechism defines sin as “Any want of conformity to, or transgression of the Law of God.”  This is a masterful definiton.  It captures both sins of omission and sins of commission.  When we fail to  conform to the Law of God, we fall short of what God requires.  We do not do what God commands.  That is a sin of omission.  When we transgress the Law of God, we do what God forbids.  This is a sin of commission.

Either way, by ommission or commission, if we violate the Law of God we incur guilt.  That guilt is real and objective.  It is also devastating.  Appropriate guilt feelings may of may not accompany guilt.  We know that guilt feelings make us uncomfortable.  We employ numerous devices to rid ourselves of those feelings.  We excuse ourselves.  We rationalize.  We shift blame to other people or to our circumstances.  We blame society.  We blame our environment.  We blame parents.  We appeal to everything we can to escape the pain of personal responsibility.  We use every kind of avoidance mechanism, because our guilt is indeed great.  It is too much to handle, and unless we cope with it in the right way — appealing to the saving work of Christ — we spend valuable time and energy running from guilt.

We have learned to harden our hearts.  We can lose the capacity to blush.  Jeremiah declared the word of God to Judah:  “You have had a harlot’s forehead; you refuse to be ashamed” (Jeremiah 3:3).

The rest of the chapter is excellent but the quote is getting too long.  My point: We must distinguish between real guilt and false guilt.  Some of us have false guilt, a tactic of Satan to keep us down and ineffective for the Kingdom of God.  If we have come to Jesus for salvation, we are clean.  However, we will violate the Law of God by sins of omission or comission, even after salvation.  We must deal with sin in the proper way.  We must determine to not hide from what God has strictly forbidden and refuse to blush.

Now this is the gospel message we have heard from Him and announce to you: God is light, and in Him there is no darkness at all. If we say we have fellowship with Him and yet keep on walking in the darkness, we are lying and not practicing the truth.  But if we walk in the light as He Himself is in the light, we have fellowship with one another and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin. If we say we do not bear the guilt of sin, we are deceiving ourselves and the truth is not in us.  But if we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous, forgiving us our sins and cleansing us from all unrighteousness.  If we say we have not sinned, we make Him a liar and His word is not in us.   ~1 John 1:5-10

If we are willing to blush over the transgressions we know we have committed against the known Law of God, we can be free of real guilt.  If you struggle with false guilt, take the thought captive, look at it in the light of His word.  If you have sought forgiveness previously, you are clean before your Lord, no need to continue asking for forgiveness for the same sins.  He promised to remove your sin as far as the east is from the west.  Put on your helmet of salvation and walk in confidence before the Lord.

44 responses »

  1. I once heard the same ideas described as “good guilt” and “bad guilt,” but it was nice to get a more in depth perspective. I still struggle with false guilt at times, but I think that has more to do with, say, a low self-esteem that comes from losing so many people at a (relatively) young age. And I think I had mentioned in “When Lightning Strikes”–which was my second Essay–that “nothing has made me feel like such a failure as much as losing someone I care about to suicide.” There are times that is still there, still comes up. Sometimes, I can beat it back down. Other times, it gets the best of me. But, even when that happens, I keep walking…

    …with my helmet. 😉

  2. I wonder how much of what we have to overcome goes back to hurts we’ve endured, things we’ve blamed ourselves for when God doesn’t see it like that. I mean, yeah, I have committed sins that must be forgiven, but I struggle with shame over things I could not control. That’s when I feel Satan is “dancing a jig” ’cause I’m all uptight over something beyond my ability to change – the low self image that comes from being wrongly used. It’s terribly damaging and not at all how God wants us to be thinking.

    To keep walking – to stand firm against the fiery darts of the evil one – to put on our helmet of salvation and hold fast our shield of faith… 😉

  3. I think we are WAY more concerned about our failings than God has concern. He simply doesn’t want to see us hurt ourselves or anybody else. We beat each other up all the time.

    My wife used to teach a “Self-Image” seminar at a youth camp. She had three points: you suck; there’s nothing you can do about it; God loves you anyway.

    It is very freeing to give it all over to God and not worry or feel guilty about our shortcomings. Not to embrace them; simply to put it in its proper place.

