Disconnected!?

Standard

Three days without the internet and I’m going crazy!!  What is wrong with me?  Six months ago I could have cared less but then this wild idea came to me…BLOG!  I call it wild because I would’ve never come up with it on my own.  I hate computers!  Everyone in my family is connected to people around the world through this invasive technology.  For years I’ve been laughing at their ‘friendships’ refusing to believe they could actually have a relationship with someone they’ve never met in person.  I couldn’t fathom the idea that they actually ‘knew’ anyone they had not met face to face.  It was inconceivable to me…

Enter…technical difficulties and I am disconnected from my new circle of friends!!  I must return to books, tv, crocheting, gardening, and napping.  OK, I haven’t quit all other activities, but nearly.  Blogging is a whole new world with exciting possibilities and interesting conversations.  I can click onto someone’s blog and get a glimpse into the life they want to share.  It could be make believe, I’m not totally naive, but more often than not, in the comboxes it becomes obvious if the blogger truly believes what is claimed.  And I find that fascinating.

I love people and ideas.  I become frustrated sitting with my own thoughts and if others don’t want to get into a stimulating conversation, then I feel stifled within myself.  I devour books but have the inablity to retain what I’ve learned for long.  It’s back there in the recesses and somehow through conversation the bits of information come forward, but alone?  I can become lost in my own thoughts.  I need people.

No man can be an island unto himself.  We were created for fellowship, and this is where my rant turns toward my mission…consider Jesus.  We were created to abide, to have relationship, to experience life together.  We were not created to be alone but to be connected.  Some have lots of connection through work, school, play, church, neighbors, home…others are more isolated.  I was one of the others (NOT “the others” as in my favorite tv show).

I can be one of the isolated due to physical limitations.  Over the years, as my illness has progressed, I’ve had a more solitary existence.  Not totally isolated for I have lots of family and friends, but my ability to leave the house has been hampered, so if people don’t come to me, I can spend many days by myself.  But, am I truly disconnected?

No, I am not — I am completely connected to my best friend, Jesus.  He promised He would never leave me nor forsake me.  I have been given the Spirit of truth and can be in complete communion with the Father and the Son.  I’m connected.

If you love Me, you will keep My commandments.  I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may be with you forever; that is, the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it does not see Him or know Him, but you know Him because He abides with you and will be in you.  I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.  After a little while the world will no longer see Me, but you will see Me; because I live, you will live also.  In that day you will know that I am in My Father, and you in Me, and I in you…If anyone loves Me, he will keep My word; and My Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our abode with him.  ~John 14:18-23

Do you have the Friend who will never leave you?  Are you truly connected?

26 responses »

  1. It’s amazing how much we lean on technology and miss it when we aren’t connected, but if we are truly connected we know there is one we can always lean on and never be let down! Jesus! Happy Sunday, Michelle.

  2. Hey, Paper Bubbles! I wish I could say I did the noble thing…but, no…just changing accounts. They promised 24 hours…hah!

    I am so glad to be connected to Jesus – I wasn’t lonely, just out of sync with my newfound community. It was really strange at first, wondering how I would make it through the day. I did get quite a bit of planting done, so not all was lost.

    I hope you’re feeling better…God kept bringing everyone to mind. 😉

  3. Michelle,

    Welcome back!

    When you get a chance could you send me an email so I can send you something? Looks you have a new provider?

    Thanks!

  4. Hey, Dan…I have lost my e-mail for the time being. I hope it will be up sometime on Monday – no guarantees. I may have lost it all. 😦

  5. AND NOW….to comment on your most recent post…

    …Yes, I have a Friend who will never leave me. And I try to show my faith in Him by reaching out to those whom the rest of the world, quite frankly, doesn’t give two cents about.

    Heck, I’ll even get going when my good friend gets her e-mail disconnected because I know she needs to stay connected! 😉 And like she said, No one is an island!

  6. Great Post.

    Did you ever have animaginary friend?

    Did they stay with you through life?

    Did they grow with you – at the same pace as you or did the friend stay stuck in a world that only you two shared and could not grow with you or help you out because of their own independent learnings?

