My Rock and My Redeemer

Standard

When I struggle to make sense of my world, I go to the Psalms.  In the early morning hour, after watching an amazing video of the rising sun, I finally turned to His Word.  He speaks to me everytime.  If I would only learn to go to Him first, and not flesh…

The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of His hands.

Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they display knowledge.

There is no speech or language where their voice is not heard.

Their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world.

In the heavens He has pitched a tent for the sun,  which is like a bridegroom coming forth from his pavilion, like a champion rejoicing to run his course.

It rises at one end of the heavens and makes its circuit to the other; nothing is hidden from its heat.

The law of the LORD is perfect, reviving the soul.

The statutes of the LORD are trustworthy, making wise the simple.

The precepts of the LORD are right, giving joy to the heart.

The commands of the LORD are radiant, giving light to the eyes.

The fear of the LORD is pure, enduring forever.

The ordinances of the LORD are sure and altogether righteous.

They are more precious than gold, than much pure gold;

They are sweeter than honey, than honey from the comb.

By them is Your servant warned; in keeping them there is great reward.

Who can discern his errors? Forgive my hidden faults.

Keep Your servant also from willful sins; may they not rule over me.

Then will I be blameless, innocent of great transgression.

May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in Your sight,

O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.

~Psalm 19

He spoke to me clearly through this word. He is in control of everything. The sun will rise and He has given all we need for understanding. I will trust in my Rock and my Redeemer.

If you haven’t seen a sunrise in a while, check out NorEaster’s “About” page. AMAZING!

15 responses »

  1. If you think the video is something, you should have seen it live! :grin:

    It was like reading a Psalm without reading a Psalm.

    (Thanks for the “publicity,” Sis! ;) )

  2. Embarrassing but true fact: I’ve never seen a sunrise. Another true fact… that video is what the exact spot looks like in my dream of where I want to be. The sound, the peace, the calm, the power of the waves… all of it. I want to build a little house and exist there. So much I’ll never see but I will forever enjoy imagining.

    Nor… if you’re reading this, please don’t ever take that down because I’ll be watching it A LOT. :)

    Beautiful words today as always, Michelle. You are lovely and loved.
    :)

  3. Hey Nor, you are SO right…watching the video brings to my mind the words of this Psalm. Thank YOU for sharing it with us. ;)

    Yeah, Sara, I’m with you on this! If he ever takes it down, I’ll lose ALL RESPECT for him. Just sayin’. :shock: :lol: I have watched that video more times than I can count in the day or so he’s had it up — it’s just like my dreams.

    You are loved as well. I’m so glad this technology has brought us together — well, and Tam. ;)

    Good morning, Papa. I love His Word. He has glorified His Name together with His Word.

    The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God stands forever. ~Isaiah 40:8

  4. soooo precious! everything you wrote..love the psalms too..HE is my refuge, my strong tower, my hiding place, the lifter of my head…how precious is the WORD of GOD…sadly how often I take it for granted..love you Prin!

  5. Hey, Darla! I need to remember to run to Him first. Sometimes in my flesh I want comfort I can feel, tangibly. He brings peace and joy does come in the morning.

    Love you too!

  6. This is so inspiring to read as the evening is coming to end over here in London. Like you, I love the psalms. I love the range of experiences and emotions that are there, and the adoration of God. Thanks for this Michelle, lots of love.

  7. What a wonderful reminder Michelle…. To run to him first. So often we find him in second place in our lives. He deserves to occupy only the #1 place in our hearts.

    Peace and love sister.

  8. He does desire first place, Carl. It’s easier to look to people for comfort when we are scared. I have to keep reminding myself of this…over and over and over…

    He is my Rock and my Redeemer.

    Love you brother!

  9. “The commands of the LORD are radiant, giving light to the eyes.”

    i so often hear people respond to His commands as oppressive. like HE is a kill joy.

    theyre life giving!

    “radiant”

    i love that description!

  10. Hey, Annie, it’s the link is at the bottom of the post. Of course, you can just go to his site and see the About page.

    You’ll feel the water of the Word washing over you as you watch the video…I did. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