  4. “We use every kind of avoidance mechanism, because our guilt is indeed great. It is too much to handle, and unless we cope with it in the right way — appealing to the saving work of Christ — we spend valuable time and energy running from guilt.” (Sproul)

    I have some observations about this – concerning guilt – guilt is a ‘good thing’…reminds us we have wronged another and we need to make that ‘right’ again (relationship wise) – basically, that need for repentance.

    My question would be – hoe does this forgiveness with the Christ work? Do we just turn to God when we wronged someone and that takes care of it? Is there something we need to do when we wrong another?

    I notice Sproul says ‘appeal to saving work of Christ’ – which is really quite vague actually – but that’s why I raise the questions. The saving work of Christ actually prods me to make things right with ‘the other’ I have wronged first and foremost – and then take this to God (showing our true sincerity in the repentance part).

    As for guilt, guilt actually can produce in us the thing we need to feel to know we are wronging someone – and that we need to bridge what we did (fix what we did). Repentence is a teaching of Jesus – and mentioned right next to kingdom of God in importance in Matthew. Guilt, can lead us to actions of repentance (on that I do agree with the author).

  5. I haven’t read this RC Sproul book but I have read some…I love you sister, and I know about guilt, and hanging my head. I know about how the enemy pushes my buttons…honestly if he has been doing that to you..then it mus be the impact of you blog and comments on others, that really has him ticked off. Oh well, he will have to get over it!

    Father God, right now in this moment, I praise you as my King, and the majesty, and beauty, and power that you are to me. Bowing my heart to you. I lift up my sister to you, and place her at your feet to restore her, in the way that you want for her. I pray against the enemy in his rage to silence her through guilt, and pray your hedge of protection around her. She is yours and YOU are hers. Thank you for the encouragement that she is to me, and pray for her peace and rest today as fills up on YOU and all that YOU are to her and in her. YOU are a great God , how we love YOU, and are desperate to become more like your son. Always in Jesus precious name, your princess

  6. Hey, Bad! Your wife sounds like a down-to-earth woman with much no-nonsense about her (in my book those are great compliments).

    I know some people have no difficulty overcoming their failings for whatever reasons, my husband being one of them. He was born and raised with a can-do attitude – more sanguine than melancholy – a much easier temperament for dealing with failures.

    Then there are those, like myself, who always see how life could be better. We’re needed for many reasons in this world, but loving ourselves while seeing our imperfections/failings is a definite weakness. Most of my struggles come from my inward tapes. I must diligently take those thoughts to the Lord and listen to the truth He gives. It can be a battle dependent upon many factors.

    I “frisk” my thoughts by running down the list given in Phil. 4:8 – it helps me to fight the battle with a sharpened sword. 😉

  7. Darla, you are sweetness personified. Thank you so much for that prayer and your words of encouragement. You are a blessing to me!! 😀

    I do believe it is a spiritual battle we’re facing – the deceiver will do anything to keep us quiet – sometimes I just get louder when I know that’s what’s happening. 😉

  8. Totally, Society, I believe we are to always “make it right” with anyone we have wronged!

    Some things we can’t make right because it’s just “who we are”, sinful beings in need of a Savior. We have hearts that are sick and desperately wicked. When we’ve sinned against another, if we will humble ourselves and ask forgiveness, great!! But we have still sinned against Almighty God in every little act we do and in being born with sinful hearts.

    Sproul started the chapter with a discussion of the holiness of God and how everyone understands and fears the God Who Sees, whether or not we recognize our point of fear. There is a God who sees all, knows all, and One who forgives all…if we will believe in His gift – His Son who takes away the sins of the world.

    When I am humble in spirit, recognizing my poverty of spirit, that there is no good in me that I can give to God that is acceptable enough – all my righteous deeds are as filthy rags – to allow me into His presence. Then, I turn to the One who came to seek and save the lost, who I know I am, lost and desperately wicked. God, then, imputes Christ’s righteousness to me. He has become my scapegoat and all my sins have been laid upon His head, He is the Passover Lamb who has inaugurated the New Covenant. God’s righteous judgment passes over me for the Lamb’s blood has been placed upon my heart’s doorpost. My heart of stone becomes a heart of flesh and I can now walk in newness of life. Humbly, asking Him for guidance every step of the way.