    Did we find other ‘real’ friends we preferred to hang out with because they had things we wanted and made us feel good about our own shortcomings – like we were not ‘alone’ or freaks because we did not like Madonna? ( or maybe because we did?)

    Jesus Promises us a spiritual Helper – if we do not find things that Helper and we can ‘share’ and grow in we will find ourselves returning to the life we lived in before – one of the Material and not Spiritual world,

    The Material world is constantly ‘with us – offering a never-ending range of temptations to pull our attention away from the Spiritual Helper – if we choose not to ‘feed’ our relationship with this Helper but prefer instead to ‘feed’ our material life we will find it increasingly harder to follow God’s Will.

    <B

  7. One good thing is that The holy Spirit lives in every and we don’t need to go looking, he works inside of us to want to actually do what pleases God. In that sense, the spiritual world is always with us, and truth lives inside us.

  8. So Michelle, are you still with verizon? or somebody else now? The email that comes through with your posts to my blog still say verison.

    Again, glad to have you back!

    “If you love Me, you will keep My commandments.”

    Obedience to His will helps maintain the quality of our connection with Him. Althought we remain connected if we are in Christ (He will not lose one of those given to Hilm vy the Father and no one can snatche us out of His hand), because of sin still remaining in our mortal bodies our connection can seem to go back to dial up, if you know what I mean.

  9. Hey, NorEaster! It’s good to be connected again, I’ve missed our discussions. Thanks for your concern and I hope I didn’t cause you any angst. You do care and I know if you are as good a friend to those you can see as you are to this cartoon redhead, then the people in your life are very fortunate to have you as friend. 😀

    Hello, Love. I did have an imaginary friend as a child. I am so thankful now to have a Friend who sticks closer than a brother and who loves me so much, He will help me to grow up into the woman I was created to be. I want to please Him most of all. The closer I stay to Him, the easier it is to recognize those temptations, I desire to stay close. 🙂

    Good Morning, Dan. Obedience to His will keeps us from grieving Him. I hate hurting any of my friends through neglect or careless actions, I certainly don’t want to grieve my best Friend. Constant communication is the key. 😉

    I am still with Verizon, I’m just blocked for now. Phat tells me they won’t lose everything, but I’m not so trusting. Same address should work later on today…but then I should have only been down for one day…four days later, grrr.

  10. I love my Friend that will never leave me!! and we are truly connected..however when we are not, I know it is I who has moved…

    God is awesome in the Christian blog world to connect hearts that need to be heard, and encouraged by someone who understands..I love the bloggers I have met here in blogsville…and I used to be one of those people who scoffed at internet relationships…and now I am one of them! I honestly was concerned for your silence…glad you are back! 🙂

  11. Michelle:

    Nah, no angst! None for me! No sirree! I was doing just fine the whole time you were disconnected! Yep! No worries from me in this neck of the woods! Nope! No way! Nothing doing! I was totally cool the whole time! Calm and cool and collected all the while! 😉

  12. Hey, Darla, you said it – we are truly connected..however when we are not, I know it is I who has moved…

    I remember the passage from James 4:4-10, “You adulteresses, do you not know that friendsip with the world is hostility toward God? Therefore whoever wishes to be a friend of the world makes himself an enemy of God. Or do you think that the Scripture speaks to no purpose: ‘He jealously desires the Spirit which He has made to dwell in us’? But He gives a greater grace. Therefore it says, ‘God is opposed to the proud, but gives grace to the humble.’ Submit therefore to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; purify your hearts, you double-minded. Be miserable and mourn and weep; let your laughter be turned to mourning, and your joy to gloom. Humble yourselves in the presence of the Lord, and He will exalt you.”

    I love that passage…it reminds me of how to restore the proper relationship…humility.

    Thanks for the concern…it has caused me to not take y’all for granted…here today, gone tomorrow. It wasn’t fun – y’all really have become my friends! 😉

  13. “I remember the passage from James 4:4-10, “You adulteresses, do you not know that friendsip with the world is hostility toward God? Therefore whoever wishes to be a friend of the world makes himself an enemy of God.”

