I’m Puny

Standard

Why is it we can talk about “soul mates” among humans but not when it comes to God?  You know… the people who feel they have found eachother and were meant to be together for a lifetime, or the best friend who hears the other’s heart and on many occassions can complete eachother’s sentences, or the author who said it so perfectly that you only wish you could meet him, but alas, he’s already passed.   You know what I mean, the person who totally “gets you.”

It seems to be OK on a human level to speak of “soul mates,” but once we start talking about a “personal relationship” with Jesus, some people freak out.  Or go so far as to tell you that you must be deluded because Jesus wasn’t even an historical being.  So I ask, then who is this person I communicate with daily?  They tell me I have a diseased mind, maybe I’ve got a virus and need to be quarantined.  They say I need to use scientific empirical evidence to determine reality.  Yet I know I am in relationship with One who is “Holy Other” than myself. 

 I do have my prayers answered.  No, I have not had the parking spot opened up when I’m in a hurry or am just too tired to walk.  No, I have not seen a limb grow back or witnessed a blind man’s sight restored.  But I have experienced peace in the midst of terrible loss, and help at the point of my greatest needs.  My needs are so deep and devastating that no one, not my family, not my husband, not my best friend can come close to meeting them.  I need to have my consciense clean from the evil I know can reside there, and Jesus meets that need.  Jesus has restored me to Himself and placed His Spirit within me, and placed me within Him.  I am totally surrounded by His love and I feel it.

Can it be measured?  Can I show you His love in a laboratory?  No.  But if you knew me before, and know me now, you have witnessed a change.  You have seen a depth of knowing and peace I did not have earlier in life.  As the struggles have become harder and the trials more threatening, I have become more sure of His holding me, of His comfort and assurance that He will never leave me nor forsake me. 

Platitudes?  No.  I have an abiding Word and a still, small voice Who tells me not to give up,  to persevere to the end, and to trust in the One who is greater than I will ever be.  I know I’m weak, but He makes me strong.

I believe God when He says all whom I have called will come to Me. I don’t understand it (how that exactly works) but I trust in His character. He is the only One Who can see man’s heart. I cannot judge anyone. I have no clue what anyone else has experienced to lead them to where they are today – only God sees the whole. I trust in who He is as He has revealed Himself to me in His Word. Do I know all about Him? No, I can’t.  I’ve only seen the fringe of His robe.  I’m just a puny human, sitting on a tiny pea of a planet, spinning in a small galaxy, floating through a vast universe. I am not the final authority on anything, and am glad I’m not. I trust in the One Who is the Alpha and Omega, the Beginning and the End.

He gives me the ability to keep living when it feels life is too hard to bear.  I will ever live to bring glory to His Name.  I will stand up and say, “on Christ the solid rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand.”

11 responses »

  1. this is beautiful. if we are “diseased” in knowing Him, then i never want to get well.

  2. Amen!

    I should have given that comment when I encountered the discourse. I guess I was too shocked to know what to say.

    Thanks for commenting 😉

  3. Blessed are you when they revile and persecute you, and say all kinds of evil against falsely for My sake. Rejoice and be exceedingly glad, for great is your reward in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

    I copied that from my favorite book. 🙂

  4. Michelle:

    I just wanted you to know that I’m still writing that certain post. It’s almost done. I’ll send it to you when I’m finished.

    Thanks for this post. Take care.

  5. As I read this blog, Michelle, I am confronted with of the uncertainty of this world and with the certainty we have in Christ. My prayer for you and “G” today was that in the midst of the unknown you would be calmed by His presence, grounded by His Word, and guided by His wisdom.

  6. Hey NorEaster, It’s an amazing post. I know it took a lot to get it out. Thanks for choosing to share it .

    Hi Cindy, the uncertainty of this world keeps me on my knees. Thank you for praying for us – we do feel His presence.

  7. Yes, on Christ the Solid Rock! Amen, sister. Amen. The Lover of our soul sees all, and nothing is hidden, yet He still loves and changes us! I love that there is so much more of the Lord to be had!

  8. Amen, sister, amen! Glad you came over – I love your blog. It’s a breath of fresh air for me…you’re much younger, probably my kids age, but you speak to my heart – must be a God thing. 😉

  9. I think the reason that people feel comfortable talking about soul mates when looking at people and not at God is simply because that would be admitting, not only that He exists, but that we can trust in and love Him and He will return that love and trust every time.
    Gothique

  10. I agree. The admission that He is there and can be trusted is an understanding many don’t want to believe. It is very sad to have to miss out on the love and trust – I don’t know how I could make it without Him

    Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