    That’s what Sproul eloquently explains in his book. It’s a great read.

    Glad to see you back, Society!! 😉

  9. I don’t know if my guilt serves as a reminder as much as the memory does. The guilt pushes me to make right a wrong. I should no longer, after righting a wrong, “feel” guilt for that situation…especially since I should also be working on correcting the behavior in which I allowed to cause an offense, whatever that may be. There are times when i reflect on bad decisions and sin when I am “reminded”, not guilt ridden for Christ took care of that, to not repeat that behavior again.

    I feel no more guilt over my abortions. I do not feel shame any longer. But i have the memory of them and they stick with me. I am grateful for them because they remind of who i do not want to be and how far I have come. They also keep me sensitive and aware of another’s feelings who might be going through the same thing – therefor I can minister to them out of redemption instead of guilt. One approach comes with joy and other comes with condemnation.

    Great post and so thought provoking!!!

    And…

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE YOUR PIC!!!! You are a beautiful sister!

  10. AMEN Tam! that is the deal!! NO guilt, but a memory of where we have been and how far we have come all to the Glory of God, our awesome deliverer, and the Ultimate Warrior, who rides in and pulls us out of those pits…I am so excited tonight is CHrist, and for no special reason except that HIS love is so amazing!!!

  11. Hey girls! I get what you’re saying and agree that we do not need to carry guilt over past sins, we take those things, once for all, to Christ, and we are washed clean.

    I’m speaking more to the psyche of damaged spirits – to those who struggle with shame from abuse. False guilt. It’s very hard to talk about and something I do not share in detail, but I was sexually abused as a young child (not anyone in my immediate family). The damage of a young child from being wrongly used by others scars so deeply in the development of the child that, at times, it can be an ongoing battle as an adult to feel worth. You believe there must have been something innately wrong with you to have been such a target. It takes some a lifetime to overcome, and some people are never able to get past the ingrained thoughts. It’s a struggle that has led many to suicide, some of us won’t ever take such an action, so we continue to take our feelings of false guilt to the Lord.

    His love is amazing and I know He will never leave me or forsake me, but dealing with my inward tapes can be hard. I’m doing it, with victory, but I share what I do for others who may also struggle in this way. He is good – I have no doubts about that!! 😉

  12. Michelle- I too have been abused and gone through the mud and mire..I do know shame and fear, and now I teach to women about these same things, taking off the mask and allowing God to heal the wounds and know that HE has taken away our shame..HE is the lifter of my Head! Love you!

  13. Amen! What a wonderful post. We all have our pasts which are shameful…sadly it’s the world we live in. BUT God’s forgiveness and healing is an amazing gift if we’re able to let go and take it all in.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog to comment! I appreciated your kind and supportive words. Thank you.

  14. how extremely sad that yet another person, me, is coming on to say i was sexually abused too. it was traumatic. it left a scar for sure. for years i looked at other men the way i looked at my abusers. then one day it hit me that i cannot convict someone else for another persons crime. i don’t know why that very thought released so much built up heaviness on and over me. but it did. i eventually realized too that the abusers had deep problems, not me. i was the victim. but i was the victim then – not a victim today. I got to a place where i finally became angry that i had allowed them to steal so much of my life away.

    each persons path to healing is so different. but i know we each here are victors through Christ!

  15. Thanks, Blessed One. By His grace we can walk in newness of life.

    Hey, Tam. I often wonder how many of us are out there, who need to feel the presence of God, and know He heals every hurt. I have been helped in the healing through Christian counselors and studying the word, learning the truth. God speaks so beautifully through His word and it feels like water washing away the pain when I read it.

    We are victors through Christ!! 😉

  16. i think we’d be surprised how many people we’d find with the same secret. likely many we know. I know it’s hard for a lot of people to understand but, yes, you are right on – His word is healing. His presence is so comforting and safe. I wish everyone would choose to bask in it. if just for a fraction of a second…they’d never want to leave…

    i so enjoy reading your post and comments. so much wisdom Michelle. How I would love to sit over a cup of coffee with you in “real” life and be enlightened with all you have learned and experienced in your life with God. Thanks for sharing all that you do with us here. you have quite a ministry!