    There you go again, posting scripture that has had a tremendous on this old guy. He is speaking to Christians! I had to ask myself, how could be enemies of God when we are believers? When we behave at cross-purposes to his divine purpose, do we become in a sense, His enemies? When we are to be continuously conformed as we walk in his way, do we act as enemies when we prosess to be believers and don’t act like it?

    Food for thought.

  14. Dan, I think yes. When we call Him Father and then work against His will, we have set ourselves against Him. We have taken up a position with the enemy.

    I see a parallel teaching in 1 John 2:15-17:

    Do not love the world nor the things in the world, if anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh and the lust of the eyes and the boastful pride of life, is not from the Father, but is from the world. The world is passing away, and also its lusts; but the one who does the will of God lives forever.

    I find that one terribly convicting…the nice home with the latest decorating and the lush landscape. Southern Living is my favorite magazine — Phat calls it Satanic Living for the coveting it produces. 😦

  15. Michelle,

    Your also keying on 1 John is awesome! Both of those passages have some tough things to say to a very worldly American church these days. Not only do many Christians embrace the world, the world has been brought into the church in so many ways. . .the Holy Spirit must be so terribly grieved at all of it. . .

  16. “I devour books but have the inablity to retain what I’ve learned for long. It’s back there in the recesses and somehow through conversation the bits of information come forward, but alone? I can become lost in my own thoughts. I need people.”

    ME TOO!!!! It has been increasingly difficult for me to retain things. But I have found that this community of blogging friends, its constant connection and discussion, has awakened my mind. My thoughts, my memory.

    We did miss you while you away! Ya know the saying…you never know what ya got til its gone!

    😉

  17. Hey, Tam! I wonder if it’s age or illness, whatever, it sure is frustrating! I’m very thankful to have people who want to discuss. What a blessing.

    I missed y’all too – kind of strange how attached you can get to little square faces! 😉

  18. Dan, I do believe the Holy Spirit is terribly grieved…I know if my heart breaks over the sin around me it is the Spirit within who is speaking.

    Isn’t it interesting how we want to talk about the gifts of the Spirit but not the works of the Spirit – we want to know we’ve been gifted and share our gifts willingly (sometimes as an ego booster, I’m afraid) but we don’t want to discuss, as much, the sin we know we have been convicted of through the Holy Spirit’s disclosing. I have more verses but I think I’ll hold on to them for another post… 😉

  19. I think it comes down to the widely accepted doctrine of “unconditional acceptance” that I have never found any basis for outside of the humanistic psychology arena (started in mid-50’s) that gave us ‘treat little Jane and Johnny nice’ and they’ll be so full of self-esteem that they will always obey you their parent.’

    Much of American evangelicalism would rather kick the Holy Spirit out the front door, lest some of the dead (in sin) folks that were attracted by the rock band might feel uncomfottable and not come back.

    So we pray for revival. . .:)

  20. michelle: i LOVE this post. i can totally relate. blogging has ruined me, but (i think) in the best possible way. the relationships i’ve formed have blessed me unspeakably.

    i just wanted to stop by to say that i hope i didn’t run you off with my “nicknaming”… i’m glad you came over.

  21. Mandy, not at all…my humor, if you can call it that, can be biting, sorry for making you think I was really upset. 😳 I can’t banter but have so loved reading all y’all’s fun. I’ll throw something in from time to time, but usually by the time I’ve got it thought through and typed, everyone’s moved on. I am envious of how y’all can interact so playfully, don’t tell Love, I don’t want to have to confess anymore of ‘the big seven.’ 😉

    I can get on the heavy side…it takes all kinds to make up this community, huh? 😆 As much as we differ in our blogging styles, we have way more in common than not. I thought I was going to be a music minister (modern venacular – worship leader) when I first began college – I just didn’t want to practice at the level necessary to continue majoring in music. We spent time in seminary, I married a preacher-boy – I’m contemplating working on a Master’s in Christian Education – and your film on the proper use of y’all was right on target!! My husband and I had a good laugh, he kept saying, “she’s so right!”

    You are welcome here, anytime, if it feels like a place you might enjoy, pleae come back. Good to meet ‘ya. 😉

Leave a Reply

