Out In The Fields

Standard

The little cares that fretted me,
I lost them yesterday
Among the fields above the sea,
Among the winds at play,
Among the lowing of the herds,
The rustling of the trees.
Among the singing of the birds,
The humming of the bees.
The foolish fears of what may happen,
I cast them all away
Among the clover-scented grass,
Among the husking of the corn
Where drowsy poppies nod,
Where ill thoughts die and good are born,
Out in the fields with God.

-Elizabeth Barrett Browning

Each Spring I feel the rebirth in my soul as the flowers, trees, and grasses come to life. This year I have needed time alone with God among the fields, but the ability isn’t with me anymore. I don’t last on a nature walk, so I’ve brought nature closer to home. In the past my yard has been my oasis, but this year I’m in a third-floor apartment with a cozy balcony among the treetops. I have crammed my pots full of flowers and most enjoy the evenings when the shade has covered my chair and I can sit and talk with God. Meeting with Him among His creation…I think I would have loved knowing Mrs. Browning. Someday, in heaven, I’ll meet her and we’ll figure out the relational connection. Great great great great great great aunt or grandmother…??? Until then, I truly do enjoy connecting through her poetry…and her faith.

You will live in joy and peace.
The mountains and hills will burst into song,
And the trees of the field will clap their hands!
Where once there were thorns, cypress trees will grow.
Where briers grew, myrtles will sprout up.
This miracle will bring great honor to the LORD’s name;
It will be an everlasting sign of His power and love.

Isaiah 55:12-13

6 responses »

  1. “Meeting with Him among His creation…” – I really relate to this, Michelle :) For me, it’s such a reflection of His beauty and creativity and magnificence.

    I’m so happy for you that you’re able to enjoy the spring, and the newness it brings, and are able to spend these quiet evenings with Him.

    Thinking of you, and praying for you, friend xo

  2. Sorry about your not being able to go on long nature walks, but happy that you get to converse with God from your tree top condo.

    Communing with nature is a great way to refuel our souls. Living in a city, as I use to, communing with nature means cockroaches, pigeons and rats, which are after all God’s creation as well.

    Poets that can express love, and passion, as well as Elizabeth Barrett Browning, live on through their words. I enjoy these lines from Browning’s “The Best Thing In The World”:

    “What’s the best thing in the world?
    June-rose, by May-dew impearled;
    Sweet south-wind, that means no rain;
    Truth, not cruel to a friend”

    I hope, friend, you have many pleasant, joyful, conversations with the birds, the squirrels, and God.

  3. Lovely poem! And I understand the kinship you feel with the poet, that is how I feel about my favourite poet too :)

    Nature is simply the best place to feel close to God and may you have many spring and summer evenings ahead in His presence.

  4. Thank you, Birgit, it has been a wonderfully restful time. I hope you’re enjoying Springtime in London. Love you, too. :)

    I’m not communing with ANY cockroaches, Ed!!! :evil: I’ll take Alece’s approach and delightfully destroy them in the garbage disposal!

    I do miss the walks very, very much, but am finding joy with the birds and squirrels in the treetops. You know, treetops are very busy places!

    Love that poem and again, she speaks my heart. Thank you, friend, for being a constant encourager to me.

    I agree, Rain. “You’re nearer to God’s heart in a garden than any place else on earth.” (I really am related to EBB…just not sure how…family legend I’ll have to figure out once I get to heaven.) Thank you for the blessing. I hope Fall in SA is beautiful for you. :)

  5. I love meeting him among his creation…wondering if that is born in us, as that was how HE created things and started mankind…HE met with Adam and Eve in the garden every day…until the fall of man…wonder if that is why we long to meet with him, and the beauty of spring, draws it more intensely…to walk in the garden with HIM…sorry..my early morning thoughts..loved this

Leave a Reply