  17. I find it incomprehensible that in my ‘Enlightened’ country it is estimated that one in every FOUR children is abused in childhood.!!!

    While i pray that not all those are abused sexually and need to go through both the pain, fear, guilt and anger and related emotions their abuse has caused those brave enough to comment on the subject here and in other blogs i read… the number is abhorrent and almost incomprehensible to me.

    I have a good friend in her 80’s who shared with me that her husband abused her daughter and she could not believe her own child when she tried to tell her waht was going on. !!

    This issue NEEDS ro be talked about more to WAKE UP those people who are in positions to stop it – and have the support for all those who need to when they feel ‘powerless’ to prevent or report it.

    I salute your courage, wisdom and ability to overcome against seemingly overwhelming odds Ladies ( and any men who have endured similar).

    Sad as it is – we are most often in danger of those closest to us than strangers – or foreigners!

    ONE will conquer ALL fear. He is LOVE!

    <B

  18. Tam – Sitting over a cup of coffee, sharing our stories and what we’ve learned, that would be almost like heaven on earth, don’tcha think? 😉 Your words humble me and cause me to want to dig deeper to live up to the wisdom you think is there… 😳

    Love – It is terrible what sin in the world and in our lives has wreaked…We just watched the movie “Babel” the other night, I had never seen it before. It isn’t a good one for many reasons, but the point was driven home that pain is universal, we are all suffering. I look forward to the day when it will ALL be redeemed.

    But you, brethren, are not in darkness, that the day would overtake you like a thief; for you are all sons of light and sons of day. We are not of night nor of darkness; so then let us not sleep as others do, but let us be alert and sober. For those who sleep do their sleeping at night, and those who get drunk get drunk at night. But since we are of the day, let us be sober, having put on the breasstplate of faith and love, and as a helmet, the hope of salvation….encourage one another and build up one another, just as you also are doing. I Thess. 5:4-11 😉

  19. Finally, I’m here! I tried several times to get online this morning, but I had to reboot and restart and pretty much just about reconfigure my whole modem. And even now, not everything is coming up. What a day this is turning out to be.

    Anyway, I was thinking about some of the things that people have said in the comments–about being sexually abused as children–and it…if this even makes any sense…it hit me that I’m…Well, jealous. Why? Because you’re still alive. And Britany isn’t. And I still miss her. And it still hurts. And it made me wonder…What is different about each of you that has kept all of you alive? What was different about her that…that she’s gone?

    Probably I shouldn’t even be typing this. Maybe my computer will go down again before I submit. Because, honestly, the last thing I want is a Band-Aid for this bullet wound, a few words offered as a quick fix to an enduring grief. (I know most–maybe even none–of you wouldn’t do that, but I know there is always someone who doesn’t have a clue who would.)

    Ladies, cherish every moment. As hard as your crosses are to bear, be grateful that you have been given the strength to carry them this far…

    …I had a nightmare about snakes biting me last night. I had a treatment, but they kept biting me. So I had to keep applying the treatment. When I grabbed a snake with one hand so that it couldn’t bite me any longer, another snake would bite me. And I had to keep holding that snake because if I let go, I knew it was only going to bite me again.

    Strange thing is…when I woke up, the nightmare didn’t stop.

    It never does.

    Even when the sun is shining in TheNorthEast, it’s still raining somewhere in the world, someone is still enduring a dark and stormy night…

  20. NorEaster, please don’t take this as a band-aid, I hear you.

    I told Phat yesterday, in response to this comment thread, I don’t know if I would be here today if I had been left to deal with my thoughts on my own. I sought counseling at 18 but had no clue what the root of my problem was for another eight years. As each new struggle came into my life, I knew I needed wise counsel and went to professional Christian counselors for help. It was a wonderful Christian man, who would not see me alone, Phat had to come along, who clued into my words as feelings of intense shame. We attended the same church, he knew I was a strong believer, but could hear within my words this deep scar. He asked me if I had ever been sexually abused, and I told him “no!” – Phat looked at me and said, “Yes you were, Michelle.” I didn’t know what he as talking about, so he continued to reveal to the Dr. what I had endured. I didn’t even recognize it as abuse, I had so taken the blame for it all upon myself.

