“What’s it all about, Alfie?”

Standard

“What’s it all about, Alfie?
Is it just for the moment we live?
What’s it all about when you sort it out, Alfie?
Are we meant to take more than we give?
Or are we meant to be kind?
And if only fools are kind, Alfie,
Then I guess it is wise to be cruel,
What’s it all about…”

I worked forever on that song to play the haunting melody with as much tenderness as possible. I never quite got it, but oh, how I loved that song. It spoke to me… somewhere… deep inside. I wanted the answers to the questions.

Why am I here?
What is the purpose of my life?

I know I’m not here by chance—our world is much too perfect to be coincidence. You’ve heard the illustration: to believe in chance is like believing an explosion in a junkyard could coincidentally bring about a 747. The chances are better for that phenomenon than to believe we crawled out of some “primordial ooze” to eventually become human beings.

Someone, or Something, had to get it all started. Intelligent Design? Observe our world. Note the complexities of each minute life-form and then examine the larger vertebrates. A Creator must have been involved. How did we land on this third rock from the sun in the perfect position for life to be sustained? Only through a Perfectly Intelligent Designer.

My daughter interrupts, “Don’t put that out there. People will cuss you out. Don’t give your real name—they’ll assassinate you!”

Is this so hard to believe? She believes it, yet somehow, with all of her time in cyberspace, she has become afraid of telling others what she believes. Isn’t it possible to have an intelligent blog about real questions of life and not be verbally abused by those who don’t believe the same?

Let’s agree to be kind. Name-calling and abusive language won’t bring about a positive end.

So, what do we call this Designer? I call him Creator—the Name is a description of what He has done.

Now that I have come to the conclusion that there must be a Creator, I ask myself, “Why did he create me!”

“What’s it all about, Alfie?”

12 responses »

  1. Man’s chief end is to glorify God and to enjoy Him forever. – Westminster Shorter Catechism ,Question 1

    I decided to take a peek at how you started your blog. Now you know I peeked…..:)

  2. You are welcome to read it all! I started with the page, “To blog or not to blog,” and got lots of questions from my uncle; which eventually led to “A Recent Post Led Me to Scripture,” which led to more questions. It was a great start ‘cuz it caused me to work through my thinking. But, unfortunately, my uncle stopped commenting – I miss his challenge. He’s always been one to goad me. (I believe it is the soldier in him.) Read on, and challenge me if you want – I don’t mind a bit. 😉

  3. Yes, he served in Vietnam. US Army – helicopter pilot – I’m quite proud of his service, but I’m not sure how many years he served. What branch of the service were you in?

  4. Oh, yes. You did say Special Forces and having trained the Iraqi army – I should have put two-and-two together. Special Forces – you can’t talk about that kind of service, can you?

  5. Pingback: Beginning and Now… « Faith the Continuation

Leave a Reply

