My Son, the Answer Is…

Standard

“Are you going to answer the question?” my son wants to know.

Answer the question?! Isn’t it enough just to ask the question, to get the mental juices churning? Does anybody really want an answer?

“I do,” he persists.

OK, the question was . . . “What’s it all about – Why am I here?”

For the answers to the biggest questions of life (and some of the littlest) I turn to the Bible. So let’s go to the Book of Beginnings. Let’s look at Genesis.

“In the beginning God created…”

Each word has so much meaning and yet, even more questions are raised. Most of the billions of people in the world would ask, “What?! You mean there was a beginning?” They believe in an eternal cycle with no beginning or end. Others may quibble about the use of such an ancient text. Yet, scholarly study will validate its authenticity. But I want to overlook these questions for now and stick with the meaning of the word “God”, noting that this God created.

When we first meet God in the biblical text, He introduces Himself as Elohim. In Hebrew this word for God is Elohim – “El” means “mighty” or “strong” and is used for any reference to gods, including Almighty God (big or little “g”) + “him” a plural ending.

“Let Us make man in Our image … In the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.”

Plural, yet One. The LORD our God is One – Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. What mysteries He contains!

I know, I know.  I’m skipping over many questions again; but I want to get to the point of Creator and why He created. In the beginning He revealed Himself as Elohim and He created man in His image.

Another passage tells us,

“Thus says the Lord, your Creator, O Jacob, and He who formed you, O Israel…I am the Lord your God…you are precious in My sight…Everyone who is called by My name, and whom I have created for My glory, whom I have formed even whom I have made.”   ~Isaiah 43:1,3,4,7

I see I am a special creation, formed by God, for His glory. I was created for His glory – to bring Him honor, praise, and worship.

And so were you.

“Beloved is man for he was created in the image of God.Still greater was God’s love in that He gave to man the knowledge of his having been created.” -Ethics of the Fathers

And so, my son, the answer to the biggest questions in life:

“Why am I here?”

“What’s it all about?”

I am here because God chose me to be here; and in being here, I am to bring Him honor.

2 responses »

  1. You know, for me, the answer has changed significantly over the years. Or, as Bunny’s Father put it, the “how” of it all has changed.

    There was a time when I was convinced that I wanted to be a carpenter; I liked building things. Still do, actually. But there was another time I was convinced I wanted to be a teacher. And for the past 12 years or so, I have been convinced that I am a novelist. Everything, in one form or another, is still true today. But my focus changes, especially after “taking it on the chin for quite some time,” as my good friend, Richard, pointed out.

    On the positive side, however, even though my expectations have changed as to why I am here, YHWH has been a constant throughout it all.

    Succeed or fail…really, it doesn’t matter. So long as I am His and He is mine.

    And I can live with that.

Leave a Reply