    That was just the beginning of my understanding. As more of life happens and I continue to seek professionals to help me think clearly – it does not come naturally for me to think clearly, I get muddled in my thoughts and need an objective ear – I have understood the deepness of the wounding. Some people, even knowing God loves them and has forgiven them of everything, cannot escape the thoughts. They don’t understand the depth of wounding, the help given through the Spirit and the word, and believe there truly must be something innately wrong with them; or the pain is so intense, in a moment of weakness will give in to the lie that it isn’t worth living anymore. I do NOT believe suicide is an unforgivable sin, and since you have told me that Britany became a Christian, I believe she is finally pain-free. She now completely understands what happened in her life and where God was in it all. She has such an acceptance in Him she must not have understood on earth, but now, she is complete and lacking in nothing.

    You are left to deal with the pain, and it isn’t fair…not much on this earth is fair. It is dark and stormy but someday we will be in perpetual Light and all will be clear for us to see. Until then, we do the hard, disciplined work of keeping our helmet tightly in place…and keep walking.

    Please, take my words as I have meant them to be…I hope they were a comfort.

  21. Michelle:

    That wasn’t a Band-Aid. That was a trip to the ER for surgery that stitched me up. I don’t believe that suicide is an unforgiveable sin either, but I’m certainly not going to try to find out–which I mention because I don’t want anyone to try to it. Or, worse, do it.

    I love reading your work because you never sugarcoat anything; you have endured your share of storms and you don’t hide behind Band-Aids. And, for me, that is a tremendous relief to see someone believe despite the storms.

    VERY encouraging. 😆

  22. I think there is a difference between men and women on how they perceive guilt (and worry, stress, etc.). No bold statements here – we’re just wired differently.

    different topic – Michelle,

    A friend of mine pointed me to a website that has several of Jacques Ellul’s writings available in .pdf.

    http://www.jesusmanifesto.com/free-jacques/

    I recommend “Jesus and Marx” as a primer on Christian Anarchy.

    Hope this helps.

  23. Thanks, Bad, I’ll look into it.

    I think you’re right about the difference between men and women, although I think temperament plays a role as well… 😉

  24. Hi Miss Michelle: Guilt, ugh. So not from the Lord, but a struggle none the less…I haven’t read all of the other comments so please forgive if I repeat…these are some scriptures that have helped me to overcome guilt…
    Romans 3:23, Colossians 3:13, Acts 13:38, Ephesians 1:7-8, Hebrews 10:22 & James 2:10. I know there are so many, but those are actually written in a card in my Bible as there was a time when I was riddled with guilt constantly.
    Wonderful post! You’re deep! 🙂 I have also sent an IM to Miss Darla to try and help me get your IM address onto mine. I guess I’m not getting any email right now…anyway..I’d love to get you added in…Love ya! Debs

  25. Michelle, I had loads of fun with you last night at Love’s place. 😉

    I’ve read through half of this so far, but need to put Owen down so I’ll be back in a bit.

    False guilt….I think we have more than our red hair in common. 😉

  26. “A wise guy in the sky invites you to his guilty party” – Daniel Amos – Alarma!

    I so appreciate the distinction you made – or quoted someone else making – regarding appropriate and inappropriate guilt.
    Don’t forget there are also those who would try to put a “guilt trip” on us. Somewhere I read a story where a church building’s “auditorium” was instead called a “shameatorium.”
    Fitting in too many cases.
    And while we’re in I John, read on to 2:1-6
    1 “My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin. But if anybody does sin, we have one who speaks to the Father in our defense—Jesus Christ, the Righteous One … 5 But if anyone obeys his word, God’s love is truly made complete in him. This is how we know we are in him: 6 Whoever claims to live in him must walk as Jesus did.”
    That quoted not to promote “cheap grace” but rather true repentance.

    And on the subject of “holiness” I’ll “Pray Naked” and play name that tune:

    “Hear my cry of desperation as I see the wickedness of my ways,
    You alone are my salvation,
    And, Lord, I’ve learned this one thing to be true: is that the closer I get to you, I see I’m a stranger…to your holiness.”

