May All Your Weeds Be Wildflowers!

Standard

Spring break is over.  Dad has gone back to work, all the kids back to school and I am here in my daily spot, trying to blog something inspirational.  It’s back to everyday life…well,…except for the flowers!

I love flowers!  Grape hyacinths are coming up throughout the yard, yellow jessamine is taking over the fence, and purple thrift is electrifying the curb appeal.  I see the promise of day lillies, black-eyed susans and lantana springing forth from the earth.  I don’t mow the parking strip on one side because of the buttercups (wild primroses) that have taken over – May all your weeds be wildflowers!!

Spring is the perfect time for Easter –  resurrection from the dead (sorry for my one Aussie reader).  Each new bud and blossom causes my heart to rejoice.  The promise of new life from the dead!  For those of us in the southern part of the Northern hemishphere, what an added blessing to celebrate our Lord’s resurrection each Spring. 

I’ve needed that promise this year, the promise that God will make all things new.  He has broken the bonds of death and we are to have New Life today.  Through Christ we have this promise fulfilled and I need to meditate upon this truth.  I’m stuck these days in the earthly tent that moans for its heavenly home, and that place will be unimaginable, but I need to know He will meet me…in my need…now.  We all need to know this. 

If you’ve had a season like mine, a wintry season that has lasted longer than three months, then you must be anticipating Spring in your heart as well.  I see the flowers and am reminded that Spring does come, that mourning can be turned into dancing, that God is doing a remarkable work of restoration.  He wounds and He heals…

“Unerring wisdom ordained your lot, and selected for you the safest and best condition…Remember this, had any other condition been better for you than the one in which you are, divine love would have put you there…” -Charles Spurgeon

Did you catch that quote?  You may need to read it again…”Unerring wisdom ordained your lot…”  I can rest in God’s sovereignty.  He knows what season of life I am in; He put me here.  I will remember Jesus’ words when He stood in the synagogue to declare His ministry:

The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me,
       because the LORD has anointed me
       to preach good news to the poor.
       He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
       to proclaim freedom for the captives
       and release from darkness for the prisoners,

The power of the resurrection – my chains fell off!  I am free in Christ – I am no longer a captive – let the restoration begin!

to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor
       and the day of vengeance of our God,
       to comfort all who mourn,

and provide for those who grieve in Zion—
       to bestow on them a crown of beauty
       instead of ashes,
       the oil of gladness
       instead of mourning,
       and a garment of praise
       instead of a spirit of despair.
       They will be called oaks of righteousness,
       a planting of the LORD
       for the display of his splendor.

I understand the eschatological vision of those words.  But I also understand the work He is doing NOW – in all who have proclaimed, “He is Lord!”

He is turning ashes into beauty.

He is annointing my head with the oil of gladness.

He is covering me with a garment of praise.

He is planting me in this place to display His splendor!

I think I’ll go wander through the yard and check out the flowers again…

16 responses »

  1. I don’t like knowing I can handle what has come – I know what you’re saying but I’m really tired of handling it – to be perfectly honest.

    I do put my trust in His goodness and His sovereignty. Yet I do have days of mourning, some very dark days of suffering. On those days I have to remind myself that His mercies are new every morning. And they are…the morning dawns and I feel better able to handle the day.

    I know you understand what I am saying. I need prayer support, so please, if you have it in you to give, pray for me. Thanks, NorEaster.

    I’m sorry your roses aren’t blooming yet…wasn’t Easter sunrise cold on the beach!? It takes a hardy person to be able to handle the weather you have to endure. Keep warm – Spring will come! 😉

  2. Michelle, this is so beautifully written. I found strength rising up in me reading through this.

    When i was first diagnosed I had a very, very hard time dealing with it. I was so angry and scared!

    I asked the Lord one time, “Why me?!!!” I got 2 words back, “Why not?” That’s all i needed to hear. Who am i to tell the Potter he made a mistake.

    I look at this ailment of mine and marvel that the GOD of the Universe saw me fit to carry out this work with Him. He saw me, ME, fit to use to be an extension of His love and grace to others. i am humbled and honored that this thorn beckons me to His throne daily. He knew I would need something more that would draw me to HIM.

    He is the Master. I am not. I am simply His child!

    Have i told you how happy I am to have met you Michelle! AND Noreaster.

    Humbled and blessed to walk this journey with you!

    Am praying for you now…

  3. Thank you, Tam, I’m glad we have met – and NorEaster is really cool!

    I have my moments when I feel desolate. Depression is a very real part of my make-up, that’s why I am so grateful for the Lord’s leading. If I didn’t know Him, I don’t know how I would make it. He is good and I know He has a work He is doing. Somedays, kicking and screaming (well, actually, whining and crying) I follow His lead. But, thankfully those days are becoming fewer and further between. 😉

    Thanks for praying – I believe in the power of prayer. I feel blessed to have made your acquaintance, and am praying for you as well…

  4. i needed what i’ve read in the comments here… thank you, michelle and tam, for your openness and transparency.

  5. I think you already know that my prayers are, and have been, with you.

    It is a blessing to see the “dead” rise again in my yard. What a blessing it is to see all the dormant plants come back to life. It reminds me to focus my eyes on Him, because of the resurrection power of the Christ.

  6. Somebody (a long time ago – I am old) wrote a song called ‘We’re All Born Weeds’. It might even be worse than that since we are actually DEAD, spiritually speaking. Anyhow, good post. I couldn’t help but think about seeds and the difference between ‘dormant’ and ‘dead’. Too much for my brain this morning.

  7. Alece, welcome. What an amazing ministry you have – it’s a joy to read your blog. Transparency is key, don’t you think? 😉

    Burt, thank you. It’s all in His power we are able to endure. 🙂

    Dan, too much for mine as well, sounds like a great topic for another blog. 😉

    Thanks for commenting everyone, I’m a bit needy today. Keep praying…

  8. We have a hope and a purpose, a God we can trust. And this is all the hell some of us will ever know. In these vessels of clay, the vineyard owner and vinedresser work to make a very fine wine. And fine wine takes time. I’m also praying for you.

  9. Thank you, Ric. Your words remind me of His work – the need for shattering…sometimes it’s so hard when the pieces are still lying on the floor. But His work is not over, or I would already be home.

  10. Thank you, Tam. I’ve slept all afternoon because I was able to get out and have lunch with my husband – it was quite joyful.

    I’ve been praying for your recovery and I hope you are mending well. 😉

  11. MICHELLE THANKS FOR SAYING WHAT I ALWAYS THINK BUT NEVER VOICE IT
    I DO GET TIRED OF GOING THRU THINGS BECAUSE GOD KNOWS I CAN HANDLE IT I KNOW PEOPLE NEED EXAMPLES TO LOOK AT BUT SEEMS LIKE
    SOMETIMESWEARE THECENTER OF ATTENTION TOOOOO MUCH AND TOO LONGGG
    BUT GOD DOES KNOW BEST SO, THANK YALL FOR REMINDING ME OF THAT
    HAD 2 MANY WINTERY DAYS LATELY MYSELF

Leave a Reply