  27. Hey Debs and Bran — If y’all get the chance, read the comments, that’s usually where iron sharpens iron. Thanks for the comments. 😉

    Bran – last night was a first for me – very fun – but I’ll never be able to respond with the speed you and Tam are capable of producing! If you deal with false guilt too – then please, read all the comments, they may help. 😉

    Hey, Sam! I haven’t seen you around here in a long time. Welcome back. I’ve attended many a shameatorium, and have had to work through lots of that ‘crude’. Thank God His burden is easy and light!!

    I think you’re much too cool for me – what does this mean?
    And on the subject of “holiness” I’ll “Pray Naked” and play name that tune:

    I don’t know the tune, but I LOVE the words. Thanks. 🙂

  28. Sorry, that was cryptic, obscure and confusing.
    “Pray Naked” is a song by the 77s that basically means pray without pretensions – strip oneself bare before God.
    The tune referred to with the lyrics is “Stranger to Holiness” by Steve Camp. It seemed fitting, given your quote of Sproul.

  29. Thanks, Sam, you’ve educated me…I thought that’s what the title was referring to…to strip oneself bare before God. I find the closer I get to Him the more ‘undone’ I become…

    Search me, O God, and know my heart,
    Try me and know my anxious thoughts;
    See if there is any wicked way in me,
    And lead me down the path everlasting.

    Once a pastor challenged me to pray that prayer and see what God would do, but don’t be surprised if life gets very hard, he said, to teach you what you need to learn. I took him up on it, and life got very hard…

    He cares more about our character than our comfort – my life’s mantra. 😉

  30. Michelle said, “I think you’re right about the difference between men and women, although I think temperament plays a role as well… 😉

    I agree – women can be pretty temperamental (he says from the relative safety of his home office) 🙂

  31. Are you just trying to pick a fight, Bad? I am Irish and can always get into a bit of a scuffle for the fun or it!! 😉

    So, there you are, Dan…did you take the weekend off? Thanks for the link, that looks like an interesting blog – he is the author??

  32. I must have been listening to different people – the Imperials was the first Christian group I knew. Amy Grant, Twila Paris, Cynthia Clawson, Sandi Patti, Michael W. Smith and Keith Green – that was my style of music in the 70’s and 80’s – always looking for a song to sing for specials…. 😉

    Camp’s blog looks meaty – something worth sinking your teeth into – Thanks.

  33. Did you read them all, Love!?! We got into to some good conversations – I haven’t ever done that before – it was great fun – thanks for hosting in your sleep!! 😆

  34. hosting in my sleep – 😆

    and most assuredly i read them ( and loved them ) ALL 😀

    Dr love’s is open 24/7 – if i’m not there just talk amongst yourselves 🙂

    Oh Wait – you already did 😉

    hee-hee!

    <B

  35. Michelle,
    I’m commenting from the library – typical routine rainy Monday with daughter, 6, and I waiting for school bus and work.
    You ever attend University of Texas at Arlington? I knew a Michelle there who you remind me of – she was a music major and a compassionate genius.
    All the CCM artists you mentioned I’ve listened to – Amy Grant (we’re the same age) was my first celebrity crush when I read about her in my sister’s Campus Life magazine in the 1970s. Steve Camp and the late Keith Green are contemporaries and were friends. Steve Camp was once referred to as “Keith Green with theology.” Camp does a decent version of “Asleep in the Light” that was one of Green’s best songs. I even met Camp when taking his photo for an unofficial (Christian) student newspaper at UTA.
    My problem through the years – going back to the groups “Love Song” and singer Larry Norman, etc… – was to make CCM as much a god as many make rock ‘n roll. I became an expert at CCM for a while but straightened up in the 1990s.
    Now I believe I’m discerning enough to listen to all types of music and let the Holy Spirit tell me what is right and wrong.

  36. Sam – No, I never attended UTA – NTSU and Bethany Nazarene in OKC, now Southern Nazarene University – and I am far from a genius!! (I do hope to be compassionate, however)

    I love all styles too – my favorites would be soft rock from the 60’s & 70’s – they are oldies but goodies!! I am loving the new CCM – Mercy Me especially…

    My kids keep me stretched – one loves Christian Screamer (ugh) and another loves Toby Mac, the oldest is into all types but the Beatles is his new fav’…they read Campus Life today to find the Christian groups that are playing the styles they like.

    Discernment’s key and diversity’s good, don’tcha think? 😉

Leave a Reply

